We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay (But Pricey)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London West Hollywood
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Stay (But Pricey)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel hits all the right marks with service, comfort, and location; I just wish it was a bit less expensive per night. The room was huge with a bed, pillows, comforter, and bathroom that were all great. The bathroom was huge. Breakfast was included in the price and it was a busy time at the hotel and seating was slow. I wish the breakfast selection was a bit bigger, but that's minor since the overall hotel experience was terrific. The rooftop pool is wonderful with a great view. Ideally I would have liked the parking to be included in the room price since it's LA and everyone has a car. I agree with another reviewing that the sliding glass doors opening onto the terrace are old and tired (and let in street noise). In spite of my minor negative comments, I'd definitely recommend The London if in your budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCWGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear NYCWGV,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your latest stay. I am sorry you felt that our rates were on the high side. As an all-suite hotel, our rooms are the largest of all the hotels in West Hollywood (and rival many of those in Beverly Hills). Our luxurious bathrooms, combined with the location and views from our wonderful rooftop, free wi-fi, and the complimentary European breakfast table offered to all of our hotel guests, all make for a rather comparable rate.

Thank you for the note on the sliding doors. I will certainly pass that on to the appropriate managers. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you join us again in the future! Please feel free to contact me directly to book your room and a table for breakfast on your next stay to minimize any wait time.

Warm regards,
Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
sdandashy@thelondonweho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    369
    94
    42
    25
See reviews for
294
663
95
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Feels like a home away from home. Pool is the best hotel pool in West Hollywood/Bev Hills with great food and service. Breakfast buffet is excellent (minus one very slightly moody hostess). Rooms are elegant and comfortable with exceptional bathrooms. It combines the sophistication of Claridges in London with a more appropriately bright and laid back Southern California vibe. The rates remain reasonably competitive at the same time and will hopefully remain so. This hotel is generally impeccable in every respect. The very tiny imperfections are easily overlooked by the perfection of everything else. I absolutely love this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I like the Hollywood Hills view while others prefer the LA skyline. The inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeBernardShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is a very discret location to be at , the hotel style is art deco and very light colors has been used through out . The bathrooms are beautiful white marbel mozaic with double shower heads on each side of the shower cabin , the only place I have ever seen that . The beds are comfortable and then the food is really good and room service is quick . The staff is friendly and polite , I have come here since several years an it is my favourite hotel in L.A

Room Tip: All the rooms are good , eventually ask for south exposure and the 2 floor has terrasses where the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the London for a New Year's Eve wedding at the hotel, I don't think I've ever had a better hotel stay. The attention to detail is incredible, from the modern yet comfortable suites, the rooftop lounge with views of the city, and the beautifully appointed lobby. But the real stars are the staff- every single person we encountered during our stay was helpful, energetic, and professional. Cody stood out especially- it seemed like he was everywhere! Serving drinks on the roof then bringing us breakfast the next morning, we could tell he takes pride in his job and loves working at the London. The hotel is definitely pricy, but worth every penny for the experience you will have!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here in December 2013. The room we had was enormous and the bathroom amazing. Very clean and definitely up to my very fussy standards.
The staff were always smiling and helpful, especially Sarah the Conceirge who organised some outings for us.
The breakfast buffet was lovely. Just enough variety of breakfast options, with the additional option of purchasing a hot cooked breakfast if you preferred.
We had dinner one evening at the Gordon Ramsey restaurant. The portion sizes were just right for us, but would be much much smaller than an average american restaurant size. Beautiful food, amazing flavours. The best food of our trip.
The only negative during our three night stay was the lack of double glazing. There was constant traffic noise and one night the guests downstairs decided to have a very loud party on their balcony. With no soundproofing, we just had to put up with it. I would have expected a five star hotel to have double glazing.
There was also noise from dogs staying with guests - but I guess this is LA - it's what they do here.
Overall, lovely hotel, very friendly staff, a very pleasant place to stay in LA

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic noise - no double glazing means you do get constant noise if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmbeeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear EmbeeWellington,

I am so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so, so much for the kind words regarding the many aspects of your visit. I’m glad you enjoyed the few outings I arranged as well. I am extremely sorry to hear about the noise issues you had. Please let us know for your next visit that you prefer a quieter room, as we can gladly arrange that!

And as always, please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay. I would love to personally make it a memorable (and quiet!) one!

Warmest regards,
Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
sdandashy@thelondonweho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at The London West Hollywood for 5 nights and loved it. The room is spacious, clean and quiet. The complimentary breakfast buffet is excellent! Great location. If I have to find something to complain about it is the shower. The shower is quite large but for some strange design reason not to my liking there isn't a shower door. The one time I used the shower the water pressure was so strong (not complaining about that) that by the time I was done there was a flood of water on the floor outside the shower. I gladly used the large soaking tub after that experience. I would happily return to The London on a trip to Los Angeles!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Bright spots - it is in a great location, and the staff all seem very friendly and helpful. The room is laid out really well so that two people can have suitcases laid out in a convenient place and our terrace was really nice. The doors to the terrace are really sad, but hopefully they will getting around to replacing those, as I saw that in other reviews. The shower is perhaps the best ever hotel shower. In a huge and awesome bathroom. Weird stuff...the cool fabric headboard was damaged, the couch looks a little sad and no one came to clean our room today. We left around 11:30 on a Saturday. Is that too late? Don't they keep track or leave a note to call if they came by and couldn't clean? Also, most places now seem to have an in room coffee maker. That would be nice since there is a cute wet bar area. Roof pool area is really cool. But every table was filthy, took forever to get a drink (when we did the server was very nice) and the guy came to clean the tables-with a fabric napkin and a desire I guess to save on cleaning fluid. Didn't result in clean tables. Gross. So I don't really get the 5 star reviews. This is a 3 or a 4 tops, with potential. If you can get a great rate, it's worth it until they fully get it together.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jal3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jal3137,

Thank you also for taking the time to write a thorough review, as our team takes all feedback seriously in a continuous effort to exceed expectations. I do find parts of your review rather disconcerting and not up to par with the level of service and accommodations we strive to provide. We are planning for interior upgrades over the coming year. And I am excited to share that we will be launching 23 new luxury suites with separate living rooms and sleeping areas later this year!

As for housekeeping attending to your room, we do offer a daily service. Quite possibly a Do Not Disturb was left on the room? In that case we usually leave a message to let you call for service when convenient. We also have coffee makers in all of our rooms, so I am not sure why your room did not have one. I have passed on these notes to our housekeeping management.

I do want to express my apologies in regards to the service on the rooftop. Absolutely, service should be attentive. I have shared your comments with our rooftop staff. I have also passed along your note on the upstairs décor to be tended to.

Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you join us again in the future as we would love to give you a “wow” experience and show you what our real potential is… maybe even in one of our new luxury suites!

Warmest regards,
Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
sdandashy@thelondonweho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Property: The London West Hollywood
Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing