We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Free Snacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Location & Free Snacks”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you get a high room facing the city, the views are nice. I was fortunate to be put on the top floor. Room was clean and spacious with some hip touches, like rock song lyrics painted on the window and old LP's in the room, otherwise fairly plain. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Non-alcoholic beverages and snacks in the mini-bar are gratis. Very good room service breakfast. You're in luck if you like spicy bloody marys! Understand the restaurant is quite good, but did not eat there. Generous pours at the bar, but expensive. Meanwhile, you are in one of the best locations on the Strip. Close to the music and comedy clubs and some good restaurants and haunts (like Barney's Beanery).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed the food and beverage at the hotel, particularly our room service and the complimentary treats in the minibar. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    766
    241
    68
    54
See reviews for
621
1,079
183
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Andaz West Hollywood has become my home away from home. I travel for work and stay here on a weekly basis. The staff has been terrific in every way, they make sure that everything is exactly how you need it to be, and go above and beyond to ensure your comfort. They are very polite and available to answer questions, help you into your car or with your bags, or even get you a glass of wine in the lobby. The Management team is also responsive and visible - you may encounter them in the lobby frequently. The room and bed are comfortable, the food is great, the check in/check out process is very smooth (I suggest the web checkin/checkout if available), and the location is perfect to be able to get to dining, or entertainment. I have my choice of a number of hotels to stay at, but this one has been the perfect fit. I have had family come with me on occasion and they all felt they were treated like royalty as well. The rooftop has a great view but I cannot comment on the pool since I have not used it myself. I think that my only two complaints would be the TV Channel lineup and the smaller counters in the bathrooms. Otherwise, it feels like I am staying at my "vacation home" Monday thru Thursday.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view. The Suites are great - and they are corner rooms with alot of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary words regarding your experiences here at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoy the service we provide you and that you feel as though the hotel is your home away from home!! As always, we look forward to welcoming you back!!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The reception area (which we didn't initially recognize as a reception area) is very depressing and you find yourself feeling glum each time you walk through it and return to your bland room. The hotel was quite dark and comes across as very seedy . The rooms are very minimal; our room had a car park view which was quite strange. The facilities were not that great either e.g have to use your credit card to use internet, even for the free 15 minutes. The food provided by rooms service was also a disappointment.

The service from staff however was excellent. They were very helpful and welcoming. We were given a lot of assistance, whether it was advice about where to eat or with organizing speedy transport to the airport.The location was very good; and the rooms were quiet.

Despite the great service, I would not come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZahiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased that you appreciated the service provided to you by our wonderful team however I am sorry that you did not find your room or facilities to be as comfortable as they should be. Please know that I am looking into this, as we always want to make sure that our guests’ stay is pleasant and satisfying.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has no front desk. You are greeted by a staffer holding and ipad.
He greets you, tells you about the history of the hotel and what is included in your room rate.
The room is very,very minimal in any kind of deco, or amenties.

The hotel is grey. Everything is a shade od grey. Very drab and boring. It needs to be renovated.

The room we stayed in was on the strip side. Very noisy.

This is a hotel is for anyone who likes not caring about anything but staying in a hotel on the strip.

Food is bland and expensive. Parking is way too high. $42.00 a night.

This is a ghost of a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the strip side. You will hate it. Way too noisy. Walls are really thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaVistor19460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Andaz West Hollywood. Andaz is a new venture of the Hyatt Brand, which offers a unique environment and design in each of its several locations. Although you did not enjoy our specific property here in West Hollywood you may enjoy several of our other locations such as Wall Street or Fifth Avenue in New York, Liverpool Street in London, the Gaslamp District in San Diego, Napa, Maui, Shanghai, Amsterdam or Savannah. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to a sister property to create an experience more consistent with your personal preferences.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a Hyatt property but it certainly has more character of a hip boutique hotel. The staff was very attentive and accommodating during check-in and the lobby has comfortable sofas and chairs to sit and enjoy their complimentary coffee or wine service. The location is in a great area to walk to restaurants and shops and close enough to grab a cab to the Melrose area and other attractions. I would recommend staying on the upper floors to avoid hearing street noise as it is an active area of nightlife. The Comedy Store is next door and other restaurants are within steps of the hotel so you risk the experience of hearing crowds and traffic moving about if on a lower floor. With just a short walk to the Chateau Marmont, if you can get in to the lounge or restaurant, you may just encounter a celebrity sighting or two. The rooms are simplistic with a modern edge. Beds are comfortable and the room is spacious. Although there are no balconies, each room extends to an enclosed sunroom to either overlook the hills or the skyline. Our city-view room overlooked Hollywood with vistas of downtown LA and Santa Monica. My only complaint is that the lighting was not optimal for applying make-up, the bathroom had not one towel hook or bar to hang wet towels and the bathroom was on the small side with barely any surface to lay toiletries out. The rooftop pool is a bonus to retreat to one of the cabanas and sunbathe or swim. If you have time, put on your sneakers and go for a hike at Runyon Canyon nearby. It's an incredible climb up the streets to the entrance giving a workout before you even get to the beginning of the trail. You'll love it when you're up there for the views are incredible and its a great way to get in some exercise Overall, this is a great property with top service, with a fine restaurant and bar and very nice rooms. Excellent hotel for the value. I recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid hearing the busy street noise. Bonus, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainlandhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles and for your kind recommendation! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the service provided to you by our wonderful team! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's currently 2:30am as I write this review from my room at the Andaz, unable to sleep for the past 4 hrs because the room is like a sauna. I was just informed by the front desk that "the building is old and there is only one heating unit". That means air is only delivered to one side of the building each night. Something they fail to inform you online or at the front desk. I'd settle for being able to crack open a window, but that isn't possible. The only option given was to bring up a "cooling unit" (aka: a portable desk fan), which is basically throwing around hot air.

This is only one of several gripes I have with this place including: curtains that don't close, open showers lacking a floor strip to contain the water resulting in water leaking into the main room, especially the tiny sink area right outside the bathroom, and cheap "modern" furniture crammed into tiny rooms.

This is a "boutique" hotel, which basically translates into overpriced room rates, extremely overpriced food, and crappy amenities

I read the other negatives reviews on this site and they are all spot on. For proof, just look at the photo someone posted of the 2 eggs and OJ breakfast for ~$80.00.

Don't be fooled by the trendy name, location, or funky lobby. The rooms and service here suck!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenMasters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention. I am terribly sorry to hear that your visit has been unsatisfactory. Please be assured that your experience is not typical and I truly apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. If you have a moment, please contact me directly or email my assistant at Olivia.Moore@andaz.com, so that I may have the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. I look forward to the opportunity to connecting with you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location on Sunset Blvd. in the heart of West Hollywood within walking distance of many restaurants and a short drive to Hollywood attractions, hip Melrose shops and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. We were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding, friendly service offered by every staff member we met. When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by a host instead of having to wait on line at a reception desk.

The room was clean and contemporary, with all-white walls and bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The view of the L.A. skyline and mountains was terrific. The room had a cozy nook with a chaise lounge and small sofa right next to the window, as well as a separate TV, so if one person is watching the TV in the room, another person can watch a different show in the nook!

We checked out the rooftop pool and bar. While it was too cool to sunbath but I imagine the rooftop pool would be a wonderful place to relax in warmer months.

One downside to the location is some street noise, which is to be expected in a city like L.A.. We really didn't hear much traffic except for a fire engine. Another is that the blackout curtain separating the bedroom area from the nook didn't close all the way and let in light from illuminated billboards and other lights across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laguna1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you by our wonderful team. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing