We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a pleasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had such a good time here. The welcome experience for this kind of hotel is unique. Although is an affordable hotel, it offers the customer care quality of world's most expensive hotels. I never touched my luggage from the moment I opened my trunk until I was in my room. You don't have to address anyone at the front desk or wait in a line, they approach you as soon as you get there, with a small laptop, they ask you your last name, offer you a drink and give you your proximity room key, amenities are great, so many nice details in the room and the entire hotel. It is really a pleasure. Restaurant is a little bit expensive but very nice, or you could just walk a few yards and go breakfast to the Griddle Cafe close to there. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Anything you ask for they really try hard to give you anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the service provided to you by our wonderful team, along with our unique check-in process. I look forward to you joining us again soon.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    699
    215
    57
    46
See reviews for
518
994
162
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Firstly let me say we stayed at the Andaz Wall St last year, what a wonderful, relaxing environment with courteous & knowledgable staff and spacious clean rooms. So our decision to stay at Andaz West Hollywood in Jun/July 2012 was fairly easy. Big mistake!! 5 in our party over two rooms each morning we went to breakfast and understandbly had to pay for one breakfast as our package covered two breakfasts per room. On our first day we spoke to Marcus to confirm what was included and we were told, cereals, pastries, coffee & juice. Remember we ate there for the 4 mornings we were there and every time they charged one room with 5 breakfasts and we had to take it to the concierge to explain to them there own arrangement. Very frustrating!! To cut a long story short on the last day we were told by our waitress that our package actually included the full breakfast menu i.e. eggs, bacon, etc.... you can imagine how dissapointed and angry we were. We expressed this to the waitress who I must say was lovely and quite angry that the inclusions werent explained to us properly at the beginning, she actually took this matter to the manager of the restaurant off her own back and he came over and apologised for the confusion and gave us a box of chocolates, yipee!! We have now returned home to find we have a bill for breakfast on our last day what a joke. We have tried to contact the Hyatt via email but our read/delivery receipt has bounced back with a 'delete before read' reply. I dont usually complain but the difference between the two hotels was astounding. We go to the US every year and we will not be returning to the Andaz again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am terribly sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced regarding your breakfast package. If suitable, please email my assistant, Olivia Moore at Olivia.Moore@andaz.com so that we may review your folio to ensure that any billing errors are corrected immediately. We look forward to the opportunity of assisting you personally.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

First thing to emphasize is this was the fastest check-in I had ever done. There is no reception, check-in is done by Concierge. Whilst check-in you can also design your trip. They are very helpful and well organized. We ask for some reservations, and we went to our room. After a few minutes, the trips details printed was there :)
The room is spacy and trendy.
The bed is comfortable and big.
The free minibar is a good touch.
And try to make time to visit the pool in the terrace with Hollywood view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with my family. Great location, fantastic hotel, good service, fantastic Walter! The room had a great view over the city, beautifully decorated and very clean. There is a separate area where you can read or watch tv if the kids are sleeping. Complimentary soft drinks available all day at reception. Swimming pool, perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel. Walter our host was very informative and supplied us with information we needed, restaurants, driving instructions to universal studios, good places for shopping. Awesome andaz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location as well as our unique amenities! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, a bit like walking into an apple store when you arrive but check in (and out) very efficient.
Staff extremely helpful, no problem organising tours etc. parking a little expensive, but I guess it's LA.
Free snacks, and complimentary wine/ coffee a nice little bonus.
Rooms large and clean, perhaps a little basic looking, but comfortable none the less.
My only complaint, the pool bar, bar tender a little loud and over familiar with a few Australian guests, unfortunately decided to loudly mimic the English while I was present. Terrible impersonation too !!!!
But overall a great hotel, excellent location, would return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. I am pleased to hear that your stay. We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another great experience for you.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for three nights in July, 2012. Very trendy, but fun for a retired couple. Wonderful rooftop pool and bar. Excellent breakfast. A haven on the the somewhat tacky Sunset Strip.

Room Tip: Stay on a upper floor. Penthouse level (floor 14) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jschamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I am so delighted to hear that you loved your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood and that you enjoyed some time beside the pool on our rooftop sundeck! Thank you so much for your feedback. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here for business. Superb modern hotel that doesn't break the bank. Staff are all very polite and helpful. Great location for exploring Hollywood and Beverley Hills. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Free wifi and snacks / soft drinks from the mini bar. Best bit is the rooftop swimming pool and bar with great views over LA. can be a little noisy at night if you are facing the front, but well worth it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your business trip with us here at Andaz West Hollywood! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing