We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hollywood Glamour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Hollywood Glamour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with a wonderful & attentive staff. The classic beauty of the bar-restaurant and the poolside lounge exceeded expectations. Our large room was equally as impressive and a great value. Loved its history as well. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel. What a find! This spot is absolutely gorgeous and reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood. Many celebs of the era lived here as well. Service throughout the Sunset Tower is phenomenal. From the valet greeting us every morning to the fantastic housekeepers everything was wonderful. We loved having breakfast poolside at the Terrace Restaurant. Angel lives up to his name! We would especially like to thank Derrick and Victoria for excellent service. The buffet is beautiful and had quite the selection. Last but not least, Drew, the front desk manager was a joy to speak with every day. If you are looking for a luxurious and non-pretentious place to stay look no further than the Sunset Tower Hotel. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

a friendly hotel it is not. The hotel lost our bags that we had placed in storage with them. The hotel staff insisted that the lost luggage had nothing to do with the hotel but that the responsibility lay with the security company that had a contract with the hotel. We had to go to LAX Police
Dept. to retrieve our bags and had to suffer indimidation and rudeness rom the police dept. At no stage did the hotel assume responsibility. I will never stay at this hotel again. we did get compensation but nothing compared to the losses we incurred.

Room Tip: just dont saty there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jacqualine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Forget for a minute that the Sunset Tower caters to Hollywood hipsters and celebrities, which is particularly self-evident in the pool, bar and restaurant areas. No matter who you are, you can't help but appreciate the attention that guests receive from the moment you pull into the courtyard, and the layouts and amenities in the rooms. I had a junior suite (complimentary upgrade) - which had a fantastic sitting area, and semi-rounded window with a create view of Sunset Blvd. It has all the luxuries you suspect, including plush robes and the like. But the real appeal is the ambiance. Even though said hipsters and celebrities are easy to spot, the hotel has an understated vibe that feels truly special, yet never pretentious or pompous. The result is, no matter who you are, you feel like you truly belong. That, I'm thinking, is no easy feat!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, ask for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the sunset tower hotel is amazing!! it has great energy and the people who work there were beyond fabulous. It is in a great location, it's beautiful and in my opinion this is the BEST place in LA to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time staying at the Sunset Tower hotel this last trip to LA. Loved it... I had a big meeting with my Playboy editors early evening in the bar, rubbed elbows with Lionel Richie and Martin Short... Could not have asked for more.

ME

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeInMyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my world favorite hotels .
Exceptional staff at the front reception , restaurants , & lovely women & men in housekeeping ! The rooms are a great size , often I'm upgraded when available .
Tower Restaurant is probably one of the best in LA & not everyone needs to know that ! The Sunset Tower is a very classy
joint & it's not star struck ! Low key , peaceful & relaxing , that's what it's all about . I always feel home !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#15 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing