We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood Glam Vacation”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so exciting & glamorous , which is why I booked it. From the minute you get out of the car , the valet attendant looks like a young Johnny Mathis. The entire staff is so good looking & gracious. The rooms are very clean & the panoramic view of Sunset Strip is great day & night. Our room was a king suite on the 10th floor, which was a fabulous location . The room is very small , but the bed is comfy.The bathroom had only a shower & I prefer a tub. The bathrobes provided are swell. The history of the hotel gets you started on your Hollywood tour. This is a quite hotel with a small pool, but they make sure the hotel guests have first priority for the lounge chairs. You can have drinks & food around the pool.. I cannot rate the main restaurant,since I could not get a reservation. I should have booked the restaurant ahead of time. Movie Stars eat there late on Sat. nights. The walk down Sunset Blvd has lots of cafes & shopping .My only complaint is the hotel lobby & business center is way too dark.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my second stay at the Tower, and there was a snafu with my reservation rate. It was the fault of the travel agency and not of the hotel; nevertheless, the conflict was not resolved by my check-out time. Drew, the front office manager, smiled, promised he'd take care of it, and sent us off to the airport without our having paid. By the time I landed at my home airport, Drew had corrected the problem and emailed me the bill which reflected the change.
The food was great, as was the service, the massage, and the salon. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a client who stayed here years ago and we were not disappointed. Our suite was nice and roomy and very comfortable. Staff were great. We weren't too impressed with the tower bar service as I guess since we weren't celebrities we weren't good enough to eat in there as we made a reservation and the lady at the counter said it would be over and hour wait and would we like to eat at the terrace instead, yet as we walked through the tower bar all we saw were empty tables. My fav staff member were actually the boys out the front, nothing was ever too much to ask of them and i feel people tend to forget about them as being important too. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely working lunch at The Terrace restaurant- the food was delicious and the atmosphere was even better! It feels like a lovely European lunch spot overlooking LA.

We had WONDERFUL service from Jacob and the manager, James. Jacob was friendly, knowledgable and so so helpful throughout our entire meal. He truly made our first lunch experience here even that much better. James was also simply fantastic. So professional, friendly and accommodating!

A great experience and delicious lunch! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brinleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Awesome hotel. The reviews on TA are all pretty accurate. Old Hollywood feel, fantastic service, friendly staff, very clean rooms, great neighborhood (walked to the Rainbow Grill & Nobu), and great price. Pool is kinda small, but no big deal. You will not be disappointed.
Get the "free" continental breakfast poolside. Only $5 with omelettes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Loved everything about the experience at Sunset Tower Hotel. The staff was so friendly and warm. A nice gentleman at the concierge even upgraded us to a suite when we were only there for 2 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. We ended up eating dinner there both nights (once on the terrace and once in piano bar) because it was so cozy and the food was great. The menu will satisfy just about any palette- it's simple but elegant. The hotel has a ton of character, and although its not as lavish as some other hotels in the area- it has a quality that can't compare- right down to the cookies in your room before bed. When back in LA- will definitely be staying there again! It seems as though the staff treat every customer the same, with a genuine warmth and sincerity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatashaPenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really did eat the sashimi every night I was there... it is just that good! The bar staff and servers welcomed me back very warmly and made my trip as perfect as possible. Meeting friends and business associates is always a treat too. It is the place with an incredible energy & atmosphere where you can truly have a home away from home. I slept like a dead man and always woke to a quiet morning with a fresh breakfast. The Sunset Tower stands as a monument to great service and is unsurpassed by any others that I have seen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,998 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $366 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing