We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ramada Plaza Hotel. I stayed there on the recommendation of a friend. I could not have been happier. It's a great hotel in a great location and at a great price. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the housekeeping services were great. The shower pressure was the BEST I have ever had in all my years of traveling! A nice surprise. We used the pool and it was a nice size, clean and warm and open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. There isn't a bar or restaurant "in" the hotel but there is a great restaurant practically attached to the hotel. There is also a Starbucks two minutes away. The location was great - it was our first trip to LA and we went all over and it was very easy to get to the highways, to Hollywood and downtown LA from there. We walked around at night and I felt COMPLETELY safe in the neighborhood. There are a ton of restaurants, bars and shops in the area. The fitness room is kinda small if you are into that - but there is a 24-Hour Fitness right across the street. I will definitely be back and will recommend it to all of my friends visiting the LA area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It sounds like you had a wonderful time while in Los Angeles.

Our new restaurant, Kitchen 24 has just opened and provides breakfast, lunch and dinner. It features a wonderful pation area and will be open 24 hours a day. They also will provide room service to our hotel guests.

Its also very convenient to have Starbucks on-site to have a nice cup of coffee or an expresso drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    867
    610
    223
    201
See reviews for
377
651
330
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel looks like a weird set piece from the film “Ruthless People” (retro ‘80s Bette Midler film). The layout is awkward, the parking is bizarre (and confusing), the lobby is uninviting. Nevertheless, despite a telephone mounted on a wall so close to the toilet that it’s hard to get a perch, I slept fairly well and was relatively comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for wireless codes if using more than 2 devices. Second floor rooms have an off-limits “balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalPeoplesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Interesting comment, the layout is different, but that's primarily due to the design accommodate our on-site retail locations.

The parking is straight forward. As you enter the hotel you enter the parking structure. The lobby is located adjacent to the parking structure. A valet attendant is present as you enter the parking area. If any assistance is required to park your vehicle, the attendant is available 24 hours a day. A guest can self park or at no additional fee or they can have the attendant park their vehicle for them. The fee for overnight parking is $27 per night, which is slightly below the average price for parking at most West Hollywood hotels.

I'm not sure where or what an "off limit" balcony is, however, its always a good idea to close your windows when you leave your guestroom. A few of our 2nd floor rooms have balconies adjacent to the pool area.

The LG air conditioning units we offer are one of the quietest units available in the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Considering the location and the price of all the other nearby hotels, I cant really complain.

I was going to BOA on Fri and a show at the troubador on sat, so wanted somewhere relatively close to avoid spending a fortune in taxis. Not a bad place. It was clean and appeared well taken care of. The front desk was friendly. The young guy helping us could stand to learn a little more about the area as he didnt seem to know anything about the area, but he was nice so it was no big deal.

As others have pointed out, if your homophobic, you may not want to stay in this area. I havent really spent much time in W Hollywood, so I ddnt realize this was the gay district. With that said, Im not homophobic and I was with my girlfriend, so it didnt bother me at all, but I would hate to see someone give this hotel a bad review for their prejudices.

I dont know about the hotel restaurant, but kitchen 24 just opened next door and their food is pretty good. Expect a wait, especially for late breakfast/brunch though. You may want to give them a couple months to get their act together though, the service was painfully slow and I think that was the biggest contributor to the wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza Hotel is centrally located and is convenient to restaurants, entertainment venues and shopping in both West Hollywood and Los Angeles.

The restaurant, Kitchen 24 has just opened and they have received an overwhelming response from both hotel guests and local residents.. Demand, especially on the weekends has been very high, so management is making the necessary adjustments to accommodate the high traffic volume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I didn't have a car, but I did take note of the 27 dollar and change parking rates, which seem pretty steep, even by LA standards. The room we had on the 4th floor was clean and fairly quiet.

There was no bar in the hotel that I could see.

The location of the hotel was a big plus. Walking distance to many places, and right on Santa Monica Blvd so we took a bus to the beach one day.

Theres a newer restaurant that has opened next door to the hotel called Kitchen24. (But it's not open 24 hours)

Room Tip: rooms facing the rear may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This review is coming almost two years too late, apologizing for the delay. Some of my comments may be 'outdated' but going off of recent pics and other reviews I believe mine are still valid.

The location is awesome, near the Hollywood hills, close to Sunset Blvd, the AWESOME Beverly shopping Centre, and several restaurants and clubs.

The hotel is surrounded by palm trees and unique architecture, colourful paints and a nice pool outback. The only downfall is the parking price, as other reviews suggest it is expensive, as to be expected for such a high demand area.

The rooms are nice. The unique feature about our room was a microphone light mounted on the wall, given the Hollywood location. Flatscreen tv's and big comfy beds are standard here. Bathrooms are decent, nothing extravagant but sufficient.

It's all about location, this property is close to literally everything. We stayed two nights here and used it as a home base when travelling to Universal Studios, the Walk of fame and the shopping centres closeby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaEdmontonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Yes, your comments are still relevant and accurate.

Parking in West Hollywood, as in most urban locations is not inexpensive, however our prices are very competitive and below most of the hotels in the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a girlfriend of mine for 4 nights. Check in was a breeze and staff were very friendly. The first evening we were starving and realized that there werent many restaurants in the area and the ones which were around were pretty bad or were closed. We ended up at the hotel resto which looks very cute. The food on the other hand was pretty horrible. Both mine and my friend's chicken was burnt and tasteless. We would've sent it back, however the staff was pretty busy and noone even bothered to check if we were doing ok. Seems like they could use a few more waiters. Also, their cupcakes were sold out during peak dinner time! Anways the room was bigger than expected and very nice. I was quite pleased. And yes the lighting was horrendus...hotel management PLEASE fix this. Not fun getting dressed up in the dark.
Visitors please make a note- The hotel is in the Gay district. My friend and I had no clue and so on our first night we wanted to check out the clubs in the area and of course all we saw were the gay clubs. We didnt quite fit in :S On the plus side staying here was quite safe for two ladies!
For the price, I do suggest that the hotel include some basics such as a bar/lounge, better pool, tea bags in the room and room service. Its not exactly super cheap to stay here so it would be nice to be spoiled a little.
Staff were wonderful, specifically our concierge Josee. Very helpful and always smilling. All in all not too bad

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebeloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. It opened only a few days ago and I know the restaurant management are addressing the issues you mentioned.

Regarding hotel guestroom lighting, the hotel is reviewing this issue and exploring options to correct it.

The hotel is located in a friendly, walkable community and is located -2- blocks from Sunset Blvd. Night clubs, both gay and straight are in close proximity to the hotel.

The restaurant features a full bar and room service is schedule to begin in the next 10-14 days.

Regarding value, the hotel is priced very competitively and offers very good value for money.

I glad to hear the staff provided good customer service, espcially Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

In the heart of west Hollywood this hotel is fantastic value. Walking distance to many bars, restaurants and even the Beverly Centre(big shopping mall). Clean spacious rooms, good value for this area. Only ouch is $27 per night parking, but parking is at a premium in this area.
Friendly staff, free Wifi, great restaurant next door.
Back rooms definitely quieter.

Room Tip: Back room quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our location is central and offers very good value for what you pay.

I'm glad you enjoyed our new restaurant, Kitchen 24, it is very popular and a great addition to the property.

The overnight parking rate is still below what is charged by many of our competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,664 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
367 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
865 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites

Property: Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Address: 8585 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing