We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it, if you like sleep & hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Sacramento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SacWest RV Park & Campground
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We thought KOA would be a good idea for our one night stay in Sacramento and we were enjoying ourselves, even planning future camping trips-- until this morning. We will NEVER stay at another KOA and will specifically recommend friends and family never visit the KOA in Sacramento.

We arrived late, settled in with no problem. The campground was quiet, slept soundly--until we were awakened by lawnmowers literally outside our camper. We figured we had slept through until 9 or 10, given the noise. No, it was 7:30am. The ground crew was mowing directly through our campsite, moving our picnic table aside to pass through the site over and over again. So much for a relaxing morning.

When we spoke to the manager, we were informed that the ground crew were "Mexican", as though that was an explanation for having been awakened so early. When we asked for a refund, or a partial refund, he informed us that "it didn't work that way." How, exactly, does it not work that way? We paid for a campsite that we were prevented from enjoying. Having worked in the hotel and hospitality industry for years-- this is simply not how business is done. Don't waste your money on the Sacramento KOA.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kali1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

We spent the weekend of July 9,10 and 11th and left on Monday the 12th. The staff was friendly and helpful. the grounds were clean. As this is an older campground the spots are dirt and gravel but level and lots of shade. The pool was a great place to excape the 100 plus heat and the nightly Marsmellow Roast was a nice touch. We had expected mosquitos and found none. the campground went quiet at 10PM every Night and stayed that way until around 8AM. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Rented a cottage for a night. Bunk beds, double sized futon, small loft area above the kitchen/bathroom, which our child was so thrilled with. Kitchen has small fridge, sink, utensils, plates, glasses (even wine glasses, (nice touch ;) ), and microwave, no cooktop or oven. Grill outside, noticed tent camping areas had firepits but not at our cottage, but the grill did just fine for our S'MORES. Cabin was clean, pool was perfect temperature. Park was silent most of the day and definitely quiet after 10, our daughter was the only one being loud until about 10:15pm. Entire staff was the best. My only issue was that the internet repeater out near the cabins need to be fixed, BUT HEY, YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE CAMPING, RIGHT?!!?!?! Was able to get a weak signal from the main transmitter from our cottage or bring the laptop to a place near the store to get a better signal to take care of emails, etc so no big deal. We went 7/5, the day after 4th of July, so very quiet park, fully stocked up, etc. Nice rec room with a large screen tv and a nice selection of VHS movies. Nice place overall.

As far as the surrounding area for stuff to do, historic Old Town Sacramento is close by, Downtown Plaza (mall) is directly off of that through an underpass. Super Walmart is even closer, in west Sac. Way too convenient, spent more that we had budgeted for, lol. So if you want to get away from it all, this isn't the best of places for that. Of course if you never tell your kids about the surrounding area, you can enjoy a great time swimming, cooking burgers, making s'mores, playing games, and making new friends.

As for the person who went on 7/4 and had a crappy time this part is for you: I've been camping for over 40 years and If you want a quiet time: DON'T GO ON A HOLIDAY!!! Every one else in the world has that time off as well, so EVERYWHERE you go camping is crowded with obnoxious people. SO PLAN ACCORDINGLY NEXT TIME! You will have a much more enriching time with your loved ones. :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DThurber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We were so disappointed in our one-night stay at the Sacramento KOA. Several loud parties began after the 10:00 "quiet time." There were at least six cars with competing blasting music, and children running and screaming, even sticking their faces against our camper and screaming "is anyone sleeping in there?!" This went on until nearly 1:00 a.m. Profanity was being yelled from all sides. Dogs were fighting, firecrackers were being lit right next to us, and violent arguments broke out on all sides. My kids and I spent the night scared and feeling threatened.

When we got up the next morning (TIRED!), the bathrooms had no toilet paper and no paper towels, the bathroom outlets didn't work, and one of the showers had no hot water. The shower floor mats were filthy.

We received a refund for the remaining nights of our stay, and we headed to a hotel. The staff was accommodating and apologetic, blaming the chaos on a fuller-than-usual campground and holiday weekend. But it seems that if they have a fuller-than-usual campground on a holiday weekend, they ought to have additional night staff and supplies.

On a positive note, the staff that we interacted with during the daytime were very competent and kind, and our kids really enjoyed chatting with them in the rec room.

But we will never go back. In years of family camping and great KOA experiences, this was, by far, the worst.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amstrangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Great staff, very friendly and willing to help. Nice pool and playground, conveniently located bathrooms and showers. Also, liked that the laundry was close to the pool and playground, so you could wash clothes and still be with the kids while they played. Staff was very helpful throughout our stay, and they have a great little store as well. Bathrooms and showers were clean. There is a nice canal/stream running through the back of the park, and beautiful grassy areas. Cable and Wi-Fi are included. There is even a game room with a little lending library and scheduled activities, like ice cream socials. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMgeorgiatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Stayed at West Sac/Old Town while waiting for movers to bring furniture to our new home in Sacramento, about 4 days. Cleanest, and one of the friendliest campgrounds I've visited. Nice sites, dog friendly. Couldn't ask for nicer managers.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Last week friday 1/11/08 my Boyfriend and I had to travel down to Sacramento,California from Forest Grove,Or. I learned on thursday the 10th of Jan that my mom had passed about a week and a half before we got the news. We are both avid campers and we were on a limited budget. We found a KOA campground that was about 10 mins away from my mom's place. We were there from 1/11-1/14 They were very nice, helpful and sympathetic when we told them why we were there as well as giving us a discount. They keep the campgrounds very clean and very well maintained. The bathrooms are spotless. The only thing that would have made our stay better is if the temp didn't get so cold at about 5am. So if your in the area and need a place to pitch a tent or pull in your RV, we highly recommend stopping in. Make sure you say hi to Mikki..(hope i spelled your name right) she's a wonderful person with kind words and a great hug when times are bad, tell her Renee and Ken in the Black Jeep with all the lights sent you.

4  Thank Waiwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Sacramento hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 15 in West Sacramento
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#3 of 15 in West Sacramento
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#5 of 15 in West Sacramento
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacra...
#2 of 15 in West Sacramento
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Echo Lodge West Sacramento
Echo Lodge West Sacramento
#2 of 7 in West Sacramento
13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Inn & Suites
Sunset Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in West Sacramento
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SacWest RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SacWest RV Park & Campground

Address: 3951 Lake Rd, West Sacramento, CA 95691-3414 (Formerly Sacramento West Old Town KOA)
Location: United States > California > West Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in West Sacramento
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sacramento West Old Town Koa Hotel West Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing