We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
418
146
39
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
146
39
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recording studio bedroom villa rock star dead end street whiskey bar rock and roll equinox gym main building tucked away home from home beautiful property low key an update concierge desk residential street cool hotel los angeles
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 626 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We are both born and raised in Los Angeles, we know the city very well, and The Sunset Marquis is a favorite spot for a staycation in our hometown. It's nestled in a pocket of West Hollywood that's walking distance to nice restaurants and shops, and it has lovely bungalows, if your goal is to hunker down and/or hide away. There is a mid-century-esque building with numerous rooms, some newer suites/bungalows, and more historic suites and villas available, depending on what you're needs are. The restaurant is nice, with an expansive outdoor terrace, and their spa is popular, but I've never gotten a treatment there. It's a good choice if you want your base to be centrally located, but it is a drive from Downtown, The Valley, the beaches, and Pasadena. It's fairly close to Beverly Hills. You'll need a car or driver (Lyft, Uber, etc.) to comfortably get around with this hotel as your LA base. It's suitable for families, but not as kid-centric as some other hotels might be, which is a pro for some travelers, a con for others. For us, this property has an authentic SoCal feeling about it, so if you want a "real Los Angeles vibe," this could be a good choice for you.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LuxiCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Stayed here for a couple of nights when visiting West Hollywood for a concert at the Hollywood bowl. The place has a true rock star feeling to it. Secluded entrance, magnificent landscaping and exceptional service. My room was in the perfect spot besides the main pool and you get an authentic presence of all the musicians and rock starts that have stayed here and partied just like I did.

Room Tip: Near the main pool.
Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Juaninazio67 H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

This is the most wonderful hotel experience you could ever wish for in Los Angeles. Once you enter the building into the welcoming reception you could be in St Tropez or Southern Italy . wow wow wow. The staff ...amazing.....the food.....amazing......the swimming pools.....amazing......the bar......amazing........the rooms......amazing.....the service .......amazing.......The Sunset Marquis is my favourite hotel in the whole world and if you treat yourself to even one night anywhere then make it this fine establishment.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank stevesidelnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Tucked away just off the madness of the Sunset strip, this hotel is one of my favourities when staying in LA. The rooms are massive and have huge bathrooms with bath and shower. A great restaurant that you'll usually get to spot a star at and a couple of excellent bars, including poolside. The staff at this hotel are always ready to help and nothing is vere a problem, from booking you a rental car to organising international couriers. I always love my stay here, it's a home away from home.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Shared the evening with friends at Bar 1200 at the Sunset Marquis Hotel. Adam Chester from Elton John's band was on Piano. Adam is simply amazing! The staff at Bar 1200 is exceptional. Brilliant evening!!!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank triciaplb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews