We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockstar Heaven!”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rockstar Heaven!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at the Sunset, we had a suite and room connected. Unfortunately we did not have the pleasure of staying in a renovated room so the bathroom was pokey and falling apart :(, but none the less we were more than comfortable. The Rooms have very comfortable beds (kids said like sleeping on clouds) and awesome blockout curtains (yeah sleep ins). My 3 children were made to feel like "rockstars" the duration of our stay, thanks to the kid friendly staff and the kids rock program and I love that the staff are attentive without being over the top. The property is a pleasant oasis and the kids loved feeding the fish while we waited for breakie to be served. Overall we had a very chilled out time at the Sunset thanks guys!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room (not sure when the whole hotel will be complete)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    133
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
202
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sunset Marquis once again in January and still think that it is a true gem. It is so serene and beautiful. The ambiance is one of total relaxation. The service is outstanding in that everyone is so genuinely friendly and cares to do everything possible to make your stay the most enjoyable. The pool and gardens are paradise and complete the overall peacefulness of the property. It was not crowded at all on this, my second visit. The massage at the spa was one of the very best that I have had. The room service and restaurant food is excellent and is served with a genuine smile. Service is very efficient and friendly. The rooms are not luxurious, but are comfortable and well supplied. The entire property is well maintained and super clean. I will only stay at the Sunset Marquis when visiting West Hollywood!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access directly to a small patio with lounge chairs for the pool. The pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stkincheloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in one of the villas which was quiet and very large with two balcony's and a huge bathroom. It was tucked away a little and with all the plants outside, a little dark but I didn't really mind as it was so sunny the minute you stepped out. The breakfast was consistently good but the buffet could have been a bit more and the staff always helpful and friendly. The setting is like a little oasis with well tended plants and two pools to choose from. It has a great central, West Hollywood location too. Well worth it if you have the cash to spare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champery, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travel a great deal for work, always have, and this is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere - and that's stayed true across 24 years of visiting and staying there. It is physically an oasis of green, with palm, banana, and other tropical trees surrounding the buildings; you would never know you are in LA (a good thing...), yet you are steps away from all the nightlife you can handle on the Sunset Strip. It is the kind of place where you run into old friends you haven't seen in years (and wish you had), and meet new ones. Food, service, rooms - all excellent. The Spa, unlike almost every hotel spa you will find, would actually be a standout spa all on its own with extremely skilled and professional staff across the gamut of services. The food is excellent and there's a good variety that should suit any palate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Sunset Marquis and it is always a great experience. We stay here as we have family who live nearby and find it to be a great location. It is convenient to 3rd Street and which is nice to take a walk down and check out the local shops when I stay.

The staff are very professional, the hotel has a great feel to it and it is more interesting than a generic upmarket chain hotel. We had a guitar delivered to the hotel from New York and the hotel took great care of it until we returned on the way home. Jorge on the door is good fun and always looks after us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The restaurant at the hotel is beautiful and feels like an oasis, rooms in the main hotel are clearly ageing but spacious and service is great. Loved being able to walk to
Sunset and lie by the pool without a 'scene' going on around. The villa room we had was too dark and the hotel definately has its own vibe which is not the super marble hotel feel of so many others inLA.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of road trip up the coast of California. I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read here. We had the junior suite and it was okay. The hotel gave excellent service from the moment we drove up to the valet. One of the guys even went over everything in our room. We had a fairly large bathroom in our suite. The bed is SUPER comfortable. You cannot beat the location of the hotel. It is walking distance to great places on Sunset Blvd. You will not regret staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesushi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,006 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing