We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Excellent boutique hotel. Excellent service. Great environment, friendly staff. We recommend the pool level rooms. The restaurant is highly recommended for breakfast lunch and dinner. Concierge service is greatand personalized. The only comment is on the wifi where you have to purchase a data package per device per room. Its not the $12 a day per device but more why the need from the hotel to charge that when u r already paying a premuim high price for the room and services? Highly recommended in this part of the city.

Helpful?
2 Thank Keidi71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    130
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
197
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel was not a 4.5 star! It came close to a 4 star.
The valet and Wi-Fi rates were ridiculous.
The location is great, service is good.
The rooms were old with a musky odor. Overpriced.
However, the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSetterV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

An amazing hotel. So much character and a choice of pools. First time I've ever had a bed more comfortable than mine at home. Really enjoyed Sunday brunch. Perfect location particularly if you want to take in live music on the strip. Anyone who loves rock music shouldn't stay anywhere else in LA - you should see the photos and will be amazed by who's stayed there. We only stayed 3 nights but would love to go back for a week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great hotel, feels like a tranquil oasis in the middle of this busy city. Location is as good as it can be in the sprawl of LA. The standard rooms are nice but if you can stretch the budget a bit opt for a poolside suite which are amazing. The pool and bar areas are the real reason to choose this hotel; really feels like you've escape the city. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a gem. Rarely do you find a place where you feel the history of Hollywood without the attitude. The staff are super friendly and the whole place feels welcoming without the pretension one might expect from such an iconic venue. I was most impressed by the beds. Felt like i was lying on clouds.. With a lovely range of pillows. Really great and I'll be back

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank plasticd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great hotel with perfect location in West Hollywood. My wife and I stayed there from April 4th to the 7th. The hotel is well maintained and the staff's attention to detail was impeccable. Only complaint was our room was just outside the elevator, so we were disturbed nightly by returning guests who obviously had too much to drink. Can't blame the hotel for that...in fact we were credited the cost of the valet parking by the hotel to help compensate for our disturbance. I thought that was a really nice gesture, especially since we didn't ask to be compensated and they were not obligated to do so. The highlight of the SM's commitment to quality and customer service was the returning of my wife's necklace which she left in the room after checkout. We called the hotel from the airport, they had the staff check the room, locate the necklace (Not Hollywood expensive, but definitely costly and precious to us), and shipped to us the next day.

Thanks Sunset Marquis for a wonderful stay and we'll definitely recommend your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What an amazing hotel tucked away on a quiet street just off Sunset Blvd. lots of amazing rock and roll history and there's even a 50 year celebration book just published in the room to prove it! We liked the fact we had to sign a disclaimer that we wouldn't party and trash the room!!(really) the bedroom was wonderful with a view of the pool and the best walk in shower ever. The staff were incredible and we would like to thank Carly, Robert and Logan for making our stay so enjoyable. The only annoying thing was having to pay for the WIFI which I think needs to be changed in this day and age. Apart from that we will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing