We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as advertised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Sacramento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SacWest RV Park & Campground
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All spaces are on gravel with little shade. Trees do not provide good shade, so even though we ended up at a less desirable space adjacent to Lake Washington (in reality, an overflow pond whose water level was so low that pedal boats could not be rented) provided some cooling breeze on 96 degrees weekend. Hook-ups were in a strange configuration at ours and many others with water and sewer on usual left side but electricity and cable TV on right side. Fortunately, we had extra lengths of sewer hose, cable coax, and extension cord for power! Power panel had to be cleaned by staff as contacts were bad and providing only enough power to turn on RV's lights, not even a microwave or AC in this heat. Surprised by free DVD rental so I don't know if this was usual policy or because of KOA members appreciation weekend? Some offensive, sexual drawings and graffiti on men's bathroom stalls by lake--kids also use these same restrooms/showers so this was unsettling in a family-oriented campground.

Room Tip: Stay away from spaces near I-80 freeway, noisy at nighttime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this campground for 2 nights, but only stayed one night, We were at a tent site by the lake.. the sites are really small, barely enough to fit two tents, not enough bathrooms, and they were not clean. There was too much freeway noise. There was no space on the tent site for kids to play, we had booked 3 campsites between 4 families, and were still crammed up. The bathrooms are a long walk, and with little kids, it becomes a problem. There are two cars allowed per campsite, but there's barely enough space for one. The lake is really dirty, we didn't even feel like paddle boating. The tent sites by the playground over look the freeway, so I would say they were even worse. I found that the RV sites were small as well. The playground was OK. We could not use the pool since there were way too many people. The staff was friendly and good overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Okay, this is a KOA in Sacramento. It's pretty much a stop over park, not a resort. Clean, very friendly personnel. The 24 Karat food was good and prices were great. The bathrooms were a little old, which is fine, and were for the most part, pretty clean. Showers could have used a scrubbing. My only complaint was the pool. It was filthy. Murky with a lot of dead debris and flies on the bottom. I spent a half hour skimming the top myself and nobody noticed, except another guest, who assumed I was an employee and asked me for directions. Nevertheless, I ventured into the pool anyway because it was so hot, until I noticed some silver bugs swimming below the surface, even in the well chlorinated murky water. Anything that could survive the chlorine should be avoided. That was it, I got out and took a shower. Hire a pool service and this is a pretty nice park.

Room Tip: A great RV stopver, but skip the nasty pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night in this park, it's in a great location just a few minutes from downtown but it's showing its age a bit. All the amenities are there but things look a little worn. The RV sites are really close to one another, not a lot of ambience at your trailer, the tent sites look a little more spacious. The bathrooms are clean enough but otherwise are very worn and need to be updated. They do have a really nice pet run, one of the biggest we've ever seen, and plenty of other grassy areas to walk Fido on a leash. This park is not going to win any awards but it's adequate if you need (or want) to be in the heart of Sacramento.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

+/easy to locate the site, friendly and helpful staff, spacious
-/river next by the campground is pretty to look at but could smell at times, no bbq set up at rv site, lots of tv channels to choose from...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in a cabin. Besides the neighbors fighting (it was quickly handled) it was a great site. Sure it's next to the freeway but it's a nice little koa I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here only 1 night, but wished it had been more. Staying in the Cabins here, we where fortunate to get one along the river front. It was a great day and evening as we stopped here on our way to LA.

The site is right in the middle of West Sacremento, which looks a little strange when you arrive, as it almost feels like you are in the middle of an industrial area, however once on the site itself it was a lovely setting!

Would definately consider coming here again, hopefully for longer next time

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinwc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Sacramento hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 14 in West Sacramento
483 reviews
2.3 mi away
Echo Lodge West Sacramento
Echo Lodge West Sacramento
#2 of 7 in West Sacramento
14 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#4 of 14 in West Sacramento
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacra...
#2 of 14 in West Sacramento
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#5 of 14 in West Sacramento
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Inn & Suites
Sunset Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in West Sacramento
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SacWest RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SacWest RV Park & Campground

Address: 3951 Lake Rd, West Sacramento, CA 95691-3414 (Formerly Sacramento West Old Town KOA)
Location: United States > California > West Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in West Sacramento
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sacramento West Old Town Koa Hotel West Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing