We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The 'Sunset to Sunrise' offer was great! The package came with breakfast, 2 welcome drinks, comedy club tickets, VIP entrance into Hollywood hot spots, Equinox passes and a big 1 bedroom suite. The vibe is old classy Hollywood with modern updates to the hotel and tons of trees and greenery. Great location, close close to Sunset/La Cienaga, but without the traffic and noise. The Hotel set up great live music by the pool in the evening. It was a quick weekend for my wife and I, but we did as much as we could do in 24 hrs. We definitely need to go back. Food and service was excellent!

Room Tip: Get a room by the pool. Easy access and you have your own lounge chairs if the pool is packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    114
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
172
42
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros:
Large bathroom with a range of toiletries, large room (approximately 12 x 24 ft. ) Double bed, and table with two chairs. Large wardrobe. Safe, stocked minibar, and separate refrigerator.

Helpful staff on reception.

Cons:
Location - West Hollywood. The area is a bit rundown in places and in the middle of a suburban sprawl. Nothing else here, so I don't understand why it's so popular. Never seen so many dogs being taken for a walk and evidence of where they have been!

Air conditioning - full on or nothing. No fan control, so fan operates at maximum speed all the time. The non-adjustable air vents mean that icy cold air is blasted at you on the bed, every time the aircon switches on.

Coffee-making facilities - none in the room. Very unusual these days.

Internet - wifi and wired available at 11.95 USD per 24 hour period per device. Again, very unusual to charge for this now.

Iron - cracked across the bottom and could be a safety hazard?

Would not return here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wow!! After 2547 miles travelling Route 66 (which was awesome!) we stayed here for 3 wonderful nights! The hotel is situated in a fab spot just off Sunset Bvld which made for getting to great restaurants and shops easy. Also a quick taxi to Hollywood Bvld which opens up all touristy stuff to do. Our room was huge, clean, very comfortable and being on the ground floor, right by the pool. Quiet enough to be very relaxing. My hubby chose this hotel as there is a famous recording studio there so as a musician himself, was very pleased to be able to have a look around! All the staff were very friendly and welcoming (particularly Logan) so we would most definitely come back and stay! Also the restaurant at the hotel was lovely. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a great stay my wife and I had at Sunset Marquis. Our guest suite was quiet, very spacious and nicely furnished. We loved the rock memorabilia lined walls. The bed was super comfortable and the restaurant and bar are the best in town! The staff was very attentive and the grounds were superbly manicured. We would highly recommend Sunset Marquis to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our American holiday and we loved it! Upon arrival check-in was quick and easy. We literally dumped our bags and headed straight to the restaurant... (more for the bar really) ;-) After a long coach trip from Coachella we were in desperate need of some good food and a strong cocktail. It didn't disappoint either. The food was yum, my favourite dessert was the warm cookies! They were just so melt in your mouth fresh.

The hotel itself is just beautiful, the grounds are really pretty and there is a lovely relaxing atmosphere. You may even spot a few celebs like us too!

The rooms are a really good size. We had a suite and there was a nice little sofa in the TV area, a decent sized balcony overlooking the pool, and the shower was huge!! We had two king sized beds which were so very comfy! I struggled to get out on a morning. The room was clean, penty of towels, a well stocked mini-bar too.

I would 100% stay here again and had no complaints whatsoever. Oh and the bar in reception is really great too! The cocktails were very strong, but we weren't complaining about that!

Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natmoto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a great stay at this West Hollywood location ,. There are two pools on the property set in beautiful gardens. The pool lounges are very comfortable and never crowded while we were there. The rooms are spacious & the bathroom had a huge rainfall shower.On the downside the mini bar has blue lights and despite being in a cupboard it lights up the room at night and the air con is noisy.Wi-Fi is such an important part of travelling now and I really do not understand hotels charging for it ..
The check in staff probably need to realise that all guests are equal and treat everyone the same I also found them a little underwhelming but the concierge and bar & restaurant staff were terrific.
We enjoyed our meals at the hotel but we also had some lovely meals in restaurants nearby especially Everleigh . Use of a gym nearby is included which was great. All in all we enjoyed staying at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it as the place to stay in LA

Room Tip: Room with balcony u may be able to turn off air con and open door ? Check the mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall we had a great stay in West Hollywood at the Sunset Marquis. Great, multi-pool property, with an exclusive oasis feel in the middle of a bunch of buildings (i.e. LA). I took off a star for luke-warm reception at the check-in desk, a daily WiFi fee (which nowadays should always be "free") and very loud AC unit that kicks on and off frequently in the room. (It works, just really loudly) See pros and cons below..

Pros:
- Location, WeHo is central to many different great restaurants, bars, Sunset Strip, etc
- Included access to Equinox Gym, a great place to workout
- Two pools with comfortable deck chairs, towels and umbrellas
- Restaurant (Cavatina) is in the middle of a lot of greenery, providing a very exclusive feel with delicious food (Breakfast and Dinner)
- Super clean and nicely (modern) styled rooms. The housekeeping staff was amazing and the Aveda amentities are always nice.

Cons:
- $11.95/day WiFi fee. This should be included in the hotel price. Come on now, this is ridiculous...it's not 2004 anymore.
- Loud AC Unit in the room. Always kept the room at the right temperature, but kicking on and off was very loud throughout the entire day and night.
- Ladies at the check-in reception desk were very cold upon check-in. Don't know if this was because we weren't one of the "famous" people in the hotel or just a general "LA Welcome".
- Cost of adult beverages...it's LA, they are expensive. That said, there are plenty of good bars close-by that are offering more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing IN toward the first pool (assuming you aren't staying in one of the high-e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eschuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing