We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibes, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Andaz is Hyatt’s collection of boutique hotels, and I enjoyed the vibe, intimacy, and amenities of the Andaz West Hollywood as much as I did during my previous stay in 2011. The check-in staff (“hosts” in Andaz lingua franca) recalled details of my last stay, and thoughtfully asked if I would like a similar room looking out to the famed Sunset Boulevard in the immediate vicinity and the downtown Los Angeles skyline beyond.

The room I was assigned was spacious, and one special feature that distinguishes the front-facing room from those that look out into the fabulous residences that line the hill behind the hotel is that rooms facing the front come with a relaxation alcove with lounge sitting and a separate flat-screen TV of it’s own. Not that guests will be utilizing the TV all that often with the spectacular views of the glittering Los Angeles skyline especially at dusk.

A refreshing change from the Portico Spa products found in all other generic Hyatt properties is the aromatherapy series of toiletries set from Lather by Modern Apothecary.

Facilities include a fairly basic gym, but fitness buffs might want to time their visits as the hotel as saw fit to place the treadmills and elliptical trainers in the direct rays of the relentless Southern California sun in the morning hours.

Guests of the Andaz West Hollywood should take a trip to the rooftop where the pool–as well as verdant flora and more great views–await.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sunset Boulevard for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sojourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that we had the opportunity to welcome you back and that you once again enjoyed your accommodation along with the service provided to you by our team. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in November and was given a discounted upgrade to a double room at the front with great view over LA which was well worth it. Good location on Sunset Boulevard and 30mins walk from central Hollywood although taxi rank right outside if need be. Breakfast was expensive but there is a Starbucks right next door. Rooftop pool is a big attraction and very clean and private. Great view from it of the houses on the Hollywood hills. Loved the wine and nibbles in the evening (all free). Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank browner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the amazing views from your accommodation as well as our rooftop pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to West Hollywood!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Colin at the front desk was great! He greeted us, checked us in, delivered our bags, poured our wine and gave us great advice on places to eat and visit. He made our experience fabulous. We had a room overlooking The House of Blues. The mini-bar ( non-alcoholic beverages ) and snacks in our room were complimentary. We ate dinner at the hotel twice. The food was excellent. My only complaint was our breakfast buffet. The selection was very limited. We have had many Hyatt breakfast buffets, this one did not compare. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our host, Colin. I am thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of and will be sure to pass along your very kind words to him! On behalf of all of us here at Andaz West Hollywood, I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Andaz West Hollywood sits on the Sunset Strip with great city views, especially from the rooftop pool. The Chateau Marmont is also a stones throw from the hotel.

Rooftop Pool
Cabanas
As you enter the hotel, there is no formal registration desk. There are “hosts” that assist you with the check-in process. Guests are invited to sit on sofas throughout the check-in process. Guests are also offered a glass of wine, water or other beverage.

During this stay, I decided to use a Suite Upgrade, which Diamond members receive four throughout the year. Normally, a Diamond member will be upgraded to the smallest or lowest level suite, but can be upgraded further at the hotels discretion. As you may expect, some hotels are more generous than others with upgrades.

I was given an Andaz Suite King on the 9th floor. As you enter, the room opens up into a large open space. There is a large glass table with four barstools with a large window that overlooks the city.

To the left is a large leather couch with a large desk. There is also a flat screen TV that welcomes you to the Andaz. They even personalize the greeting on the TV, a very nice and memorable touch.

The balcony has been enclosed and converted into a small sitting area with two chairs and ottomans, and a small TV that overlooks the city. With the great city views, why would someone want to watch TV?

With the Andaz brand, all non-alcoholic drinks are complimentary, along with several types of

The room has two full bathrooms. The “guest” bathroom is slightly larger than the one in the bathroom. There is a large counter, which is always appreciated when on the road. The shower is spacious, however there is only a small hand held shower head that does not put out much water pressure. There is only a semi-enclosed shower door so water will undoubtedly splash onto the floor.

The bedroom is fairly large with a closet holding two robes and pairs of slippers, iron and ironing board. There is a small sitting area in the bedroom. The bed is on the softer side with large super soft pillows. Although the bed is on the softer side, it is not uncomfortably so. There is a large dresser and flat screen TV to round out the room.

The master bathroom is slightly smaller than the guest bathroom with almost no counter space. Like the guest bathroom, there is a fairly large shower with hand held shower head with less than desirable water pressure. The same semi-enclosed shower door is also in the master bathroom. There are Lather bath products, which are a very welcome change compared to the standard Portico products.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely, in depth review of your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, and excellent location. We spent our two nights here in the venues directly next door - Saddle Ranch Bar and Comedy Store (and the following mornings recovering in the Starbucks next door!).

My only complaint (and to be honest a somewhat big one), is that there is no free WiFi (cost is $9.99/day). For the price paid for this hotel, I would expect WiFi to have been included. Fortunately there are a couple of computers in the lobby from were set up for you to print your boarding pass for free.

In the rooms are included a free minibar for non-alcoholic beverages, which was a very nice touch. Valet parking $32/day and it was a fast service.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CityLiving90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and that you enjoyed your stay. In addition to the modern lifestyle amenities we offer in our accommodations (complimentary minibar with non-alcoholic beverages and snacks), we do in fact offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our guestrooms and throughout the hotel. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pulling up to this hotel is very impressive! Great location....went to saddle ranch next door for dinner which was fun and entertaining for my kids...ages 15, 12 and 11. The rooftop pool area is very pretty and the pool was heated very warm. The drinks and food are very pricey but we find that at any nice resort. The check in and check out experience was not ideal....I found it fine checking in and annoying checking out. There are no lines and I have no patience for people who jump in front of me because there is no organization....it is a cute concept but really doesn't work. The valet parking was fine 32 dollars per day....and tip every time you get your car was unfair..if they want to charge for parking that is fine but the tips add up, as well. Also we had a beautiful city view on the 6th floor....very loud! Should have realized but if you want quiet take the hill view rooms which are smaller or high floor! Overall nice and great location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joenan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood! I am so pleased to hear that you and your kids enjoyed our central location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the West Coast.
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Just here for a night with the family and we are getting a great service from every one. At the front we were recieve by Joshua and he did a great job getting us familiar with the Hotel and everything around; from getting accommodations at a restaurant to recommendations at other locations after dinner. At the Bar Brian was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased that you chose our hotel on your most recent visit and thoroughly enjoyed our personalized service. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to Joshua and Brian! On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,720 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,031 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $271 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the twinkling lights of the Sunset Strip and the picturesque Hollywood Hills, Andaz West Hollywood is centrally located to the best dining, shopping, and activities in Los Angeles. This iconic destination is home to Los Angeles’ highest rooftop pool and includes breathtaking views of the city, private cabanas, and a full-service bar. All 239 rooms boast spectacular views of the Hollywood Hills on one side and the Sunset Strip and downtown Los Angeles on the other. Enjoy complimentary in room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages along with a nightly wine hour and complimentary wi-fi. Step out of Andaz West Hollywood’s front doors, and explore iconic music and entertainment venues including Whisky A Go Go, The Viper Room, The Roxy and the famous Comedy Store. Enjoy California-inspired, farm-to-table cuisine at Riot House Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing