We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave Review”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Rave Review”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Jeff Klein has indeed succeeded in making The Sunset Tower Your Home Away from Home,
especially if you live in a spectacular home! From the moment of arrival, the valets, Brandon,
Jonny, Ivan et al, couldn't be more attentive, helpful, and engaging. Matina and Tim, and the rest of the team run the show , and attentive to every need, and couldn't be more helpful. The world renowned Dimitri sees to the "Theatre" which is the Sunset Tower Bar and Grill every evening!
At theTerrace and restaurant are the pinnacle of hospitality service with Angel, Viktoria, Tony, James, et al. Angel must also moonlight as a Doctor, as he saw to my injured foot a few months ago, quite uncommon!! I guess I'll be back soon after another New Year's celebration!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonvD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    117
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
292
86
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The deco styled Hotel is beautiful. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with spectacular views of the city. Breakfast at the Terrace is an absolute delight. The food is tasty and the service is excellent. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, especially Angel who took care of us and attended to our every need.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The ambiance of Art Deco architecture and detail has been masterfully preserved while amenities have been tastefully modernized (such as large travertine marble bathrooms with walk-in showers, AC, etc.)... as if the old and new always belonged together in this famous 1929 building. The Sunset Towers has played a significant part in the history of early Hollywood and LA and the rooms and common areas are replete with photos of the legends that have passed through.
When one arrives, you are greeted by name, the door is opened, and the roar of everyday life is left behind. The elegance of your surroundings is only surpassed by the warm giving friendly, and extraordinarily helpful, without being intrusive, personal service. The staff completes the circle of your surroundings by giving life to the elegance. You are made to feel significant as if you are at home and being cared for by people who care. They introduce themselves, learn your name and quickly take the extra step by reaching out and giving. Jeremy doesn't just arrange for your car to be brought up quickly but reaches out to learn where you're going and tries to give accurate directions so you don't get lost .. And gives you his tel no. If you run into trouble. In the morning at breakfast overlooking the pool and a quiet view of LA in the distance, Victoria and Angel are your first contact with the day. You learn to relax and place yourself in their hands. Victoria knows you like HOT coffee and replenishes it when it gets cold. She discovered it was my birthday and surprised my wife and I with a special "pancake" birthday cake. We had an early flight to catch on our departure date and Angel and Victoria packed us a little breakfast to go. These service professionals, along with Marvin (who makes your omelets) and James (the breakfast manager) are the mainstays of Sunset Towers...They raise this elegant architectural masterpiece above the crowd. They give it life and are the real reason to stay there. They are the reason I will definitely return to Sunset Towers on my very next trip to LA.
Fred Mercer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Victoria and Derrick in the patio restaurant were attentive, the atmosphere is alive, the room to die for, and the dinner meal fabulous. I cannot recommend this place enough. Book ahead to make sure you can get a room. No pictures though - too many random sightings.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank simpletalk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sunset Tower is beautiful, comfortable, and friendly. This one-of-a-kind hotel, steeped in Hollywood history, will forever be one of my all-time favorite hotel stays. My experience at Sunset Tower helped make my first trip to LA - at 50 years old, what took me so long? - even more enjoyable and memorable.

From the moment we arrived and saw Richard Belzer (John Munch on Law and Order) and entourage in tow - wow, we really are in Hollywood - this was a dream hotel experience. Every member of the staff was warm, welcoming, and totally accommodating. The room was large, luxurious, private, and had the most incredible views of LA. The bedroom had a huge curved panel of windows that you could open, then sit back, and simply look, breathe, and wish you never had to leave. The location was ideal - central to everything LA offers. Check out the Saddleback Ranch right across the street for great service, food, and fun.

What I liked best was my room with the view. I could have stayed there happily forever (assuming they let my two cats and dog stay too ;) ). What I liked least was checking out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadamBene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

As a regular business traveller to LA (about 3/4 times a year) the Sunset Tower Hotel is real home away from home. Steeped in Hollywood history, the Art Deco buidling and rooms are stunning but above all so is the service. From the warm and friendly front desk staff who greet me like an old friend, as do the bell boys, to the fantastic service in the Tower Bar or poolside Terrace Bar staying at the Sunset Tower is a first class experience.

In particular I would like to thank Angel and Victoria in the Terrace Bar for their wonderful, friendly, can't-do-enough-for-you service.

A business trip is never a chore when you are staying in a place like the Sunset Tower Hotel. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, without fail, every time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I would really like to recommend this hotel because of it's great staff and fantastic restaurang. During our visit in LA we had to stay at the Mondrian Hotel because we were traveling in a big group. We soon felt uncomfortable with the service and the attitude at the Mondrian, So we went every day to Sunset Tower for breakfast. There we met Victoria who is a fantastic woman with a great feeling for genuine service. She was extremely helpful and competent. The last two days I did not want to stay anymore at the Mondrian so I left and stayed at the Sunset Tower. Why didn’t I do that earlier?! Special thanks to Victoria for making our stay so nice!

Jackie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieArlbring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,641 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,002 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,814 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,143 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing