We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2004

Finally found a hotel that I would actually return to for another visit. Spent two nights in June 2004 and wish I had time for more. Service was wonderful and always with a smile...how refreshing!

4  Thank Ninjaconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marquis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 571 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed April 13, 2004

Went there for 2 nights, 3/20-3/21. Looked as I imagined on the outside. Lobby was nice. Actual outside of rooms didn't look as nice or as I would have imagined. Actual inside of rooms was real nice though.
Didn't find it loud, slept like a baby. Staff was great to me, and I'm nobody. Good location for going out on Sunset as well. Whiskey Bar is a cool place that starts around 11:30 on Sat. night. I'd stay there again. It is a bit cheap but if you can live with paying it, I'd recommend it.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
110
Reviewed September 21, 2003

The Sunset Marquis is a fabulous place to stay when in Hollywood. The hotel is set back from Sunset Blvd. by a short one minute walk, but it is set in a residential neighborhood where the noise from Sunset is almost completely cut out. The hotel is also very private and exclusive. The rooms are very well decorated with a contemporary feel to them. As for night life, the concierge can get you on the list at any club, but there really isn't any need. We tried out some different clubs including the Skybar, but were very disappointed after all the hype. The hotel's own "Whiskey Bar" is the place to be. During our stay we saw The Cure having a leisurely drink in the lobby area just outside of the bar along with Keanu Reeves in the bar. The Sunset Marquis may say some things that are hard to believe in their advertisements, but they are entirely true. I will most definitely be staying there from now on.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Pollux8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maier6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,707 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,949 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $347 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing