We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Hotel in Mediocre Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mediocre Hotel in Mediocre Neighborhood”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have to agree with some of the reviewers on here that point out that this hotel is getting much higher ratings than it deserves. Considering the improvements made to most Holiday Inn Express properties in the ast few years, this hotel lags behind in many ways:

When I review a property I rate based on multiple criteria and then average my ratings to give an overall review. This helps people see how I feel about specific aspects of the hotel. I also like to mention that I compare hotels against each other no matter where I am. I don't give allowances for being in a certain location. The hotel business is global and so are my reviews.

My Ratings:

5 Stars - Excellent. Best you can get anywhere.
4 Stars - Above average
3 Stars - Average
2 Stars - Below Average
a Star - Awful


Exterior:

Decent looking hotel, and looks fairly new. Brick and stucco it lacks any interesting design but is not offensive either. Most of the parking is underground which I like. The grounds, if you can call the limited space around the hotel grounds, are clean and tidy. The hotel sits next to an ugly gas station, and ugly storage complex, and an ugly strip mall so these detract from anything the hotel has going.

Overall rating: Average 3 Stars

Service:

Nice people, the guy that checked me in was a bit short and cranky, but not rude. The breakfast lady is very nice. Overall, just average though.

Rating: Average - 3 Stars

Location:

If you are here in this location, you probably have some reason to be close to something. Otherwise I have no idea why you would ever stay in this area. The port is nearby and there are a couple restaurants not really worth mentioning. The area is plain ugly, a cross between 70s strip mall and industrial 1950s. There really is no where to walk if you like that or much else really. Probably the worst part of this review is the location.

Rating: Poor 2 Stars

Interior - Lobby and such

It's small (which doesn't bother me) but clean and nicely furnished. Too dark for me (what's up with these hotels trying to look like a mens club from 1918) and a bit busy, but otherwise nice. The TINY business center is clean and ok, and the breakfast room is fine. Still, nothing but average.

Rating: 3 - Stars

Hotel Amenities:

Nothing much here. The laundry is in the garage and there is no gym which drops the rating to below average. There is a cross between a hot tub and a swimming pool, which seems to make it not either... The hotel has decent, but not great, WiFi as well.

Rating: Below Average - 2 Stars

Room:

Decent room. Nothing to shout out about, but it was clean, everything worked, and it had a window that opened. I really like windows that open. The AC/Heat was a bit weird tended to either make it really hot or really cold. The bed was nice, not great. I hated the way they made the bed though. Had to practically unmake it every night to even get the sheets and blankets up around my neck. The room had a fridge and a microwave which is nice. Still nothing special here.

Rating Average - 3 Stars

Breakfast:

Awful, just awful. The worst I've had for a complimentary breakfast in a long time. Plus it really never changed. How many time can one eat biscuits and gravy (biscuits that were baked around the time of the civil was and are so stale they will NEVER soak up the gravy). The cereal is so stale and so sugary and processes I could eat it. Fruit must be a dirty word save bananas and coolest thing in the breakfast room (the pancake machine) was broken most of the time. If you are vegetarian there is little to eat and for vegans forget it.

Bad Bad

Rating Awful - 1 Star

Environmental Concerns:

Surprising for California this hotel seems to care little for the environment. The only thing worth mentioning is that the rooms had motions switches ad CFL bulbs. Other than that there was no mention of a towel policy and it appeared that they changed my towels every day. Cups and such were styrofoam and plastic. There was no recycling or composting and everything in the breakfast room was styrofoam and throw away.

Rating: Poor - 2 Stars

Rating: 2.375 rounded down to 2.

Notes: There are a couple more hotels around this neighborhood and they are actually worse. There are much better places another mile or 2 away and I'd recommend going further out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ryynoo,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our hotel staff service and room amenities. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. However, it sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the breakfast selections and other aspects of the hotel service you encountered. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use the valuable feedback you’ve provided to further improve our products and service.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that we are known for and to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
20
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I travel a fair amount for business & pleasure. Prior to a recent business trip, I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Great AAA rates were offered for the weekend. Clean, client and location is well situated close to I-80 and downtown Sacramento/Old Town/ Capital. Hotel exceed my expectations by quite a bit. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Highly recommend this location if you are looking for good value close to downtown Sacramento, yet accessible to SMF airport and the East Bay area.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivesInPacificNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overall the property was clean and well maintained. Its just like any other Holiday Inn Express. Somewhat Basic. They did have a very good proprietor. She was very nice and helpful. For a 1 night business stay it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Any room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
337 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Some HIE’s are coming very near their Marriott and Hilton counterparts in the low-mid price segment. This is not the case here. I was in room 310 a small, single queen room. The hotel was virtually empty, why they didn’t feel inclined to upgrade my room as a Priority Club member is a mystery to me. What was also odd, was in an empty hotel, they put me directly next to a guest who listened to the TV endlessly. While not the properties fault, let’s use a little common sense and space your guests out a little.

PRO's:

• Micro/fridge
• Solid surface counters
• Clean
• Outdoor whirlpool (closed)

CON’s:

• smaller 24” LCD
• Cheap bedding, hard pillows
• The climate control was erratic and only worked on HIGH. The display flashes a “wrench” meaning service is required
• Light-moderate traffic noise

The breakfast was OK, nothing special. Prefab omelets, sausage patties, cold cereals, yogurt and breads.

SCORE:

I give this room a 75/100 overall and 80/100 for value. While an OK stay, I would consider staying elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a Platinum Priority Club member and one that has stayed at their properties around the world, this one is definately below average. The exterior appearance is ok, but I was very disappointed by the worn furniture, dirty carpet, pool that was out of service, cramped breakfast area, and overall very gritty and noisy location. If you are used to staying at Super 8's than maybe this property is acceptable, but it is not up to the standards of typical Holiday Inn Express properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms are good sized. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is good quality a couple steps above continental. What made my stay here really good is Sophie the front desk person. She is really fun and very helpful. If you need anything just ask her and she will take care of it. She also knows where to and where not to eat. Over all this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepwellmyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Unlike the last traveler, The check in lady "Sophie" was great. Rooms very nice and Clean! I travel alot for work and stay in this chain of hotels allot. This one ranks at the top. Easy to get around the city from this location. Many good resteraunts within walking distance. Grocery store across the street. "Sophie and the other staff members will make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Sacramento
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 15 in West Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#4 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#5 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento

Property: Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Address: 2761 Evergreen Ave, West Sacramento, CA 95691-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel West Sacramento, California, is a 100% smoke-free hotel in the Sacramento area, conveniently located just off Business 80 and Harbor Blvd. It is two miles from Downtown Sacramento, Old Sacramento, State Capital, Raley Field, Sacramento River, Port of Sacramento and the Sacramento Convention Center. We provide excellent facilities and a prime location for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms have free high-speed Internet connection. Airport shuttle service is available with a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento Hotel West Sacramento
Holiday Inn West Sacramento
West Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing