We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel... the Terrace and Tower Bar were excellent. We really appreciated our experience with the valet service here: Patrick was considerate and took excellent care of us and our car.... helped us get my husband's scooter in and out and helped me put it together. We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossLady593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    117
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
292
86
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Always the best time staying, eating and drinking at the Sunset Tower. The service is great. Last time I was there Solina took such great care of me and the guest I was with that I find myself asking for every time I return! Its a perfect place to stay - so centrally located and you can host all your dinners and meetings in the different parts of the hotel. Its perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love staying here when we come to LA. The building has a fabulous old Hollywood past and had been renovated in a chic modern way without being overdone.

The bar and restaurant are not only fun to see and be seen but the food is also excellent! Dimitri will guide you to an excellent drink or something wonderful you should try.

The service here is beyond expectation. Tim the hotel ambassador is amazing and truly one of the nicest people I have ever met he makes your arrival and stay a memorable one. Angel at The Terrace restaurant and pool has been so incredible I don't even know where to begin! His customer service is beyond expectation. And Jared, always so helpful and smiling, he's a joy to be around!

By the time you leave this hotel it feels like home! Which is why I know everyone's name and will keep coming back every year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We travel often but it has been awhile since we feel compelled to write a review. Primo location, right near the touristy stuff without being right in the middle of it. Our one bedroom suite was more than ample with nice touches like the Nespresso, plush robes and Kiehl's bath products. We relaxed at the Lounge facing the pool while waiting for our room and enjoyed cocktails (cha-ching!) while facing an awesome view of LA! Last time we were here we stayed at the Roosevelt and it was too much. Chaotic and snobby service. The Sunset is more intimate and boutique-like. Great, genuine service from the staff. We were here for a show at the Bowl. Highly recommend using Uber. No wait at the Bowl venue when leaving. Very impressed with this hotel, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for four days. The location was perfect and the staff was excellent. Everyone there was very kind, courteous, and helpful. Stella, who worked at the front desk, was very good at answering our questions and making our overall stay enjoyable. The food at both the Terrace and the Tower Bar was impeccable. Our room on the sixth floor had a nice view and was very comfortable. The history and the Art Deco theme was what initially drew me to this hotel. It was built in 1929 and stars like Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, and Jean Harlow have taken up residence here. While eating dinner in the Tower Bar, we were told that stars like Jennifer Aniston, Robert DeNiro, Johnny Depp, George Clooney, and Jennifer Lawrence have dinned here. We are from a small town in Ohio, so we thought that was very cool! Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel and I would definitely stay here again the next time I travel to LA.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Enjoyed a great three day stay at The Sunset Tower, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was stunning and the staff were all generally very friendly and eager to assist. I was accommodated on Level 7 at the Sunset Blvd side of the building and found the street noise to be minimal. I had the pleasure of dining in the Tower Bar on the first evening, excellent food and great service by all. I also had the pleasure of meeting Dimitri Dimitrov on my final night in the hotel.

A great stay - I will be back on my next visit to LA.

Room Tip: My preference for rooms would be on the De Longpre Ave side of the building on the 8th floor or high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Sunset Tower's is a truly an amazing experience. My wife and daughters have made it our end of summer pilgrimage. We leave here feeling like the staff is part of our extended family. Angel, our morning / afternoon server is professional and personal. We just may kidnap him and take home home with us. FYI.. Its more of an adult scene around the pool but if your kids are well behaved the other guest appreciate it. Try the sliders and the tuna tartar by the pool...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,644 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,005 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,816 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,143 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing