We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints. Always Delights.”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really did eat the sashimi every night I was there... it is just that good! The bar staff and servers welcomed me back very warmly and made my trip as perfect as possible. Meeting friends and business associates is always a treat too. It is the place with an incredible energy & atmosphere where you can truly have a home away from home. I slept like a dead man and always woke to a quiet morning with a fresh breakfast. The Sunset Tower stands as a monument to great service and is unsurpassed by any others that I have seen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

my fiancé & i love to stay at The Sunset Tower when visiting LA. it's ideally located with beautifully appointed art deco rooms and common areas.
the tower bar restaurant is elegant & cool with stunning city views, a classic brasserie menu and an extensive beverage list that includes the perfect martini. the terrace is a beautiful, cozy spot to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the pool and city beyond. we've had many meals here and it never fails to please.
service at both restaurants is professional and super friendly. say hello to angel at the terrace--he's the best!
touches such as kiehls products, fluffy robes and turndown service w/ cookies always make for an overall special experience, even when we're in town for a quick layover or business trip. it's old school glamour but decidedly fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CASEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great bar staff! The Hendricks cucumber martini are spectacular Fried chicken Sunday and Mondays are worth the wait. Sean and Brett are extremely welcoming and brilliant mixologists. The Terrace is stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eats2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed there with our good friends. The place was stunning and immaculate! Our friends had a great room. Our room was even better.The standard of accommodation was first class, there was everything you needed and more to make the holiday complete right down to the pool and view! Fantastic! Make sure to take time to see Angel and his team of fabulous servers Derek and Victoria. If you feel like staying in, order the pancakes from Daniel from in room dining. This is the place to be pampered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was recently in Los Angeles on business. It was during E3 Live so the city was busy and I was having trouble finding a hotel. A friend recommended Sunset Tower. They had availability and so I went.
It was a 4 day stay. The rooms are small, but extremely well appointed. The service is excellent, the bed out of this world, the linens are incredible. I repeat, the bed is the best I have ever experienced, bar none. They leave you the best fresh baked chocolate chip cookies with the turndown service. There was zero street noise in my room and I had a wonderful nights sleep. I need to repeat, the bed was best I have ever slept on, bar none.
The downstairs patio is fantastic with a nice breeze that flows through the entire first floor.It's an elegant place with a gracious staff. A lovely person named Wendy Krueger helped me with my reservation. Can't thank her enough - she was as sweet as the cookies.
Overall, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Los Angeles. It is an upscale hotel at a good price. It's well managed and the focus is service. I hope your stay there is as good as mine was.

Room Tip: I was in the room facing Sunset. I was afraid there would be off street noise coming through the art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I decided to take a mini vacation to LA for some sunshine and relaxation. When searching for a hotel, a dear friend suggested The Sunset Tower. I immediately logged on to Trip Advisor and read such wonderful reviews and knew we had to stay. What a great decision that was. This is hands down the best hotel in all of Los Angeles. The hostess of the Tower Bar Restaurant (which was incredible), Miranda, was warm and welcoming and made sure we got the best seat in the house.

The Terrace Room has the most impressive continental buffet we've seen anywhere. They pull out all the stops here. Fresh berries, smoked salmon, a delicious selection of pastries and you haven't lived until you've experienced their french press coffee. Just fabulous. Each day of our stay we were exquisitely taken care of by our servers Derrick, Victoria and Angel. These guys have an eye for detail and will make sure you leave feeling like a Hollywood star. We also have to give a special thank you to Marvin the chef at the omelette station. He was so friendly and even remembered what we had in our omelettes every day!

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the house keeping staff works hard to ensure the rooms are spotless. We can't thank those men and ladies enough. Thanks again Sunset Tower Hotel management and staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandoBauer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed there twice in the last 2 months. One on business, one with my wife and 3 girls. Awesome staff, very attentive, with no hassles whatsoever. Echoing a previous reviewer, Viktoria (sp?) is an excellent ambassador for this hotel. But everyone was friendly, accommodative and attentive. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $366 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing