We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, null, Monaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The service is impeccable. Restaurant manager James helped by His maitre D - Angel went out of their reach for my satisfaction. They even went the other side of the street to get my cheap American mustard; which obviously they would not carry in such a great sophisticated and classy venue . Bravo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyG377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    117
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
292
86
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The location is great to explore Hollywood, the Hotel has a great history and the wonderful Terrass with the nice and very friendly service of Soliana! I have been here the
Ast time about 15 years ago back when it was called St. James Club. The hotel was redesigned inside since then but has not lost any of it's charme. I will be back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HonkytonkBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 4 day stopover in LA. Friends recommended the Sunset Tower Hotel in West Hollywood.
We were not disappointed. Great location and great part of LA.
Views from the 14th floor were magnificent.
Service was great. Everyone was really helpful. Really enjoyed breakfast each morning on the terrace. Soliana and Angel looked after us really well. Thanks.

Look forward to going back one day

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a wonderful stay!

The staff were amazing, from the valet parking, restaurants, frontdesk yes everybody.
We loved the restaurant, James, Victoria and Angel made it feel like home. But everybody working there was really nice and friendly.

We will definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I travel to LA 9-13 times a year for business, over the last 10 years. Lately I have always stayed at the Sunset Tower. Usually very predictable and not too many hassles or issues. Really surprised with a bit of work, this couldn't be more like a 4.5 star hotel. The morning is highlighted when Angel and/or Victoria are on board. They always remember, take great care, and pay perfect attention to all details. Hats off to them.

Room Tip: Not behind the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Dill2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Sunset Towers with its perfect location in LA and its classy old style charm and on point service never stop to impress me. I have been here 10 times and is one of my top 3 hotels in the world - others being Il Pellicano sea side hotel outside Rome and Ett Hem in Stockholm. All have that personal feel that makes you feel right at home from the minute you walk inside.

This time we had an excellent person serving us at breakfast and lunch - Mr Angel - his impeccable service and his positive attitude that "nothing is impossible" made the stay for both me and my wife unforgettable. It felt like he had been our private butler for years. Bonus was an added breakfast omelett chef - Mr Marvin - that was an expert in giving you the perfect omelette to start your day.

Well that said Pauline who welcomed us and was the last one we saw leaving - was doing a fab job at the welcome desk and framed the Sunset Tower into a beautiful picture too (hope my wife doesn't read this).

Well, we will be back ;) !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linusandreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff is helpful and friendly. Shout out to Alex and Jairo at the valet/front door. The breakfasts by the pool are wonderful and dinner there is also fun and delicious. What a view! Our room was upgraded so we had a floor to ceiling window exposing the full moon. Doesn't get much better than that.

We returned a week later after visiting the desert. We had a "regular" room which we liked even better because it had an amazing view of the valley.

We did miss an earthquake there by a few hours, but we would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel offer great views. One side is the Hollywood hills and the other is of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,642 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,002 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,814 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,143 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing