We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I used to stay at the Sunset Marquis annually during the 80's. It was and still is "the" hotel for the music industry, especially because of the recording studio. The recent renovations really put this hotel over the top. The new restaurant is wonderful and the pool areas are most comfortable. Location is excellent, close to all major shopping and restaurants. The staff were all terrific, particularly the concierge staff. Very tranquil atmosphere despite being one block off the strip. You are certain to bump into a celebrity if that's what you're looking for. Would not even think of staying anywhere else...a great scene here, great vibe, great buzz...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2010

Great to hear from a long-time guest! Be sure to keep in touch as we prepare to celebrate our 50th anniversary in 2013 and share a memory from one of your favorite stays with us.

Very glad to hear you enjoyed our renovations and the many changes to the property. Our goal was to keep the essence of the original Sunset Marquis and simply make it better! The RESTAURANT has been an exceptional addition to the facility and thank you for the compliment. If you're a potential guest, reading this and get a chance to try us out, I recommend the Sea Bass but you really can't go wrong with any of the selections. Our 5 star, 5 diamond chef Guillaume Burlion blends a fusion of Asian and French into our varied and eclectic menu. Ok, that sounded a bit like an ad I know. But it's true!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the "peace and quiet" of being on property as well. We sit on almost 5 acres and with the lush landscaping coupled with being just off the Sunset Strip, we here that compliment often.

The recording studio, Nightbird, is going strong and one of the few recording studios still left in the area. Between the hotel and studio, we enjoyed the opportunity to host 16 Grammy nominated artists on property - several of whom actually won the award! On your next trip be sure to ask for a chance to see our newest addition - the first professionally designed photography studio in a hotel anywhere in the world - at least as far as we know!

Cheers, and thanks again for your continued support of the Sunset Marquis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 584 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

The only down side of this trip is that I wasn't at the Sunset Marquis long enough...it was a quick trip and if I had my choice I would still be there. I can only comment about the Villa rooms since that's where I stayed. The bathrooms were huge, the bed was fabulous with a huge flat screen TV, the living room space was spectacular. The service at check in et al was attentive, courteous and prompt. The grounds of the hotel was like a garden of eden in the middle of this crazy city...and although we were on a busy city block it was unusually quiet. Bar wasn't large but it spilled out into the lobby and outside so it made for a very casual yet hip area. Although the bar was full, the bartender was very attentive. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beowulf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2010

Thank you very much for the outstanding review of the Sunset Marquis. We're pleased your enjoyed your stay in the villa and very glad you also had a chance to enjoy the scene at BAR 1200. Be sure to come back for a visit when you can stay a bit longer though! The RESTAURANT bar in the villa area across from SPA is usually quite a good scene too. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

As I'm very often in LA I decided to try different hotels. I saw the website of The Sunset Marquis and I decided to book a junior villa for a night.
The hotel is not easy to find in West Hollywood but once you get there you're really surprised. It's a little oasis of peace in a city that is not quiet at all. You really feel well and it's a great place to relax.
There's a lot of privacy and if you want to be quiet you should not hesitate one second: just go there!
My villa was big, though it was a junior one. I just loved the bathroom, it's huge and very well done!
It's very modern but not snobbish at all. The staff was very gentle and professionnal.
Unfortunately I had to leave the next morning so I could not really enjoy the place but what I experienced really gave me the will of returning at The Sunset Marquis for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2010

Thank you very much for submitting your Trip Advisor review! Coincidentally, "an oasis of peace" is very similar to how we describe our hotel to anyone not lucky enough to have experienced the hotel.

We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your junior villa and the hotel as a whole. Please do come back to get the full experience of RESTAURANT, SPA, BAR 1200, etc. Our goal is to make everyone feel super, whether you're "somebody important", or simply want to be!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sunset Marquis because our friends got married there on NYE-2009. We were beyond surprised with the entire experience! From the spacious room to the staff and food, it was a top notch experience and would definitely return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segment-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2010

Thank you so very much for your review. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to provide an outstanding experience for every one of our guests. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Travelled here with my partner and was DELIGHTED with their improvements of the past years. Take one of the newly built one bedroom villas behind the deliciously set outdoor restaurant and bar...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2009

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Marquis with the TripAdvisor community. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are pleased with our new Villas and RESTAURANT additions. Come back and see us soon and be sure to try out SPA as well. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

This is one of my favourite hotels in the world. I've been staying on and off for 20 years and I always enjoyed its quirky and relaxed atmosphere, but was worried that this might have got lost with the massive redevelopment they've done. But, if anything, it's better. The new villas are spectacular, and the new restaurant is terrific. Generally it was business as usual - super helpful staff who really seem to enjoy working there, and a genuinely relaxed and comfortable feel to the whole place. The complete antidote to both corporate chain hotels and some of the self-consciously trendy boutique places. Shame they renamed the Whiskey Bar, though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Director of Marketing at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2009

Thank you for the review! We're glad you like the improvements we've made to the hotel by adding the Villas and RESTAURANT, and truly appreciate your patronage over the years. Your description of the hotel's atmosphere is exactly what we strive to provide our guests; a tranquil little oasis in the middle of Los Angeles, but still plenty of excitement in and around the hotel within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back, and be sure to try SPA on your next visit. As for BAR 1200 (previously known as Whiskey Bar) - the name may have changed but the atmosphere remains the same!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We have stayed at the Sunset Marquis several times a year for about 15 years. It just keeps getting better. A key test of any property is consistency. Much if not most of the staff has been at the hotel for at least 10 years. They are charming, efficient, and seem never to forget a face. The addition of the new villas has kicked everything up a notch. Comfort is superb. Food.....always good.....is even better. The welcome is even warmer.
While very sophisticated, there's a wonderful feeling of "family", probably because the hotel doesn't attract bus or tour groups, and is mostly populated by repeat guests. Highly, unequivocally recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trigger18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,746 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,068 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,085 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $378 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing