We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My All-Time Favorite Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My All-Time Favorite Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Absolute old school glamour! Sunset Tower is as chic and gorgeous as you could imagine but, unlike many alternatives, has no pretenses and doesn't feel overly youthful. I adored my large suite and the dusky hallways that brought to mind Raymond Chandler novels. I especially loved the staff who made me feel as comfortable in the hotel AND the sophisticated Tower Bar as any of the celebrities that frequent it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    109
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
131
279
80
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We adored everything about this hotel. It has the vintage Hollywood touches but is updated perfectly with modern marble bathrooms, very comfortable beds and luxurious linens. The windows in the room open up so you can feel the breeze. Breakfast was awesome, terrace and pool area are heaven, Tower Bar is the perfect hangout spot. We even used the little gym and it was great for what we needed with nice equipment (though the hallway to get there is kind of smelly and old). Service was fantastic in all areas. Couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend room with 2 twin beds unless absolutely necessary - there are only 2 and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyP808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with a wonderful & attentive staff. The classic beauty of the bar-restaurant and the poolside lounge exceeded expectations. Our large room was equally as impressive and a great value. Loved its history as well. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel. What a find! This spot is absolutely gorgeous and reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood. Many celebs of the era lived here as well. Service throughout the Sunset Tower is phenomenal. From the valet greeting us every morning to the fantastic housekeepers everything was wonderful. We loved having breakfast poolside at the Terrace Restaurant. Angel lives up to his name! We would especially like to thank Derrick and Victoria for excellent service. The buffet is beautiful and had quite the selection. Last but not least, Drew, the front desk manager was a joy to speak with every day. If you are looking for a luxurious and non-pretentious place to stay look no further than the Sunset Tower Hotel. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

a friendly hotel it is not. The hotel lost our bags that we had placed in storage with them. The hotel staff insisted that the lost luggage had nothing to do with the hotel but that the responsibility lay with the security company that had a contract with the hotel. We had to go to LAX Police
Dept. to retrieve our bags and had to suffer indimidation and rudeness rom the police dept. At no stage did the hotel assume responsibility. I will never stay at this hotel again. we did get compensation but nothing compared to the losses we incurred.

Room Tip: just dont saty there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jacqualine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Forget for a minute that the Sunset Tower caters to Hollywood hipsters and celebrities, which is particularly self-evident in the pool, bar and restaurant areas. No matter who you are, you can't help but appreciate the attention that guests receive from the moment you pull into the courtyard, and the layouts and amenities in the rooms. I had a junior suite (complimentary upgrade) - which had a fantastic sitting area, and semi-rounded window with a create view of Sunset Blvd. It has all the luxuries you suspect, including plush robes and the like. But the real appeal is the ambiance. Even though said hipsters and celebrities are easy to spot, the hotel has an understated vibe that feels truly special, yet never pretentious or pompous. The result is, no matter who you are, you feel like you truly belong. That, I'm thinking, is no easy feat!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, ask for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

the sunset tower hotel is amazing!! it has great energy and the people who work there were beyond fabulous. It is in a great location, it's beautiful and in my opinion this is the BEST place in LA to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing