We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. And there was that fan.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
So-So Cal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great value. And there was that fan.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is snugged between the freeway and a self-storage yard in a largely commercial-industrial area of West Sacramento. My trip was to Davis, but all the hotels there were full up, and West Sac. is only 10 minutes away. The hotel was relatively new and immaculate, the beds comfortable and the towels thick and thirsty, but the rooms were rather cramped. Another foot in each dimension would have made all the difference. Wireless internet was a little pokey, and the mini fridge in my room didn't work. Considering the location, the hotel was surprisingly quiet, except for the air conditioner, which made the racket and a rush of air of an F-18 hitting the afterburners. It was a hot night and the thing kicked on every 20 minutes or so through the night. Expect to be woken.

Room Tip: Recommend back away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
20
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

It's a long story, how ended up here for three nights. Too long to bore you with. This is the first Holiday Inn I've stayed at in 20 years. And likely the last. I just don't get this place at all. The desk clerk, Sophie, the in-house breakfast cook and support staff are all good employees --- but the rest of the place left me baffled.

First, there's the parking. Big rigs are parked in the small parking lot 24/7, as if the hotel rents out parking to these massive cabs on a weekly basis. This means the rest of us, the actual hotel guests, get to squeeze into the small dark garage.

Then there's the room which is small and dark, with a single small window that barely opens. The first night we were there, a bright ceiling light in the room would not turn off all night, no matter what we did. The next day, the handyman told us this was an ongoing problem with newly installed sensors.

The location looks and sounds like an all night truck stop, right next to the freeway. And yet the prices, $135ish a night, are what you expect to pay for a solid 4-star hotel, not a 2-star place in no-where-land.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaCoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear MarshaCoupe,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I was doing business in West Sacramento and grabbed this hotel on the fly as it was very convenient to the highway. It was also less expensive than several of the comparable airport hotels. The hotel was fine. My room was comfortable and I had a lot of work to do and had no troubles with the wireless internet.

I walked to one of the nearby restaurants for a quick dinner. It is a decent area but I wouldn't necessarily want my wife walking around there in the evening by herself.

The staff was courteous and I had some last minute presentations that I was able to print out from their small business center. They lent me a stapler and I printed around 20 pages so that was convenient. The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express. Nothing fancy, but enough to get you going. There were also warm cookies in the evening. They actually told me there were some, and I went to look and they were gone, so I told the front desk and she hopped right up and whipped up another batch which was appreciated. That was all the good.

The hotel could use a thorough cleaning and a little more upkeep in their primary traffic area. There was a spill in the elevator that stayed there for at least a couple of areas and the dining area could have been swept/vacuumed a bit more. Nothing shockingly bad, just a bit of TLC is needed to get it spruced back up.

If I was in this area I'd stay again, but, I prefer downtown Sacramento or some of the airport hotels. If I was traveling with my family this would be lower on my list of places to stay. For my business purposes it worked out great. It was convenient, on the way for my associate who was picking me up enroute from the Bay area, and affordable.

Room Tip: I asked for a room not facing the highway side. I settled for two beds instead of a king but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL!!! We had a confirmed reservation at this location but we got stranded overnight in Phoenix with our plane. We called the 800 number to cancel but were told we never had a reservation with this Holiday Inn in the first place, in fact, we were told this 3 times during the phone conversation. We stayed at a Holiday Inn in Phoenix (which was great!) and once home, I called the hotel to make sure we didn't get charged for the night at West Sacramento. Not only did we get charged, the owner refused to refund it, even though we showed we stayed in another Holiday Inn in Phoenix, and even though it's documented that we called the 800 number to cancel. We have stayed at the West Sacramento location before, but will NEVER do so again. Many of our friends use Holiday Inn also, we do motorcycle tours and that is where we always stay. We will be spreading the word to others not to use this location! (May I add that the main guest services at Holiday Inn is refunding our money as they realize we did exactly what we were supposed to do in canceling and rebooking. Kudos to the company, just not this particular location!!)

Room Tip: If you run into ANY problems you will be on your own with this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermagui, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here one night because we had an early morning flight the next day, and the airport hotels were much more expensive. We were completely satisfied with our experience. The room was quiet and comfortable (a bit cold when we arrived, but that was easily fixed), the bathroom was clean and had all the amenities we would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast in the morning was better than average. Without traffic, it took us about 15-20 minutes to get to the airport. The staff was uniformly courteous and helpful.

We like Holiday Inn Express hotels in general, and this did not disappoint. We would definitely come back if we needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseLimpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Perfect visit. Wonderful staff. Good AAA discount. Clean. These are my new favorite "Go To" places to stay. This one hit every detail perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Everyone working here was friendly, kind and made me feel welcome. My room was quiet (a big plus for this light sleeper) and comfortable. I liked having a small refrigerator in the room. The wifi was fast. The morning breakfast was quite nice. There were scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, and the usual continental fare. I should have tried the pancakes, but didn't want to incur the calories. Even the coffee was good.

The gas station next door has a great drive through car wash. Perfect if you're making that road trip and your car needs a little spiffing up before meeting with clients.

The only draw back is the neighborhood. It seems to lack good restaurants and the ones that I found on Trip Advisor were a little scary looking or more fast food quality. Take a little drive (about 4 miles) over to Old Town Sacramento and you'll find Joe's Crab Shack.

Room Tip: My room was on the side away from the freeway and very quiet. I'd avoid the rooms on the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Sacramento
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 15 in West Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#3 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#6 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento

Property: Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Address: 2761 Evergreen Ave, West Sacramento, CA 95691-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel West Sacramento, California, is a 100% smoke-free hotel in the Sacramento area, conveniently located just off Business 80 and Harbor Blvd. It is two miles from Downtown Sacramento, Old Sacramento, State Capital, Raley Field, Sacramento River, Port of Sacramento and the Sacramento Convention Center. We provide excellent facilities and a prime location for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms have free high-speed Internet connection. Airport shuttle service is available with a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento Hotel West Sacramento
Holiday Inn West Sacramento
West Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing