We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We have just returned from our second stay in the Ramada in two years, and once again it was Great. Sure it isnt the greatest Place i have stayed in BUT location and value for money is second to none. The Staff once again were very helpful and friendly. We will definately be returning to the U.S. again and will be staying at the Ramada. I have no idea why people can write negative reviews, they obviously don't travel too much. To be able to stay in West Hollywood for the prices they charge is incredible. Thanks again Ramada.. We'll definately be back !!!! and we have also recommended you to a lot of our friends in Australia !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopoholicAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    867
    610
    223
    201
See reviews for
377
651
330
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The Ramada Plaza West Hollywood served as a good base for exploring LA. We liked this hotel because it provided a quality room at a good price. It’s located in a central, non-touristy part of LA. The area around the hotel had a lot of amenities and an interesting street scene. We enjoyed staying here for a week in October 2010.

The reception staff were efficient, pleasant and obliging.

Our room was large, almost upscale and clean. Two large very comfortable beds.

The bathroom was large, although not ultra-modern. Hot high-pressure shower.

We had a French balcony (with a view of a car park). Not all rooms have this though.

A huge TV was mounted on the wall, the largest I’ve ever seen at a hotel.

A safe (for a fee). Fridge. Coffee maker, supplied each day with free coffee.

Free wifi.

They don’t do breakfast here, but we enjoyed breakfast at the Bistro just outside the hotel. And we loved the IHOP.

The hotel has a small pool with lounge chairs. The gym at the hotel is a typical hotel gym, so you’ll probably end up at the gym across the road (which was under renovation when we were there in October 2010).

One huge bonus for us was the laundry room located just down the hallway. It cost us about 5 euros to do a load of laundry and the reception provided the necessary coins.

Many of the people staying at the hotel are attractive young people, many gay, which gave it all some festive appeal. We didn’t see a lot of children or older people there, but there were some. It is a Ramada, after all.

This hotel seems to cater to the young and the young at heart. I wouldn’t call it a party hotel, but it’s the kind of hotel where “do not disturb” signs were hanging on many doors until around noon. We sympathised with the cleaning staff.

A few downsides: The elevators are little slow. The TV volumes are all set to have a maximum, but even so we could hear our neighbours’ TV when they thoughtlessly left it on all night. We could also occasionally hear people in the room above us. Also, our room didn’t have a lot of drawer space or table space.

Parking is rather expensive at the hotel by anyone’s standards (20 euros), but we just parked down the road at the car park on Hancock St, where it was under 10 euros a night.

A few words about the immediate area around the Ramada Plaza…

In a city so utterly dependent on the automobile and the mall, it was nice to be staying at a hotel in a non-touristy area with a bit of interesting and safe street life and situated within an easy walk of amenities.

We didn’t have to drive everywhere. Bank machines, coffee shops, convenience shops, pharmacies, car hire, restaurants, snack places, etc. – all of this was just a few metres away. Not all amenities were available, however: for example, it would have been nice to have a good bookstore, department store or cinema near the hotel. This isn’t an area with everything, but there was enough to make things easy and interesting.

There were quite a few restaurants in the area. Most of these places were very affordable from a European perspective. The portions were huge and the food generally excellent. There is an IHOP within walking distance, a classic American breakfast place. We enjoyed Koo Koo Roo, Tender Greens, Yogurt Stop. Formal dining and fast food options were also available. There were too many restaurants in the area for us to check them all out within a week.

All this makes this hotel an interesting option for people seeing LA on foot. The bus stops near the hotel door. The nearest metro station is about 3 kms away (Hollywood/Highland). The taxi to Hollywood and Vine from here costs about 7 euros.

The neighbourhood around the hotel is a gay area, but it didn’t really feel that way. It had a suburban, residential feel with a large busy central street. The street was lined with typical LA businesses, some of them gay-oriented but by no means all. At one corner down the road there was a concentration of gay bars. This whole corner became active in the evening. Also, the Starbucks near this hotel is surely the gayest Starbucks in the world. I didn’t see anything that I would consider to be even remotely risqué or inappropriate for children. No sex shops, for example. It’s not a seedy area at all.

This West Hollywood hotel puts you pretty well in the centre of it all. This hotel is near the corner of Santa Monica Blvd and La Cienega. Bevery Hills, Santa Monica and Venice Beach are in one direction; Hollywood another; Sunset Drive, the hills and Universal Studios theme park another.

A number of interesting places were within a very easy drive, including an upscale shopping centre (Beverly Center), a Sunday street market on Melrose Place, Rodeo Drive, and so on. We were there a week and couldn’t see it all.

LA is a huge city and there are many interesting options for where to stay. No matter what you choose, you’re going to end up doing a lot of driving (if you’ve hired a car). The driving on LA streets can be busy during peak hours, but mostly it was just easy and interesting.

One downside of this hotel is that there is no motorway nearby. You have to drive a few kilometres to get to the Hollywood Freeway (101) or the Santa Monica Freway (10; La Cienega exit). We didn’t mind this so much though, because we enjoyed exploring the city while driving around.

Looking back on it, I think an alternative area to base yourself would be Santa Monica. We really enjoyed that area. However, it’s at one of side of the city and we would have ended up driving around a lot more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
I think you covered all of the bases, thank you for a very comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I checked in the Ramada Plaza on October 31 for one night only. But I actually only stayed in the dump for 7 hours. Halloween is a busy time for all the hotels in West Holllywood. I have been booking rooms there on Halloween night for the last 5 years. This is the first time I stayed here and it will be the last. Customer service stopped when the sink in my room would no longer drain and the toilet would not stop running. I guess I should have expected this when I first walked into the executive suite to see a very dark room with minimal lighting and a window overlooking the beautiful aging roof. I attempted to call anyone at the front desk and anyone in the hotel for some type of acknowledgement but forget it. When I made it down to the front desk I was given the excuse, "we are busy." The funny thing was, while I was standing there none of the phones were ringing...hmmm. For a hotel that charges 27.00 for parking, two extremely slow elevators, views of roofs in the executive suites, poor customer service, and front desk phones that seem not to work, this hotel should be charging motel 6 rates. Less than one block away is the Chamberlain, which is a nice hotel with much more class. So don't bother with a headache at the Ramada Plaza when there are much better places to stay in West Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
You are correct that Halloween is a very busy time in West Hollywood. In fact, the event take place right in front our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that our staff did not meet your expectation(s).

There is no excuse not to have your issues addressed in an efficient an effective manner.

Regarding parking charges, West Hollywood is not an inexpensive city to park and most hotels charge the same or exceed our overnight parking rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Hollywood hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The hotel has been updated. The Foyer is clean with modern comfortable decor. This is a value for money hotel in a great location. The bus stop is close and takes you to Santa Monica Beach and also into the Hollywood blvd. Rodeo drive is also a quick bus ride away. The rooms are clean and big enough and the decor all good. Not top notch but not awful either. Front desk staff were excellent. Couldn't have been more helpful. And same for Concierge who booked our tours with pick up out the front.

We have a girl (16) and 2 boys (14 & 10) old who's eyes were wide open in this completely Gay area. They soon came to embrace the whole scene and they loved the local pump it yourself yogurt shop with flavours like "I'm coming out" etc. Husband was less impressed but soon got over himself. I loved it - The food, music and interiors of the local restaurant/bars are excellent. We felt welcome and very safe as a family staying there. Pool average but we were out everyday. Great laundry and vending machines if you need a quick snack. I'd stay there again. Rooms were quiet and cleaned daily.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Your kind words are very much appreciated.

West Hollywood is also a very safe pedistrian community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Hotel looks beautiful. Rooms are very small. We ordered a cot and there was hardly room to open it. The cot was just horrible. I complained but did not receive any action.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamanrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the cot. We will certainly look into the condition of the rollaway beds. As a rule, we replace these on a regular basis to ensure the quality is good.

Our rooms wilt double-double beds are a little more difficult to use the rollaway since there are 2 beds in the room already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

After I read some of the reviews I didn't know what to expect? Either it was going to be really great or really terrible or somewhere in-between. I am here to say that this hotel is a true West Hollywood gem! Very unique identity that you just do not find much today. The staff was excellent and helpful. They even let me check in much earlier than 3PM which they didn't have to do I booked a "Loft Suite" which was really cool. It has a separate living room at the entry with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave oven and sink. The bathroom was nice and also located at the entry level. The staircase up to the bedroom made it feel like a small loft apartment. The bed was very comfortable accompanied by mirrors on the side wall, large flat screen TV and a ceiling fan. The decorations were modern and the cleanliness was acceptable. I read some complaints about the parking of $27 per day. Hey! it's West Hollywood! Try staying overnight in San Francisco and paying $60! Parking anywhere in a city isn't cheap and this is no exception. All in all, this hotel really Rocks! If you want a nice accessible home base in West Hollywood you came to the right place!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaliRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
We think it "Rocks" too, thanks again for your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed here with 5 friends in August and was very happy with this hotel. We were only there 2 days so I didn't get to check out the pool, and although not fancy the rooms were very neat and clean, the staff (including the cleaning staff) were all very helpful and friendly. There are laundry facilities for patrons to do their own washing and they have a small bar downstairs but no restaurant that I'm aware of, although it is definitely not needed as there were a number of places close to the hotel that were great. The small mexican bar across the road is a must if you like a decent margharita!! Good fun staff too.
The location of this hotel is excellent and if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk you can get to Beverly Hills shopping centre, Sunset Boulevard and a number of good outlets without too much fuss. Some really interesting shops on this strip also. Not too far rom Rodeo Drive either if you like a decent walk or a 5 minute taxi drive.
I did come across a couple of small beetles (didn't look like roaches to me and I lived in Queensland for a time so I know what they look like unless they are an American breed!) but I don't believe there is much you can do about the odd insect. As for bed bugs....6 of us didn't have a problem and a couple of my friends are very, very fussy clean freaks so there definitely was nothing like that ino our experience.
If you aren't looking for luxury I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay!

Our location is excellent and if you can get to Beverly Hills, Sunset Boulevard and Hollywood quickly and easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,664 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
367 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
865 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites

Property: Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Address: 8585 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Wyndham, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing