We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February stay”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“February stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here February 9th & 10th with my daughter. Our room was nice and the view (with balcony) was amazing. Everyone was warm and friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We had our hair styled at Argyle Salon & Spa while we were there and our curls never looked better! Also, the restaurants at the hotel are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abouldermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    118
    40
    17
    18
See reviews for
147
296
86
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The first thing you notice driving up - what a spectacular art deco building! The staff are very friendly and accommodating - Jeffrey was especially good. I booked a king size room and was surprised about how small it was. And I was wondering about those floor to ceiling windows I've read about. The reviews talking about size are absolutely true - if you're in a standard/superior/delux king room. We stopped by and saw a junior suite - that was what I was expecting. The room was smaller than the rooms from my recent stays in Tokyo and London. For the price i was expecting a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't select a normal king room - super tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recent stay at STH:
The best sheets on the most comfortable bed. Love the Nespresso machine in the room.
All staff very helpful .Front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.
I commend them all- but let me just mention : Viktoria, Angel and Derick who helped me make the most of the one day of relaxation I had - by constantly moving the shade umbrella so I could lounge near the pool but not be exposed to the sun.
This is an extremely well-run hotel that is focused on its clientele and does the utmost to make them comfortable.
May be time for a bit of minor touch up in some of the rooms

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My trip started by arriving in LA only to find that two cabbies and one shuttle company that were completely unaware of the Sunset Tower Hotel. Normally that would be an uncomfortable feeling, but I did some advance research and knew this hotel was a gem.

And I wasn't disappointed. The rooms were fantastic - clean, airy, and very old school. Beds super comfortable. Windows open (which might not be a good thing if you have small kids). But waking in the morning to fresh air is most certainly a bonus that one does not find in many hotels today.

Staff was very attentive, quick with answers to questions and always pleasant, but not in an overbearing or fake manner that is the typical in other hotels. Of particular note was Lauren. She was exceptional as a host.

The bar/restaurant was packed early. So if you want to get in, reserve or plan to get there early. Drinks made to perfection, food delicious of course. Note: breakfast was complimentary and of the very highest quality with choices for every palate.

Was undecided about posting this review. Not only did my transport not know where it was, but some business contacts I met in town were scratching their heads too. Perhaps it's better left as a secret. After all, how am I going to get back there if it's always booked?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotaFanofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Looking for a change in LA from my regular spots, I was enchanted by the sunset towers, real Hollywood glamour, the Art Deco, the spa the pool the view, not to forget the bathroom and the use Khiels products, yes it matters...

Staff is taking amazing care of you and makes sure you are happy

A special thank you to Derric who every morning took care of us for breakfast and gave us tips and places to go to!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I wonder if I am having an out of body experience. My first room was so small, albeit with a wonderful view, that I, literally, could not unpack my suitcase, unless I wanted to stack my belongings on the bed and snuggle with them all night. After asking to see another room I guess my Hollywood contract has been ripped up as I am now staying in the Hollywood Mortician King, with a tiny window overlooking an air compressor, brown wallpaper and no counter for the sink. I can actually crawl out my window and lounge on a sooty roof. If this hotel is old Hollywood Glamour then this is the backlot, or the old prop room, or where they keep the extras. Lovely and friendly staff, however this is more Barton Fink then Betty Davis.

Room Tip: Stay away from the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frequenttravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The STH is my personal favorite in Los Angeles, and I always stay here when visiting for work or pleasure. Today I focus on the morning breakfast which is superb. Angel, Derric and Victoria always take extra special care of me, and I appreciate their efforts tremendously. They are friendly, attentive, and professional. I can always count on these guys to make my stay a solidly wonderful experience each and every time. Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: If you can swing a junior suite, go for it. The gracefully arching floor-to-ceiling windows beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,670 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,016 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,848 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,861 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing