We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden and restful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely garden and restful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in March in one of the villa suites. The room was very nice, well appointed and clean. The beds were incredible! The hotel is quiet and very central. The walk through the jasmine and gardenia scented garden to our room was lovely. Would stay there agwin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    129
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
196
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is a hidden gem in West Hollywood. The service was unparallelled from the moment you step into the lobby. Complimentary drink upon arrival and warm hostess.
We were pleasantly surprised to receive free room service shortly after settling in to our villa, that included a wine/cheese/fruit spread!! Everyone here is super friendly and accommodating and the grounds are beautiful. There is an adorable foot bridge over a Koi pond and several small, outdoor lounge areas. The hotel room itself was spectacular and the bathroom was right out of a magazine.

All in all well worth the money if you are looking to get pampered.

*Also a great place to spot celebrities*

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirena2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Usually stay at 5 star hotels in LA, but like many travelers these days, needed to find a more moderately priced alternative. Took a chance on Sunset Marquis and was pleasantly surprised. It delivers an authentic LA experience. Combination of young cool LA crowd, tourists, and business travelers. Laid back feeling, nicely landscaped grounds hidden away from the street. Terrific bathrooms and amenities. Service, although always prompt and pleasant, could have been a little sharper, but after a while, it feels like a natural part of the vibe. I'll return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was just an overnight stay, but I would recommend this as an excellent place to stay. It is on a dead end street so traffic is minimal and the whole staff was friendly. It was also quite quiet at night, and with it's location, you would not expect that. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: We were away from the pool and I think that was the reason our room was very quiet even on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Logan. Olivia. Greg. I know the names of these Sunset Marquis employees because they are worth remembering.

From check-in to check-out, there was not a single moment that I wasn't completely satisfied with my first-ever (and certainly not last-ever) stay at Sunset Marquis. The owners and the staff at this exceptional property take great pride in the historic hotel with which they are connected, and take great satisfaction in ensuring that their guests feel that same pride.

RESTAURANT, which dwells in an oasis of foliage, was a delight to walk into for the very first time. The ambience in the restaurant is at once both exquisite and relaxed. There is none of the pretentiousness that one might find at other high-end hotel restaurants, yet there is an air of professionalism from the staff. The food was exceptional. I highly recommend the Peking Duck with beet couscous if it's still on the menu when you visit. Our waiter, Greg, was both pleasant and knowledgeable. I regret that we didn't get back there on our second night to utilize his services again.

Logan's enthusiasm is unparalleled. This bellman has got to be one of the friendliest, most interesting, and most accommodating I have ever met. I would love to have a beer with this guy. On the morning of day two, he brought us downstairs to visit Nightbird Studios. My musician friend who was in my company was enthralled and impressed.

Before arriving in L.A., I had reserved a very specific car from a rental agency. When they called in the morning and advised that they'd be extending the rental with the person who already had it, Logan suggested that I walk to Olivia in the concierge office to see if she could help. Not only did she find me the exact same model with another agency, but she got them to offer it at the sale rate that I had previously booked at. Vroom!

Having just spent the previous few nights RV camping in the desert for Coachella, the refinement that Sunset Marquis offered was very welcome. From the delicious bed, to the oversized shower, to the gorgeous artwork that pervades the property, this really is a wonderful spot to clean up.

I've never really had much of a draw to L.A. While I know that there's plenty there, it simply has not been at the top of my list of places to visit. With my first stay at Sunset Marquis under my belt, I'm excited to go back. With this exceptional property as my home base, I am now much more intrigued to give the area some exploration.

I stayed in the hotel proper, and specifically in room 208. It's a renovated room that offers a ton of room and very nice finishes. With the oversized and recessed balcony, you can get yourself a very nice room without having to spring for the villas if they are beyond your needs or wallet.

Room Tip: I loved room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hesitate to write this review, as I am afraid everyone will stay here, and I will have trouble getting a reservation in the future! This hotel is a small quaint hotel on a dead end street just off of Sunset Blvd. The pool is lovely, the pool bartender is great and we really enjoyed the restaurant. The rooms are lovely, we were on the third floor with a pool view. The only thing this room was lacking was a coffee maker. Turn down service in the evening is a nice surprise, with chocolates!

Room Tip: I think the villas are more recently remodeled, so if it is in your budget, go for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everything I've written in my previous review still holds true. As time goes on, this hotel continues to be a perfect Easter destination. For four years in a row, we've held our own impromptu Easter egg hunt in the delightful villa gardens (all supplies for the Easter Bunny bought down the block at CVS). This is not a "family" hotel, but Sunset Marquis' staff are wonderfully welcoming and accommodating toward kids. This year our son (age 8) got a great amenity gift and a really fun Passport in which he was asked to explore various areas of the hotel to collect stamps and goodies. Really fun for him. And we've continued to delight in the Easter buffet. Pricey, yes. But with bottomless mimosas, 8 lavish tables of food, omelet bar, leg of lamb, sushi display, king crab, 4 kinds of caviar and the kindest, most casual & friendly staff you'll ever meet... this is well worth it. As far as the rooms, get a villa, it's worth it. The serene, calm & comfort are worth every penny. We are also a giant fan of room service... the dining areas in the villas are comfy just like home. The staff will set up the table for you to enjoy some great family time without the hassle of cooking or cleaning. Food is delicious! Of course, you'll see famous people here, but that's not the point. The point is, you'll be treated like a celebrity no matter who you are. We truly love this place and plan on making it an annual destination for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
AWhitby,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your family and children did too. Oh wait! You brought kids?!?! I thought we weren't kid-friendly! But we have a program for kids? No way! :) Just kidding. We do love to see families join us at Sunset Marquis though. Please help us overcome that mean stereotype!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#9 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing