We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat Disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The London West Hollywood
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Creek, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel was excellent except for a puzzling lack of service around the rooftop pool. On our first day, we were there along with a small number (perhaps 8 or 10 people total) of other parties. The setup led us to believe that staff would come around to our chairs to take drink orders, inquire as to our needs, etc. We thought this because there is a well-stocked bar and a number (3 or 4) of what we thought were waitstaff. After 15 minutes of no attention (to us or anyone else around the pool), my wife walked up to the bar to ask that we be waited on. The waitstaff jumped to attention at that point, and made their way around the pool to the other guests. As we left for the day, we thought that maybe it was a "self-serve" arrangement? If so, why were there so many people standing around?

Imagine our surprise when we returned to the pool the next day, and received exactly the same treatment! Lots of staff visiting with each other, but nobody paying any attention to the guests. This time my wife only took about 5 minutes of this, when she went back up to the bar and asked that we be waited on immediately. To paraphrase what she said when she came back: "For $500 a night I should not have to ASK to be waited on--why are they not basically following us to our chairs?"

I should say that everything else about the hotel was superior--quiet, elegant rooms, attentiveness of staff (other than the pool), helpfulness of the concierge, valet staff, excellent food and drink.

I'm just not sure what was going on at the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChazJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ChazJC,

Thank you for your review. Though I am disheartened to read about the service you experienced at the rooftop. That sort of service is not what we strive for. I can assure you that your review has been passed along to the appropriate management staff to ensure that a lack is service never happens again.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much of the hotel, and we hope that you are able to join us again in the future!

Warm regards,

Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    365
    94
    41
    25
See reviews for
292
657
95
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel, friendly staff, huge bathroom (although oddly, it has a double shower but only a single sink.) Bed was very comfortable, the sofa not so much. Decently sized balcony with a bench and table. Our room overlooked an outdoor reception area a few floors below. I suppose had there been a wedding or some other party taking place it might have been noisy so you may want to ask what your room overlooks. The breakfast buffet (included in the rate), offered only cold items but was of high quality and good variety (yogurt, croissant, quiche, ham, cheese, etc -- you won't be hungry. The rooftop bar had some nice drinks and was just the right amount of busy so that you can get a seat but still be part of a crowd. West Hollywood location was very convenient, some decent restaurant & shopping less than a mile away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

In addition to having a contemporary decor and well-kept amenities, The London's staff were all very courteous and friendly and went out of their way to make my experience there outstanding! I enjoyed the rooftop pool deck -- great views of LA! And the location was within walking distance to the numerous hot shops and restaurants in WeHo.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, not the courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is truly amazing.

Located in West Hollywood on the cusp of Beverly Hills, this place caters to a young, fun crowd with a posh vibe.

The doormen, front desk agents, maids, staff, bartenders and even the bulldog (yes, he's real!) are as sweet as can be!

The breakfast buffet is amazing and includes such treats as chocolate croissants, charcuterie and mini quiches. Get this--- the fresh squeezed juices you can have in the morning go way beyond the normal orange juice and apple juice you've surely seen at other places... This hotel offers fresh squeezed cantaloupe and ginger juice as well as watermelon juice!!! Try the cantaloupe it's AMAZING!!!

The service in the breakfast area is top-notch!!! Everyone is kind and attentive. Sometimes there was a minute wait to be seated for breakfast, but I can't blame every guest for wanting to make sure they have a quick bite in this amazing setting!

The rooms are so spacious, clean and the view is just beautiful.

The rooftop is, undoubtedly, one of the most beautiful rooftops I have seen. The Hollywood hills are behind you, the city is before you, the palm trees are swaying everywhere and the sun is shining all the time. The pool is beautiful. The spot is pristine. There was even a swanky photoshoot going on when I went up for a some fresh air in the morning.

No wonder celebrities are spotted here from time to time. What a hot spot!

In the entrance and in the lobby you may notice a bulldog statue. It's adorable and it looks real! I always wondered what this was about (I guess I still don't know) but it's just precious.
One day, the same bulldog I had seen as a statue everywhere had her leash wrapped around the front desk area and she sat just near the side of the desk FOR PEOPLE TO PET!!! It was the real deal. Super adorbs. She was friendly and quiet. I saw (mostly) grown adults gasping and going over to pet her adorableness!!!

The location is phenomenal. I walked to Rodeo Drive numerous times for some fun shopping and eating. I also walked further into West Hollywood and found myself exploring things that the TMZ tour only showed me!

It's awesome. Amazing experience. Will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The rooftop has the best view and anyone can go up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri_Germanotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms are huge, and the bathrooms are enormous, with a giant tub and separate shower with multiple shower heads. The rooftop pool is awesome, and you should really have some drinks up there at sunset when they get the fire pits going. The only negative is the lack of any ice machines on property, so if you want to make a cold drink you will have to call room service and wait for an ice delivery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonKeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here labor day weekend in 2012 (September 2012) and had an amazing experience. We requested a particular room and the hotel delivered. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted with smiles and helpful service.

We ended up getting a cabana one of the days and that was a ton of fun! The pool area is great- very fun, yet quiet and a great view of the city. The same pool area turns into a great evening bar with a sleek fireplace seating area and great drinks.

The room includes complementary breakfast and it is surprisingly good. We ate here every morning and we were pleasantly surprised.

Amazing service, spacious rooms, great deal, and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artrun02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This chic hotel wowed me from the first "hello"with very service oriented staff, and spacious rooms with lots of light. Huge shower with room for a small party. First rate bed and linens . Very well appointed rooms and public areas. This gem is perfectly located just steps from shopping and Sunset Strip., perfect for star gazing. The top floor pool area is a must. Get a cabana. I celebrated my birthday at The Boxwood Cafe owned by Gordon Ramsey. Excellent food as I would expect. I really hated to leave. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank actoreye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Property: The London West Hollywood
Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing