We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Although well located, this property is definitely not a five star. It is getting somewhat threadbare and worn out. I stayed in a 2 room suite. The lighting is terrible, particularly in the bedroom. The carpets and the sofa look shabby. When we checked in the A/C sounded like a cannon and there was a distinct mildew smell. The front desk sent up an engineer but it still smelled. The hotel was full making it difficult to move. They serve coffee in the lobby but take it away promptly at 7:30 am, how about leaving it until 8? Are they losing that much money on coffee? The one kudo I can give the hotel is a really lovely staff. If they get the place refurbished it could be a lovely place.

Room Tip: Since I did not stay in a suite I would suspect those are nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonHoleSkiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marquis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 571 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times (at least 8 that I can count). Obviously, we love it. We always stay in the villas rather than the main building (we've only stayed in the main building once) and can say with some authority they have everything you need/want in a room. Even if you can't afford a villa, stay here, the main building rooms are a great value for the money. Service here is very personal and friendly. I've never seen a place where the valet has your car up so fast (thanks preston!). This is a real WeHo location--right off of Sunset easy walking distance to Sunset Plaza etc. The great thing is that it's also on a very quiet street so sleep isn't a problem (unless you have partying neighbors, which did happen to us once). Musicians stay here alot and during our visits we have seen Jeff Beck, Steven Tyler, Gavin DeGraw and others. (Also spotted Andre Agassi, who is quite a bit taller than you might think just fyi). Chateau Marmont is fun for the experience (we have stayed there as well) but this place is just better all the way around.

Room Tip: Try to score a villa if you can. If you're in the main building in a suite, ask for the one on t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I spent only 2 nights here but they were unforgettable. Loved the rock'n'roll atmosphere and the spacious, modern rooms. Definately want to go back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thanks for your review! This is what we like to hear most, of course! As for the rock n roll atmosphere, if you like it, and are looking to return to Sunset Marquis, keep an eye on our web site for when we start Live @ Sunset Marquis again, around the end of April time frame. We invite "up and coming" artists to perform at our villa pool, and it is a lot of fun if you are into emerging music. Look at the links along the top under "Art and Music" in March to see when the next session begins.

For those of you not familiar with Sunset Marquis and are reading this review, we are indeed regarded as a rock n roll hotel, but don't be intimidated by that terminology. We are a very laid-back hotel, spread out over 3.5 acres of lush landscaping, and everyone is welcome to kick back, relax and enjoy the spaces.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We recently held our Quarterly Management Meeting at the Sunset Marquis. We used a one-bedroom Villa which accommodated our 7 participants perfectly. I was able to stay in the room the night before while setting up the meeting. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, walking through the gardens to our room. Service was great, dinner in the "Restaurant" was delicious and we very much enjoyed our experience. We often recommend this property to our clients.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you, Micki, for posting your review on TA. We certainly appreciate your feedback and, of course, all the referrals you make to your clients. Obviously we wouldn't be as successful as we are without the support of Corniche Travel and the rest of the travel arrangers out there around the world.

Thank you for having your meeting at the property as well, and we look forward to welcoming you (and your clients!) back to Sunset Marquis very soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked a junior villa for four nights and called prior to make sure our room was in a quiet location not near our friends room we were traveling with. Sure enough our room was below their room so we asked to switch. We were moved to another junior suite and this time there were kids above us yelling and banging around before we went to bed and then again at 7am which woke us up. We were furious and asked to move to another room. They only had one bedroom villa suites available which we switched to but had to pay an additional cost! They were aware of the family above us and why they put them on the second floor instead of the ground floor clearly did not make sense.

Besides having trouble with the location of rooms we found the rooms were very dark. Their is only one window which is blocked by trees and the lighting is really poor. The bathroom lighting was horrific, they did not do a good job designing these villas. We checked out after two nights and moved to The London Hotel. We have stayed there before but wanted to try the Marquis. The London is really much better as well as price Really disappointing stay at the marquis

We checked out and moved to the London for the remainder of our tr

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1346hp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am truly sorry to hear your stay wasn't more enjoyable. Obviously, as attributable to so many very positive reviews already listed on TA, I hope you realize your stay was far from typical. Sunset Marquis always strives to deliver the utmost in service and convenience. It appears we weren't able to satisfy you on this trip, but I do hope the London Hotel was able to meet your needs.

I realize you brought the noise disturbance issue to the attention our staff and unfortunately we were not able to accommodate you better due to high occupancy. And with respect to the lighting, this is of course a personal preference, but we do understand some of our guests want brighter lighting. In these instances we will deploy our maintenance staff to install brighter light bulbs if requested.

Regardless, we do apolgize for not being able to satisfy your desires in a hotel stay, but thank you for giving us the opportunity.

Warm regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We returned to our favorite hotel recently: the Sunset Marquis! And, again, they stayed true to their mission, stellar customer service, remarkably clean rooms, pleasant atmosphere, and high quality food. This time I took the time to observe other guest being served, the staff is very consistent; it's an experience of utter bliss.

Room Tip: Haven't had an unpleasant room thus far after several stays at the Sunset Marquis. We highly re...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I love the Sunset.

I've stayed here a number of times over the years and each time I come back you feel your blood pressure dropping as you walk through the door.

It's like being home.

Although the rooms are probably not the most luxurious rooms I've ever stayed in, everything is to a high standard.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they always treat you like a returning friend, not a guest.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atomic_Rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,706 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,021 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,947 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $346 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing