We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in hidden oasis”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I had a mini holiday staycation at the Sunset Marquis while my house was being renovated. I live in the neighborhood and always have enjoyed the restaurant and bar, but this was the first time I stayed in the hotel. The SM lived up to expectations - private and lovely without any pretension.

The hotel is pet friendly (small dogs only with deposit), and the beds are outrageously comfortable (best hotel bed and bedding in recent memory). The staff at the Sunset Marquis are outstanding (especially Logan), friendly, and very accommodating. The hotel is going through refurbishment, so be sure to ask for an updated room. The hotel is old Hollywood, so it has some quirks - like the small and testy elevator - but I found it charming (if you want sleek - then The London may be the hotel for you). The hallways of the main hotel could use a makeover, but the real gem of this hotel is the grounds. It is an oasis in the heart of West Hollywood.

My only complaint is that the SM charges for wifi access. It is $12 a day PER device. In my opinion, that is outrageous. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 579 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here to visit with my best friend in West Hollywood. Stayed in a villa and it was stunning. The bathroom was something only one could dream of. The toiletries were Aveda and that is 'my brand' The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The only downfall of this property (not really a downfall.) But, it was kind of hard to find, as it is nestled in a more residential area. But, that's also fabulous, because it really is an oasis in Hollywood. I would like to have seen the pool area updated a little bit, but I guess that adds to the 'old hollywood' charm of the place. I would love to afford to live fulltime at this location. It made me feel like a rockstar.

Room Tip: Villas, Villas, Villas! They are way more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldlyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

UNIQUE, FUN, ROCK'N-ROLL, POOL, BAR, SPA, FOOD, LOCATION, STAFF everything is PERFECT! I have been staying at the Sunset Marquis, since 1985, sometimes for work, sometimes on vacation, every single stay was perfect. I feel like home, the service is outstanding, my kids love it and when I am on photography assignment nothing has ever been impossible.

Room Tip: the villas are a fabulous treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

There was nothing very positive with this hotel.
Yes it was good location but only if you have car.
Rooms are updated but i am afraid still need more work.
I didn't like bathroom amenities.
Who wants mint shampoo??
And if you feel cold they bring you small portable heaters!!!( are we in 21st century??)

Hotel corridors and some of the rooms has very strange smell.(they took me to a suite room for upgrade but i couldn't stay more than a minute because of that)

I ve asked for a coffee machine and front desk lady said; Sir whole set is $15.
It means if you want coffee it is 15$..
Over all nice hotel but surely don't deserve 4.5 stars.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank traveller300000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you're going to L.A., the choices for hotels is endless. I chose the Sunset Marquis because of the location, and because I didn't want to stay at a hotel filled with young, twentysomething tourists that would wake me up at 3am each morning when they came home loud & drunk. I got what I wanted, and then some.

The Sunset Marquis is on a quiet dead end street, but very close to all of the action. It seems to have been designed to protect the privacy of its famous clientele. There is a hotel section, and a villa section. I stayed in the hotel section, and found it to be more than adequate for my needs. There were many famous types staying at the property while I was there, and everyone was nice, polite, & low key. That seems to be the vibe for the entire place.

The staff at the Sunset Marquis were all fabulous in every way. No one could have been nicer, or more helpful. The front desk staff & concierge were helpful on several occasions, the valet staff were efficient & extremely friendly as were the maids. My room didn't have much of a view, but I couldn't have care less. The room itself was perfectly clean, spacious, quiet, & comfortable - and we had 2 large screen TV's. The beds were very awesome. The bathroom was especially great - with a large shower, good products, robes, etc.. The maids did a wonderful job, and the turn down service while we were at dinner each night was a pleasant surprise.

I also used the equinox gym each day, which was located next to the hotel. My use of this huge gym was comped by the Sunset Marquis - and it was much better than using a crummy little exercise room that most hotels have. The pool looked great - but I didn't use it. And, the restaurant & rear bar was very low key & comfortable - Angel the bartender was very helpful & pleasant. Lastly, the hotel has a simply wonderful collection of photographs on display throughout the property, and in the Morrison Gallery. I could not have asked for more - and my 15 y.o. daughter, loved it too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BmoreBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We Have stayed here several times in the last year. It is such a cool place you feel famous just walking into the lobby. The outdoor areas including the restaurant are so beautiful and relaxing. You can not tell you are in the middle of a huge city. The beds are super comfortable. The bathrooms are decorated with style and great products. The room service is top notch! Great food and shopping within walking distance. And you never know who you may run in to!

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool. You can sit and relax for hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ill clear things up so you know what to really expect. - The Sunset Marquis had been around a long time - its 50 years old that being said its a 50 year old hotel thats just finishing up a
a refresh on the rooms. So if you understand that you'll get an idea of what s going on there. It appears they are almost finished with the interior rooms but work still going on. The exterior front is dated but dont let that scare you. If you get a new room youll be pleased. Beds are better than great! Some rooms face the pool an it can get noisy when people are hanging out but that ends not too late. The hotel is in a pretty good location. The back area at night is beyond beautiful by the restaurant - its a must see even if to have just drinks. The rest of the hotel is a little dank - yes i said it because its true. The pool well its fair at best. Location - Not as good as the London in my opinion but good as you are off Sunset Boulevard and you can walk to restaurants, shops, and Melrose.The restaurant is excellent. The Bar 1200 has great whiskey selection if your into that and is small. Some nights its busy some nights its dead. Overall I recommend this hotel if in the area or the london those are your best choices. But the Sunset Marquis is definitely more old Hollywood the London more modern. Its all what you like.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herbert_Tabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,740 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,098 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,062 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,040 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $335 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing