We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWSOME - Can't wait to stay here again”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWSOME - Can't wait to stay here again”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. The staff were incredible and made our stay even more enjoyable. The location was perfect and we had a car to get around which made it all that more easy.

The rooms were old school and that's what I loved when picking but again the staff at this hotel were so helpful and always asking about your day and happy to provide tips about locations and directions.

Because of the level of service we received from the staff we cannot wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissV121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    118
    40
    17
    18
See reviews for
147
296
86
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful experience. You step into the past with high end amenities.
Pristine throughout the hotel. The bathroom was spotless. The decor was perfect. Great lighting.
The delicious continental breakfast was served on the beautiful terrace. A win win pick!

Room Tip: We selected the lowest priced room. Next time, we'll go for a higher priced room for more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Sunset Tower is the only place I will stay in Hollywood. It's the only place to do business where you can count on the staff and the guests to be the caliber necessary to enjoy yourself and do business.

I never have a worry in the world when I travel to LA as long as I'm staying w Sunset Tower. Doesn't get any better. I wish other hotels could do what they do so well. . .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtheodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The building is an art-deco gem reminiscent of the glorious Hollywood days. Rooms are redone in a chic, effortless way. I loved my junior suite overlooking the city (other rooms look towards the Hollywood hills). What i mostly appreciated though was the spot-on service and the polite and patient way they dealt with my many requests (especially Tim Cunnigham, the manager).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greek1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always enjoy my stays at Sunset Tower. The rooms are very nice (although some are on the small side), and the food is outstanding. The best part about this hotel, however, is the staff. Every single person I encountered, from the front desk to the room service waitstaff to the bellman, was helpful, friendly, and professional. They truly make you feel welcome. No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Tim Cunningham continues to amaze me with his command of just what it takes to deliver the perfect experience in a competitive hotel market. There are plenty of choices in LA, and you don't stay here for the latest flat screen TV or modern furniture. The tower offers something much more sublime. It's become a second home for me, but I suspect the team makes equal effort for every guest.
Dinner at Tower Bar Saturday night was flawless - Dmitri, and his team old & new, orchestrate the room with such flair. Is it good or bad that they remember your favorite cocktail? Lets say good.
Finally got a chance to use the Argyle Spa - having previously been a loyalist to my girl Esther at the now closed Aqua Spa. Farah was awesome and even though I out came in for a quick buff manicure, she made it memorable and ill definitely explore the spa more in the future. All of the desk staff were darling and super welcoming.
Last but DEFINITELY not least, is my ray of sunshine Angel at the Terrace Bar. He's young, service oriented, and loves his job. That comes through. He's a graceful host, and (Jeff are you listening?) represents your brand with such integrity and passion. He's a lovely lovely, young, aspiring and inspiring guy. Thanks for always making me feel so looked after Angel.
See my guys at the tower again soon.
Stay here - and experience something very very special.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyG_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment we entered the hotel until the time we left, we were met with pleasant, professional staff who made us feel most welcome. While the history of the building is certainly interesting, the hotel's true asset is the staff, who were so friendly and always with a smile, eager to please. Breakfast in The Terrace with Angel serving was to die for and dinner in the Tower Bar was superb. I'm still dreaming about the morning's French Toast and freshly squeezed orange juice, as well as the evening's oysters and Tower Burger and French Fries.
Our room was a good size with two queen beds and TV and a sitting area also with a TV. Bathroom had a large, glass-enclosed shower with seat. My husband enjoyed the pool, where the excellent service continued. This trip was a 5 night visit to be with our grandson for Thanksgiving. Regretfully, we didn't have time to enjoy the hotel spa.

Room Tip: Corner suite had a better view of the city from one window than it did from the one facing Sunset, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finessa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,671 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,016 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,854 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,864 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing