We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone's an A-lister at Sunset Tower”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my fifth time staying at the Sunset Tower and from the minute your pull up you know you're in for a fabulous experience. You're whisked out of your car, doors are always opened for you and you're greeted by at least three people prior to check-in which is always efficient. They know your name immediately. The rooms are amazing with spectacular views of hollywood hills, sunset strip, and have all the amenities you need. The windows open too. Once in, you're right in the heart of the strip - that is if you ever want to leave this place. The low key vibe meets hollywood old world charm is a place like no other. Breakfast in the morning out by the pool (Angel will take good care of you) is one of my favorite parts of the day. It's hard to leave. A wonderful place to chill and look over all of LA. At night the room transform itself into a more elegant open air experience with large couches and a cool glow. The Tower Bar is a special place. Don't want to reveal too much. Except for Dimitri is the guy. Derek and Landon around the bar are awesome. This is a must for dinner or drinks. Oh, if you do leave, the valet parking to get your car takes about 60 seconds. Highly recommend a trip (three miles) to Runyon Canyon to walk, run, hike...you're up in the Hills with views beyond compare - from the Hollywood sign in a distance to looking down on hundreds of homes.) Can't wait for my next visit to the Sunset Tower.

Room Tip: 1407 is a rock star suite. They upgrade you frequently if they have the availability. Book with a cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

For my first time in LA the Sunset Tower made my trip even more special and memorable. The location and view is priceless. The rooms are comfortable. Having breakfast feels like eating in your private villa. It's very cosy and homely. The very friendly staff also made a huge difference. A special shout out to Angel and Marvin in the restaurant and Marco and tucker at the front desk. Absolute stars! I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Jeff Klein has indeed succeeded in making The Sunset Tower Your Home Away from Home,
especially if you live in a spectacular home! From the moment of arrival, the valets, Brandon,
Jonny, Ivan et al, couldn't be more attentive, helpful, and engaging. Matina and Tim, and the rest of the team run the show , and attentive to every need, and couldn't be more helpful. The world renowned Dimitri sees to the "Theatre" which is the Sunset Tower Bar and Grill every evening!
At theTerrace and restaurant are the pinnacle of hospitality service with Angel, Viktoria, Tony, James, et al. Angel must also moonlight as a Doctor, as he saw to my injured foot a few months ago, quite uncommon!! I guess I'll be back soon after another New Year's celebration!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonvD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The deco styled Hotel is beautiful. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with spectacular views of the city. Breakfast at the Terrace is an absolute delight. The food is tasty and the service is excellent. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, especially Angel who took care of us and attended to our every need.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The ambiance of Art Deco architecture and detail has been masterfully preserved while amenities have been tastefully modernized (such as large travertine marble bathrooms with walk-in showers, AC, etc.)... as if the old and new always belonged together in this famous 1929 building. The Sunset Towers has played a significant part in the history of early Hollywood and LA and the rooms and common areas are replete with photos of the legends that have passed through.
When one arrives, you are greeted by name, the door is opened, and the roar of everyday life is left behind. The elegance of your surroundings is only surpassed by the warm giving friendly, and extraordinarily helpful, without being intrusive, personal service. The staff completes the circle of your surroundings by giving life to the elegance. You are made to feel significant as if you are at home and being cared for by people who care. They introduce themselves, learn your name and quickly take the extra step by reaching out and giving. Jeremy doesn't just arrange for your car to be brought up quickly but reaches out to learn where you're going and tries to give accurate directions so you don't get lost .. And gives you his tel no. If you run into trouble. In the morning at breakfast overlooking the pool and a quiet view of LA in the distance, Victoria and Angel are your first contact with the day. You learn to relax and place yourself in their hands. Victoria knows you like HOT coffee and replenishes it when it gets cold. She discovered it was my birthday and surprised my wife and I with a special "pancake" birthday cake. We had an early flight to catch on our departure date and Angel and Victoria packed us a little breakfast to go. These service professionals, along with Marvin (who makes your omelets) and James (the breakfast manager) are the mainstays of Sunset Towers...They raise this elegant architectural masterpiece above the crowd. They give it life and are the real reason to stay there. They are the reason I will definitely return to Sunset Towers on my very next trip to LA.
Fred Mercer

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Victoria and Derrick in the patio restaurant were attentive, the atmosphere is alive, the room to die for, and the dinner meal fabulous. I cannot recommend this place enough. Book ahead to make sure you can get a room. No pictures though - too many random sightings.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank simpletalk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sunset Tower is beautiful, comfortable, and friendly. This one-of-a-kind hotel, steeped in Hollywood history, will forever be one of my all-time favorite hotel stays. My experience at Sunset Tower helped make my first trip to LA - at 50 years old, what took me so long? - even more enjoyable and memorable.

From the moment we arrived and saw Richard Belzer (John Munch on Law and Order) and entourage in tow - wow, we really are in Hollywood - this was a dream hotel experience. Every member of the staff was warm, welcoming, and totally accommodating. The room was large, luxurious, private, and had the most incredible views of LA. The bedroom had a huge curved panel of windows that you could open, then sit back, and simply look, breathe, and wish you never had to leave. The location was ideal - central to everything LA offers. Check out the Saddleback Ranch right across the street for great service, food, and fun.

What I liked best was my room with the view. I could have stayed there happily forever (assuming they let my two cats and dog stay too ;) ). What I liked least was checking out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamBene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,998 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $366 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing