We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked a one bedroom suite for two nights. The photos on their website are misleading, taken from creative angles, and showcase the Villa part of the property. The front buildings and pool area (which conveniently aren't pictured on the website) have been treated to a poor quality HGTV makeover. The front desk staff was incredibly nice and apologetic that my expectations were not met. Poor value at this price point.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onesweetlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Onesweetlife,

Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had while staying at Sunset Marquis. It is always our goal to provide the best accommodations and service levels possible, and we are sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this stay.

As we continue the renovations we will address each and every aspect of the rooms to ensure they meet the highest standards. And once completed, we will load all new images of the hotel. For yours and others convenience, we do currently have images loaded for both suites and villas on our site, under the accommodations tab, as well as on our booking engine. It is certainly not our intention to mislead guests with the images displayed on our site, but simply to share with them "some" of the aspects they might find appealing. Unlike most hotels in the area, we offer the opportunity for guests to experience the wonderful weather that is representative of Southern California by virtue of our gardens, indoor/outdoor restaurant and two outdoor heated pools. Our goal is simply to convey these assets via imagery.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value and appreciate all feedback as it allows us the insight necessary to continue working toward our goal of offering the absolute best hotel experience in the area.

Warm regards,

Sunset Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    129
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
196
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location. Just steps away from great restaurants on Sunset Boulevard near Sunset Plaza. Quiet neighborhood street that is residential. We took some sightseeing tours and the stops for the busses are near our hotel off Sunset. Nice pool atmosphere, quaint hotel that was pretty quiet and convenient. Staff was very helpful with our questions about restaurants to try, etc. Cost was decent for this area. Very glad we chose this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveenemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hidden among and below the towers of West Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis is an oasis within the LA city concrete jungle. Located on a dead-end street with no traffic, there is little indication that beyond the entrance lies a welcome break from the Southern California chaos, a moment of solitude between power meetings or heavy duty touring. The restaurant is lovely and the food tasty. The hotel service is top notch, impeccable – how can every staff member be in such a good mood all the time? The rooms are outfitted with embracing beds…that is, beds that embrace the weary traveler and will not let go. My traveling companion simply refused to get up and out of bed in the morning – I watched her attitude change perceptively (yes, for the better!) as she collapsed onto that marvelous sleep surface. And the towels are the softest, fluffiest I have ever experienced in a hotel. Bed and towels and location and peace…who could ask for more? Well, I could and can: where is the in-room coffee service? Where is the Nespresso machine, where is the Mr. Coffee maker? I really must have my caffeine privately to successfully meet the day and I don’t want it delivered by room service. So, hint to the management: in-room coffee service, please, even if you think it gauche and beneath your high standards. Trust me, it is neither – it is a necessary convenience. Take a poll, you’ll see. Still five stars but with a little luster off the fifth one for the missing coffee…

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel and wish it was more to be honest, we got a superior suite which was huge and had really comfy beds, the view out of the window wasn't much to right home about but that doesn't really matter to me.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had 2 sinks, the shower was amazing and was set in the roof, you could have put several people in the cubicle as it was huge and it even had a ledge for you to sit on.

The hotel itself has alot of greenary and is very pretty, it is a very relaxing place, with nice attentive staff and a great bar, it wasn't as expensive as i thought.

The entrance to the hotel is on a hill and if you go up the hill you end up on Sunset Plaza, which has a few restaurants and shops, including H&M, I would recommend Caffe Primo, the food was gorgeous and reasonably priced, its open for Breakfast and Dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmithexpotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ok... its a bit cheeky, I know. Its not just the comfy beds that simulate sleeping on a cloud or the attentive staff that can't do enough or location, location, location (Sunset Blvd - West Hollywood). This Hotel has it all. Two pools, a spa, a restaurant, bar, little nooks & crannies to read, relax, work/play. A Koi pond - Equinox Gym across the street. Its borderline ridiculous how comfortable it is. And the best rock n roll art work - ever - for sale. Recording studio below - if you must. Attention to detail is there too - Beluga Vodka (check), Stevia sweetener (check), Cliff bars at the concierge desk (check). Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vobonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
vobonline,

Thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed the stay and had a chance to appreciate the new artwork throughout the hotel, appropriately procured through our newest addition to the hotel, the Morrison Hotel Gallery in our lobby. We're very proud of our heritage and to have 2 excellent partners on site including the Gallery and Nightbird Studios in our underground.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Stay BOSTON STRONG!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My family & I stayed 2 nights as we were in town for a documentary film premiere party at the Whisky and this is, without a second thought, our new home while in LA which we visit at least once per year.

We stayed in a Junior Villa, 901. The staff think of everything far before you ever want/need it. We first met Logan who was incredibly accommodating and full of great conversation that welcomes you to the Marquis. The staff made my wife and little boy feel like we were at home. Hernan and our 2 year old made friends immediately and he loves walking through the lobby to see his new buddy!

The Junior Villa was incredible! It's surely worth the few extra dollars to have, basically, a 5 star luxurious Mediterranean style apartment to yourself. It's tucked away off of Sunset and is totally not accessible unless you are looking for it. Privacy is a non-issue.

Junior Villa 901 is at the far corner from the front of the hotel and we wouldn't have had it any other way. We had the opportunity to walk through the gardens several times each day.

I forgot to pack two pair of my wife's shoes and they were kind enough to go locate them and FedEx them to us! How is that for post stay service?

The history of the hotel and our deep love of music couldn't have been a better match and the celebrity guests seemed to be an everyday occurrence.

Highly recommended! DO NOT stay in LA without staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahsPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear NoahsPops,

Thank you very much for the review. I know Logan and Hernan will appreciate the compliments and they are indeed, outstanding ambassadors for Sunset Marquis. We pride ourselves on excellent service and although we're not always perfect, we certainly strive to be.

So glad you enjoyed the villa and walking through our gardens. We believe this is what sets us apart from the "big box, high-res" area hotels, all very nice in their own right as well, just...different!

Thank you again for high regards and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in March in one of the villa suites. The room was very nice, well appointed and clean. The beds were incredible! The hotel is quiet and very central. The walk through the jasmine and gardenia scented garden to our room was lovely. Would stay there agwin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#9 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing