We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband used to live in the area and this was his first time back in several years. We chose to stay at Sunset Tower because of it's rich history. We had a rough trip there, with all sorts of problems with flight/rental car so when we got to the hotel we were very frazzled. We were greeted warmly and then told that we had been upgraded to a Townhouse Suite. It was amazing and just made our entire trip!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 497JenniferM497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

My son and I always stay at the Sunset Towers when we come to LA, so it was the logical choice for our recent spring break.
The hotel is located on Sunset Blvd and is easy to get to from LAX. It is also located near many of the great things to do in LA, (sight seeing/shopping/the beach/the observatory/Hollywood/Beverly Hills, etc). As always, the staff at the Sunset Towers took great care of us (especially Tim Cunnigham who always seems to be working). Both restaurants in the hotel are excellent and the pool area overlooking the city is exactly what we needed in getting away from the Minnesota winter.
As always, we will be back the next time we have to travel to LA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJA590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was our first trip to Los Angeles and this hotel was recommended to us by a friend , so glad we took there recommendation ! It was the perfect place to stay - excellent location , very luxurious , all the the staff were very helpful , especially Tim Cunningham, front desk manager . Really enjoyed the nostalgia about the hotel , it has a very interesting past .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxurylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

While the rooms are on the small size, you only sleep there. The staff and the waiters and bar keeps are fabulous! The maitre'D, Demitri is absolutely old Hollywood glamour rite large in this century. His ability to make everyone feel like a movie star is unbelievable. A definite must stay at least once.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The atmosphere is lovely, but it is the staff that made our stay so wonderful! Including our friendly waiter (Derek), the incredible young man who helped me carry my sleeping child to the room, the cleaning staff who did an excellent job, and everyone who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladonnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here February 9th & 10th with my daughter. Our room was nice and the view (with balcony) was amazing. Everyone was warm and friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We had our hair styled at Argyle Salon & Spa while we were there and our curls never looked better! Also, the restaurants at the hotel are lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abouldermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The first thing you notice driving up - what a spectacular art deco building! The staff are very friendly and accommodating - Jeffrey was especially good. I booked a king size room and was surprised about how small it was. And I was wondering about those floor to ceiling windows I've read about. The reviews talking about size are absolutely true - if you're in a standard/superior/delux king room. We stopped by and saw a junior suite - that was what I was expecting. The room was smaller than the rooms from my recent stays in Tokyo and London. For the price i was expecting a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't select a normal king room - super tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $366 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing