We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel is not for everyone, location is great as very central and also some good bars/restuarants within walking distance. Was disappointed with the room which felt more like a prison cell with no real soft furnishings/furniture/pictures etc. Literally a bed and tv and a grey/white interior. Am all for modern hotels and always like to chose modern over old style traditional but this hotel had none of the luxuries and comforts you expect from a luxury hotel. Was my first time to LA and having explored the city there are numerous other hotels I would chose over the Andaz. It just lacks personality, class and warmth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Andaz West Hollywood. Andaz is a new venture of the Hyatt Brand, which offers a unique environment and design in each of its several locations. Although you did not enjoy our specific property here in West Hollywood, and its location on the Sunset Strip, you may enjoy several of our other locations. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to a sister property to create an experience more consistent with your personal preferences.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is right on the strip and in a good location for restaurants and shops. The modern lobby is different (and we didn't realize the table was the front desk), but fine once we caught on. The staff, especially The host Walter was great. He could not have been nicer, more helpful, responsive and we liked his recommendations. Yes the hotel is minimalist, but the rooms are clean, large and comfy bed. We also really liked the free non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar and free wifi. We are coming back for a conference soon and Walter was happy to arrange things for us. So far I really like this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased that you chose our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed our personalized service. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to Walter. We look forward to welcoming you back for your upcoming conference!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you get a high room facing the city, the views are nice. I was fortunate to be put on the top floor. Room was clean and spacious with some hip touches, like rock song lyrics painted on the window and old LP's in the room, otherwise fairly plain. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Non-alcoholic beverages and snacks in the mini-bar are gratis. Very good room service breakfast. You're in luck if you like spicy bloody marys! Understand the restaurant is quite good, but did not eat there. Generous pours at the bar, but expensive. Meanwhile, you are in one of the best locations on the Strip. Close to the music and comedy clubs and some good restaurants and haunts (like Barney's Beanery).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed the food and beverage at the hotel, particularly our room service and the complimentary treats in the minibar. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Andaz West Hollywood has become my home away from home. I travel for work and stay here on a weekly basis. The staff has been terrific in every way, they make sure that everything is exactly how you need it to be, and go above and beyond to ensure your comfort. They are very polite and available to answer questions, help you into your car or with your bags, or even get you a glass of wine in the lobby. The Management team is also responsive and visible - you may encounter them in the lobby frequently. The room and bed are comfortable, the food is great, the check in/check out process is very smooth (I suggest the web checkin/checkout if available), and the location is perfect to be able to get to dining, or entertainment. I have my choice of a number of hotels to stay at, but this one has been the perfect fit. I have had family come with me on occasion and they all felt they were treated like royalty as well. The rooftop has a great view but I cannot comment on the pool since I have not used it myself. I think that my only two complaints would be the TV Channel lineup and the smaller counters in the bathrooms. Otherwise, it feels like I am staying at my "vacation home" Monday thru Thursday.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view. The Suites are great - and they are corner rooms with alot of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your complimentary words regarding your experiences here at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoy the service we provide you and that you feel as though the hotel is your home away from home!! As always, we look forward to welcoming you back!!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The reception area (which we didn't initially recognize as a reception area) is very depressing and you find yourself feeling glum each time you walk through it and return to your bland room. The hotel was quite dark and comes across as very seedy . The rooms are very minimal; our room had a car park view which was quite strange. The facilities were not that great either e.g have to use your credit card to use internet, even for the free 15 minutes. The food provided by rooms service was also a disappointment.

The service from staff however was excellent. They were very helpful and welcoming. We were given a lot of assistance, whether it was advice about where to eat or with organizing speedy transport to the airport.The location was very good; and the rooms were quiet.

Despite the great service, I would not come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZahiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased that you appreciated the service provided to you by our wonderful team however I am sorry that you did not find your room or facilities to be as comfortable as they should be. Please know that I am looking into this, as we always want to make sure that our guests’ stay is pleasant and satisfying.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has no front desk. You are greeted by a staffer holding and ipad.
He greets you, tells you about the history of the hotel and what is included in your room rate.
The room is very,very minimal in any kind of deco, or amenties.

The hotel is grey. Everything is a shade od grey. Very drab and boring. It needs to be renovated.

The room we stayed in was on the strip side. Very noisy.

This is a hotel is for anyone who likes not caring about anything but staying in a hotel on the strip.

Food is bland and expensive. Parking is way too high. $42.00 a night.

This is a ghost of a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the strip side. You will hate it. Way too noisy. Walls are really thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaVistor19460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Andaz West Hollywood. Andaz is a new venture of the Hyatt Brand, which offers a unique environment and design in each of its several locations. Although you did not enjoy our specific property here in West Hollywood you may enjoy several of our other locations such as Wall Street or Fifth Avenue in New York, Liverpool Street in London, the Gaslamp District in San Diego, Napa, Maui, Shanghai, Amsterdam or Savannah. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to a sister property to create an experience more consistent with your personal preferences.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a Hyatt property but it certainly has more character of a hip boutique hotel. The staff was very attentive and accommodating during check-in and the lobby has comfortable sofas and chairs to sit and enjoy their complimentary coffee or wine service. The location is in a great area to walk to restaurants and shops and close enough to grab a cab to the Melrose area and other attractions. I would recommend staying on the upper floors to avoid hearing street noise as it is an active area of nightlife. The Comedy Store is next door and other restaurants are within steps of the hotel so you risk the experience of hearing crowds and traffic moving about if on a lower floor. With just a short walk to the Chateau Marmont, if you can get in to the lounge or restaurant, you may just encounter a celebrity sighting or two. The rooms are simplistic with a modern edge. Beds are comfortable and the room is spacious. Although there are no balconies, each room extends to an enclosed sunroom to either overlook the hills or the skyline. Our city-view room overlooked Hollywood with vistas of downtown LA and Santa Monica. My only complaint is that the lighting was not optimal for applying make-up, the bathroom had not one towel hook or bar to hang wet towels and the bathroom was on the small side with barely any surface to lay toiletries out. The rooftop pool is a bonus to retreat to one of the cabanas and sunbathe or swim. If you have time, put on your sneakers and go for a hike at Runyon Canyon nearby. It's an incredible climb up the streets to the entrance giving a workout before you even get to the beginning of the trail. You'll love it when you're up there for the views are incredible and its a great way to get in some exercise Overall, this is a great property with top service, with a fine restaurant and bar and very nice rooms. Excellent hotel for the value. I recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid hearing the busy street noise. Bonus, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainlandhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles and for your kind recommendation! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the service provided to you by our wonderful team! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
159 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,133 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
459 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $296 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the twinkling lights of the Sunset Strip and the picturesque Hollywood Hills, Andaz West Hollywood is centrally located to the best dining, shopping, and activities in Los Angeles. This iconic destination is home to Los Angeles’ highest rooftop pool and includes breathtaking views of the city, private cabanas, and a full-service bar. All 239 rooms boast spectacular views of the Hollywood Hills on one side and the Sunset Strip and downtown Los Angeles on the other. Enjoy complimentary in room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages along with a nightly wine hour and complimentary wi-fi. Step out of Andaz West Hollywood’s front doors, and explore iconic music and entertainment venues including Whisky A Go Go, The Viper Room, The Roxy and the famous Comedy Store. Enjoy California-inspired, farm-to-table cuisine at Riot House Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing