We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a stay at Andaz WH, fantastic chic vibe throughout the hotel, excellent roof top pool views were amazing. Only disappointment was two of the evenings the roof top was closed to guests for private functions, I get that as I would hire it myself. Great location we could walk to Hollywood walk of fame in forty mins which was a lovely stroll taking in all fab houses. I intend to go back definitely.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Andaz West Hollywood! I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the pool closures. We thank you for joining us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,947)
There are newer reviews for Andaz West Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We picked this hotel for it's location for a couple day stay on family vacation (and to use Hyatt GP points). Like others have said (and we relied on) the location is great (to go do the Hollywood and Studio stuff, as well as go into BH, walk down to Sunset Plaza for shopping, eating, etc.). And the views from the rooms looking out over the LA area from the floor to ceiling windows has to be hard to beat in the area; plus was pretty cool to look out from the rooftop pool. But kinda felt like we were one of the few families at the hotel, and other than the childrens' menu @ the hotel restaurant, really not set up for kids. In fact, the roof top pool on a saturday afternoon was non appropriate for kids (and was a shame since we kinda planned our day around the assumption that we'd hang out at the hotel pool for a bit...if any other reviewers commented on that, I must have missed it)... there was a loud DJ & plenty of drinking that afternoon; only quiet times we found at the pool were sunset sunday evening, and in the early mornings. Also a bit surprising, having stayed at other Andaz properties in the past, is that aside from Rudy who was manning the Valet stand and the wait staff @ the restaurant (reviewed separately), the lobby staff didn't have the service orientation that I've experienced at other Andaz properties. I won't cover all the other stuff already covered (great snacks in the room, high price of parking, "thin" walls, etc.)... but I want to amplify how comfortable the beds are for sleeping that a few reviewers have already mentioned...after long days out sightseeing, was great to fall into those beds and get a great nights' sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than perfect experience. At Andaz we strive to exceed our guests expectations and I am very sorry that in so many details we have not met yours. Please know that the matters you raised have been address and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that they do not reoccur in the future. I hope to be able to welcome you back and provide you and your family a fabulous Andaz West Hollywood experience.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The rooms were huge, modern, clean, comfortable -- perfect after having ridden my bike to LA from SF and spending the last nights in tents ;-)

Add to all that -- the roof top pool and our room afforded us expansive views of LA and an opportunity to enjoy the sun amongst the other beautiful visitors to the city of angels.

Only downside, the check-in is a little strange with the communal ish checkin counter

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

I am so delighted that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and that you enjoyed your recent visit! We cannot wait to welcome you back upon your next visit to LA!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I don't know why I agonized about where to stay in LA so long. Everything is pricey, but that wasn't it alone. Reviews were a big part of it. So, I finally chose Andaz -- and they had a good AARP price. I got a great room with a view -- and a little seating area near the windows but with a black out curtain between that and the bedroom part, so you don't have to deal with the flashing Sunset lights all night. The room is spotless. The towels are bigger than I've seen at any other hotel lately (and there's a terry bathrobe). I've got to admit, the complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks are really nice, especially since I had a very spicy dinner before I checked in and was tired and just wanted to sit and watch the view. The staff could not be nicer! It's just my first morning here, but hey, with free wifi why wait to send a shout-out for a great experience?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSLinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I am so delighted to have the opportunity to read your kind comments regarding your stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our team and the hotel’s amenities. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, we hope you enjoy your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For a true LA-experience close to the tourist attractions this hotel is in a fantastic location! My husband and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights while in LA for a week. Was great to be close to the Hollywood area with most places like Runyon Canyon, The Grove etc. within close driving distance and music venues like the House of Blues, The Whiskey and Viper Room within walking distance. However, we did move closer to the beach for the rest of our stay for a more relaxed beachy time.
I would definitely say that the free wifi is a bonus, as is the rooftop-pool (although we did find it difficult to get a pool area bed over the weekend). Rooms are spacious, with great views and very clean. Unforunately we did get a room right off the elevator, which was noisy at times. Parking is expensive, but no more than everywhere else in West Hollywood and the valet service was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator were noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK8Coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review following your recent visit here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved this hotel! Fantastic staff who were all knowledgable of the area. The Concierge was extremely helpful - he booked our tour in minutes! There was always someone waiting in the driveway to help you with your bags or a cab. Everyone we spoke to made our stay enjoyable.

Great modern rooms - simple but wonderful. Especially loved the extras of happy hour drinks, breakfast coffee and pastries and mini bar included. Great location. Close to cafes,clubs and public transport.
Thoroughly recommend! Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank LouW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are 2 things you have to accept when you stay in West Hollywood - a decent hotel will cost you and parking is very expensive. With this is mind, The Andaz is a very good hotel. It is well located in West Hollywood close to most sites (but you still need a car).

The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite big and have a little extra seating area (which can be closed off with a curtain to give a little privacy). Our room had a great view to downtown LA. The hotel is right on Sunset Blvd but the traffic noise is very minimal. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and it has a great shower.

The roof top pool is fantastic with great 360 views of LA. The pool area has these large day beds with a cover - they are big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids and they provide enough cover so you can lie in the shade.

There is a nice little gym with all new equipment for a workout.

The best thing about the Andaz is the small things. They provide you with free waters, snacks, milk and juice in your room and in the lobby. Also, finally, a hotel that provides you with free WiFi (good speed as well). Everybody who travels nowadays has a smart phone, tablet or iPad thus WiFi is essential. We used our iPad to get directions and find restaurants - this made our trip easier and better. I can't believe more hotels don't provide free WiFi. This reason alone is worth staying at the Andaz.

The only negative is parking is $33 a day but there is zero street parking and all other hotels charge a similar rate. The valet staff were all excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor looking over the city
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainBear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

I am so delighted to have the opportunity to read your kind comments following your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood! I truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our amazing team, the room accommodations and the hotel’s amenities. We truly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel upon your next visit to West Hollywood!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,706 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,040 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $330 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing