We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“so chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

overall this was a fantastic one night stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable, very clean and the amenities are first rate - I especially like the seating area by the window with the tiny sofa! The beds were comfortable and although the hallways were noisy by day, they were very quiet after midnight when we arrived back to our rooms. We were disappointed by the rooftop deck, which had been a draw for us, so unfortunately we took our cocktail business elsewhere. The location was great for business and for sightseeing. The one drawback is the folksy check-in procedure. I want to to check in and check out - I do not want to be stalked by a "team member" carrying an ipad, sit on the sofa and talk about my hotel experience...check in took FOREVER and checkout was longer than that! But when I am back in the area, this is THE hotel for me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience as we value every aspect of your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to West Hollywood!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    654
    201
    52
    43
See reviews for
464
930
153
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the little cool touches like the famous quotes on the windows, and the free snacks to the overall comfort, cleanliness, location, etc - this was a wonderful hotel and I will definitely stay there again. The former balconies - now closed in glass pods overlooked a great view of LA were fun to hang out in and a curtain could be pulled behind to reduce traffic noise to the sleeping area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle98102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Andaz West Hollywood! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your return trip to Los Angeles!!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. It has a great location. You can walk to shopping and restaurants. The staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable. The roof top pool looked great but unfortunately, there was a private party using it so we were out of luck. Coffee was free and good. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed the central location, staff service and comfortable room accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I used my one remaining comp room (thru Hyatt's Visa card program) and must say this stay was definitely worth the $75 annual fee for the credit card. Upon arrival we were greeted outside by a concierge who was also the front desk person AND bellman. This hotel has the most professional employees I've ever seen in a hotel, one of whom stays with you from the time your car arrives until you are taken up to your room. Our concierge offered us glasses of wine as well as bottled water, both complimentary. In the room fridge were complimentary sodas and bottled water, as well. Also, there were a few complimentary bagged snacks for us in the room. There is, however, a charge for alcoholic beverages in the fridge. We didn't partake so I'm not sure what the cost may have been. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself must have been soundproofed. Not a sound was heard from outside, down the hall, etc. Parking was $33 for valet, maybe a bit stiff, but this IS Los Angeles. On the rooftop is a pool...the water was a bit cold for native Floridians...but the morning view of sunrise over LA was great. Totally LOVED it!

Room Tip: Check out Hyatt's credit card offer. For a $75 annual fee you get 2 free room nights to use wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelandJuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your delightful words regarding your experience here at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the service to the hotel’s amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had just stayed at the Andaz 5th Ave and this one was kind of a disappointment.
I didn't find the stay very friendly, most were hard to understand and the other half didn't seem to want to help.
The room was spacious, bed really comfortable, bathroom tiny!!! too bad if there is more than 1 person in the room because there is no bench space to speak of same goes for the wardrobe.
The walls are super thin, we had to call down to the front desk one night due to a noisy family. I am sure there was some rapper across the hall there were so many people coming and going and the noise was beyond annoying.
The restaurant down stairs is ok, they have a big breakfast buffet or you can order off the menu. For dinner its more of a tapps menu I think? There wasn't a great variety.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I truly apologize for the noise disturbance that you experienced during your stay. At Andaz we strive to satisfy every guest and I am sorry that we were not able to do so in this instance. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back and create an experience for you of true Andaz hospitality.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. It is centrally located on the Sunset strip - in between Universal & Santa Monica. The rooftop pool & view are amazing. I thought the staff was very professional, friendly, but ... a valet definitely banged my (new!) car into a curb and I have a rough spot on my bumper now.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel for a quieter night (rooms with odd numbers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit however I would like to sincerely apologize for any possible incidents that may have occurred with the valet. I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you about your experience so that I may investigate the information you have shared more precisely. If you have a moment, please email my assistant at lauren.farah@andaz.com, so that I may discuss your experience in further detail. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you soon.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

the pool and the views are great, but that's where it ends. The staff was very friendly, but they never did anything they said they would. The rooms are average. The walls are thin, so you can hear every hallway and neighbor conversation. Gym is awful. Stay here only if you get a really low rate. There is much better for the same or less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anontrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. At Andaz, we are committed to serving every guest beyond expectations and to know that we did not do so on this occasion is disappointing. Hopefully one day we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and create an experience more consistent with true Andaz hospitality.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing