We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveler rating
439
149
39
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
439
149
39
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recording studio bedroom villa koi pond dead end street rock star whiskey bar grounds are beautiful rock memorabilia main building rock and roll music industry tucked away rain shower breakfast and dinner an update residential street full kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 650 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019

a true oasis in the city ---great large rooms, comfy beds, big bathrooms, quiet.
good for meetings as well with many areas to sit and chat
- good restaurant and nice staff
love the gardens and the pool very easy hotel

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank 760madeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa68561308118, General Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear Madeline,

On behalf of all of your new friends at the Sunset Marquis, thank you for the generous review. We’re thrilled to know all aspects of our “oasis in the city” exceeded expectations, most importantly the friendly service of our staff. We’re elated that we contributed in making your visit to West Hollywood a memorable one and can’t wait for the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sunset Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

This is a review of the Photo artwork gallery Morrison Hotel. Nice experience, wonderful photos on display and for sale. Gallery photos throughout the lobby, pool area.
Gallery staff helpful and friendly. Worth a visit if you are a fan of rock memorabilia or history.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank K2619WYalant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa68561308118, General Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Alan,

Sunset Marquis is honored to house the Los Angeles Morrison Hotel Gallery and we thank you for sharing your personal recommendation. It was wonderful to know that your interactions with the staff enhanced your visit, giving you more insight into the history of these classic photographs. Along with those on display in our lobby, the Gallery has also curated the music photography collection throughout our entire property and we hope you get a chance to come back for further exploration.

Sunset Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

We stayed at the Sunset Marquis for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The staff treated us royally from the moment we arrived. At the front desk Jay and Jacqueline welcomed us with warm smiles and greetings. When we arrived at our villa we found delicious desserts, cheese plate and a bottle of champagne waiting for us. What an awesome and exciting surprise!! The gardens and pathways were quiet and added a beautiful retreat-like atmosphere. We enjoyed two delicious meals at Cavatina -- dinner and a final breakfast Waiters Olivier and Gustavo were very attentive and gave us warm and personal service. The food was delicious and we savored each bite.The location was perfect with a short walk to shops and restaurants on Sunset Blvd.

Our experience was, without a doubt, the most amazing we have had at any hotel. And we have traveled all over Europe and the US. Most memorable was the warmth and friendliness of all of the staff!!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa68561308118, General Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Pat,

We were thrilled to toast and celebrate your 50 years together, and we thank you for allowing us the honor of playing a small role in your memories of this blessed time in your lives. We trust from your gracious praise for our property, amenities, and most importantly staff, that the Sunset Marquis will be a place that you both will hold close to your hearts for years to come. It sounds like you were well taken care of from the moment you checked-in and we appreciate you taking a moment to recognize a few of our amazing team members who truly made your milestone getaway one to remember. On behalf of Jay, Jacqueline, Olivier, Gustavo, and our entire team at your new home-away-from-home in West Hollywood, we extend our congratulations once again and look forward to sharing many more memorable experiences with you in the future.

Sunset Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel in a perfect location! Staff was very helpfull and very friendly!! We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and both were very very good! When we are back in LA we will definitly come back!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MVelde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa68561308118, General Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear MVelde1,

“Thank you” does not begin to describe our appreciation for your thoughtful review. Beyond your kind words for our “perfect location” and the culinary delights you enjoyed at Cavatina, we greatly appreciate your compliments for our friendly team members. We’re fortunate to have an amazing staff at the Sunset Marquis who are absolutely genuine in wanting every guest to have a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Sunset Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Having come of age as a rock & roll hotel, the Sunset Marquis keep discretion a priority and muffled sound a raison d'être. Large rooms around the pool, larger spaces towards. the back (many around gardens) give the Marquis a feeling of a small community.
With two bars, a quiet dining area, beautifully tended flora, trees and even a koi pond make this an oasis steps from the trendy part of Sunset. Whatever you want, glam shopping, sushi, a killer book store, a great Catholic Church, French food, the Comedy Store, it's footsteps away. And the Viper Room, Whiskey A Go Go, Rainbow and Roxy are just a little farther away.
Staff is discrete and personally invested in their guests. Ask, and they will try to help. Truly help, not just refer you to some website, or other staff member. Tucked away, you never know who you might see... and that's just the bonus fun.

Room tip: Morrison Hotel Gallery is in the lobby. Great rock photos for sale, or to just appreciate. Iconic images. Take the time...
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LadyGoodman615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa68561308118, General Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear LadyGoodman615,

We couldn’t have described the essence of the hotel better ourselves – a “small community” feeling where all of our guests immediately become part of our family upon arrival. Your review eloquently captures the experience of Sunset Marquis so perfectly, highlighting our musical heritage, its convenience to the “trendy parts of Sunset”, and most certainly the genuine hospitality of our staff. We thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions with us and the TripAdvisor community and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sunset Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews