We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fantastic views of Sunset Strip'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Last time we stated at this hotel was before the extensive refurbishment it has received some years ago.
Our room was over looking 'Sunset Strip' fantastic views.
The 'huge' bed was very comfy
The 'riot house' bar lacked atmosphere we went during 'happy hour' and were the only two people there!
Over our stay was very good, reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for staying at Andaz West Hollywood and for taking the time to share your feedback. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Andaz West Hollywood was a really cool hotel with a really nice staff. The rooms are spacious and the service is top notch. The cleaning staff was very thorough and quick. The roof top pool is the one of the best features of the hotel, providing an amazing panoramic view of LA and the Hollywood Hills. It would be very tempting to hang out all day at the pool, especially when the DJ is working; yet that would be a shame because the Andaz is just short drive to Hollywood Walk of Stars and Beverly Hills.

The only thing that could have been better would be for the lobby bar/dinning area to be opened in the afternoon, sometimes you want to chill at an indoor bar at the hotel, but the only the roof top bar. that is a very minor quibble.

I highly recommend the Andaz for anyone staying in West Hollywood.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, including our spectacular views, the service provided and unique amenities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great hotel, nice ambience, friendly staff, very modern
Our room was amazing, extremely big with a lovely view of Sunset Boulevard
Bed was incredibly comfy
The TV was fantastic, all new programming, lots of channels to choose from.
Some channels were not working, but it was fixed straight away.
Free minibar, excluding alcohol, was fantastic. Saves you having to spend money elsewhere
There was free coffee and biscuits in the lobby every morning, as well as free water and juice all day
Free wifi provided
The rooftop pool was the highlight, great views of the city and of the hills behind you. Very comfy lounges to lay on. Incredibly relaxing
Great music history at this place, lots of stories to make you feel a part of it
Not far from the Whisky and The Viper Room.
Only downfall is they do not change your linen or make your bed if you don’t place a card on your bed, and when your in a hurry, this can be very easy to forget. I understand the linen, but irregardless, the bed should be made.
Starbucks next door, as well as a great bar/restaurant Saddle Ranch Chophouse

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop pool, guest room amenities and our central location. All of your comments are truly appreciated and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Los Angeles.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location is excellent. One can easily walk to Sunset Plaza. Rooms in the front of the hotel have a sensational view over Sunset Blvd. looking south. Rooftop pool and area is great and one can have meetings up there in semi-private areas. House of Blues right across the street. One of the many features I love about Andaz Hotels, is the fact that everything but alcohol in the minbar is free. Excellent healthy snacks, ice tea, water. In the lobby you are greeted with a glass of wine as you check in. In the morning there is complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby. The breakfast buffet is sensational offering everything you could wish, and more. Friendly staff. There to help not to get in your face. For the businessman, faxes are free.

Room Tip: Try and get a front room overlooking Sunset Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whamzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed various aspects of your stay namely the central location, our hotels amenities and the customer service. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz West Hollywood soon.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great hotel, modern rooms, we paid for a city view but were given a room at back as we were told quieter while groups of girls camped outside hotel as they believed a group to be staying in the hotel. We had paid more for the front room but we're not offered a refund for difference if we had booked a room at the back of hotel in first place, which would have been nice or perhaps offer of breakfast on hotel. Breakfast was very good and service excellent, waiters attentive without being over crowding. Cooking all fresh and in sight while sitting. Reception very helpful. Good location for city sight seeing bus tour at comedy club next door. Gym was fairly well equipped as far as hotel gyms go. Pool nice, small but great views. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorers4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for providing us feedback following your visit to Andaz West Hollywood. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our team, our central location and our hotel amenities. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to your room allocation which caused your stay to be less than perfect. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. If suitable, please email my assistant Lauren Farah at lauren.farah@andaz.com, at your earliest convenience, so that I may discuss your experience in further detail. I look forward to the opportunity to assist you.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the best hotel I've stayed in in LA. It was practically perfect. I can't in fact think of anything that could improve the experience. The bed and pillows were A+ quality. The rooms are spacious with comfy chairs and useful desks. The bathroom is gorgeous, though no tub in my room. The TV was big -- changing channels on their system is frustratingly slow. But there was little time for TV there.

Being welcomed with a glass of wine or water was great. The employees are all so shiny and happy and bright. Check-in and -out are easy. We were there for work, but enjoyed the pool quite a bit. The fitness center was terrific and not crowded at all.

The only downside for one of my colleagues during this trip was that he happened to be on a floor where people were partying a lot for the BET awards. He was moved quickly after he asked. So no complaints there.

The hotel is like a cool art museum -- with photos and sculptures and paintings galore. Even the rooms have some cool graphics on the walls and a thoughtful saying on the windows.

Ari worked with one of my colleagues to set us up well. We are grateful to him.

The restaurant, which I will review separately, was terrific as well.

My only small complaint is that, though there was a no smoking policy in the pool area, people took advantage of the separation of some of the sun beds from the other area to sneak smokes frequently. The staff could probably police that better or they should change their policy.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate and value your comments. I will ensure that Ari receives your kind words. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at the Andaz West Hollywood for 6 nights at the end of May. From the time Ari checked us in to the day we departed everything was perfect. I'd never been to America before so had lots of questions about our surroundings and tipping, etc. Ari was always on hand to help out and did everything with a smile.
The room was large and very comfortable. Best bed we had during our entire month long trip through America.
Loved the free wine between 5pm and 7pm every day. Complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks from the mini-bar were a bonus as well.
Location is perfect. We like to walk and although no-one seems to walk in LA, we did and found we were in a really handy location to everything we wanted to see.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I had heard rooms were noisy due to being on Sunset Blvd. Our room was at the back of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and am delighted to know how much you enjoyed our central location, your spacious accommodation and the service you received from our staff. I will ensure to share your kind words with Ari and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,746 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,114 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
123 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $264 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the twinkling lights of the Sunset Strip and the picturesque Hollywood Hills, Andaz West Hollywood is centrally located to the best dining, shopping, and activities in Los Angeles. This iconic destination is home to Los Angeles’ highest rooftop pool and includes breathtaking views of the city, private cabanas, and a full-service bar. All 239 rooms boast spectacular views of the Hollywood Hills on one side and the Sunset Strip and downtown Los Angeles on the other. Enjoy complimentary in room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages along with a nightly wine hour and complimentary wi-fi. Step out of Andaz West Hollywood’s front doors, and explore iconic music and entertainment venues including Whisky A Go Go, The Viper Room, The Roxy and the famous Comedy Store. Enjoy California-inspired, farm-to-table cuisine at Riot House Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing