We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Breakfast Each Morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Directly to Book
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Each Morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The STH is my personal favorite in Los Angeles, and I always stay here when visiting for work or pleasure. Today I focus on the morning breakfast which is superb. Angel, Derric and Victoria always take extra special care of me, and I appreciate their efforts tremendously. They are friendly, attentive, and professional. I can always count on these guys to make my stay a solidly wonderful experience each and every time. Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: If you can swing a junior suite, go for it. The gracefully arching floor-to-ceiling windows beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    100
    32
    15
    16
See reviews for
118
261
71
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay after an eleven hour flight from the UK. There was an instant sense of the history of the hotel and the glamour of golden age Hollywood. All of the staff members were incredibly welcoming and did their best to make us comfortable.

Our double room was spacious and relaxing, with a plush bathroom and a shower that didn’t leak out onto the floor (almost a first for hotel showers).

The pool was small; definitely a pool designed to be sat by rather than to be used, so that wasn’t a problem at all. Cocktails on the terrace by the pool as the sun set over the city came pretty close to perfection.

Finally – the restaurant. The food and service were exquisite but the restaurant was very dark. This gave it a cosy, intimate feeling and we had a great evening. The truffle mac and cheese went down very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeysalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Absolute old school glamour! Sunset Tower is as chic and gorgeous as you could imagine but, unlike many alternatives, has no pretenses and doesn't feel overly youthful. I adored my large suite and the dusky hallways that brought to mind Raymond Chandler novels. I especially loved the staff who made me feel as comfortable in the hotel AND the sophisticated Tower Bar as any of the celebrities that frequent it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We adored everything about this hotel. It has the vintage Hollywood touches but is updated perfectly with modern marble bathrooms, very comfortable beds and luxurious linens. The windows in the room open up so you can feel the breeze. Breakfast was awesome, terrace and pool area are heaven, Tower Bar is the perfect hangout spot. We even used the little gym and it was great for what we needed with nice equipment (though the hallway to get there is kind of smelly and old). Service was fantastic in all areas. Couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend room with 2 twin beds unless absolutely necessary - there are only 2 and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyP808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with a wonderful & attentive staff. The classic beauty of the bar-restaurant and the poolside lounge exceeded expectations. Our large room was equally as impressive and a great value. Loved its history as well. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel. What a find! This spot is absolutely gorgeous and reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood. Many celebs of the era lived here as well. Service throughout the Sunset Tower is phenomenal. From the valet greeting us every morning to the fantastic housekeepers everything was wonderful. We loved having breakfast poolside at the Terrace Restaurant. Angel lives up to his name! We would especially like to thank Derrick and Victoria for excellent service. The buffet is beautiful and had quite the selection. Last but not least, Drew, the front desk manager was a joy to speak with every day. If you are looking for a luxurious and non-pretentious place to stay look no further than the Sunset Tower Hotel. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

a friendly hotel it is not. The hotel lost our bags that we had placed in storage with them. The hotel staff insisted that the lost luggage had nothing to do with the hotel but that the responsibility lay with the security company that had a contract with the hotel. We had to go to LAX Police
Dept. to retrieve our bags and had to suffer indimidation and rudeness rom the police dept. At no stage did the hotel assume responsibility. I will never stay at this hotel again. we did get compensation but nothing compared to the losses we incurred.

Room Tip: just dont saty there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jacqualine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing