We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most for Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My sister-in-law and I were more than pleasantly surprised when we stayed at this hotel. The room was spacious and it looked over a courtyard with bougainvillea everywhere. The complimentary breakfast afforded hot and cold choices with a staff immediately replenishing everything. The hotel was also centrally located and we were able to walk to our son's apt. and to many fun restaurants. I can't wait to visit again and I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: November 2010
Thank maureenp310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2010

Being in LA without a car, the biggest decison was where to stay. In the end we decided to split the stay in two, staying in West Holywood and then Santa Monica.I n West Hollywood the Sunset Plaza was a good location. Our room was large and comfy with a a mini kitchen .Tthe bathroom was large and well appointed with a bath. Directly outside the hotel is the the Metro Bus line No.2 which takes you to Hollywood and eventaully to Downtown , all for $1.50. Within a walking distance of 10 mins are restaurants. Greenblatts Deli is a great diner/ deli/wine shop which is open all year round until 2am. At the hotel the front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is reasonable, but I didnt like the fact that everything is served on polystyrene/ plastic- I felt guilty creating so much waste everytime I had breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I used Trip advisor before I left on my holiday to make a decision as to what hotels we would stay in and said I would make sure I left reviews when I came back.
We found the hotel to be clean and tidy and even though Sunset Blvd is a busy street we didn't hear any of the street traffic. This was the last hotel of our trip and by far the best hotel we stayed in. we had 2 adults and 2 young children and the rooms were a great size, plenty of room even with our 8 suitcases! the beds and pillows were very comfy.
Only downside, room was dvertised with kitchenette so we had planned on being able to prepare meals in the room, however there was no crockery, cutlery or anything in the rooms to be able to cook with.
Continental Breakfast served is fantastic, great variety.
Also free wifi offered, which is fantastic.
would definetley stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haycoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We arrived at this hotel after an overnight flight from Auckland, New Zealand where we had been staying at the Langham Hotel so the Best Western was a bit of a shock.
Good points
We arrived at 8am and our room was ready
The hotel is clean
The bed is comfortable and the pillows are soft.
We were allocated a quiet room overlooking the pool and courtyard.
Some of the staff on reception are very helpful
Bad points
There is no doorman and if you have heavy cases then it is very difficult to lift your cases up the steps to the hotel. They do not have a ramp for the cases.
Some of the reception staff are surly
No one showed us to our room.
Breakfast is a very strange affair. It reminded me of camping in my younger days. There are a few tables squashed into a small room. The food on offer was not good. Cold hard boiled eggs, squares of cheese, french sticks roughly cut into chunks, bad quality tea, yoghurts, juices. Everything was plastic packed including the waffle mixture. The only redeeming quality of breakfast were the waffles which I do not like but ate for want of something better. The worst thing were the PAPER plates and plastic knives and forks all of which you put in a large dustbin after you had finished. I hate to think of this hotel's contribution to the landfill problems.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

After reading other reviews and wanting a change from the usually address we stay at we decided to choose The Best Western. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful with directions. The hotel was in a great location between Hollywood and Beverly Hills and in the middle of the action for Sunset Strip. Breakfast was good - waffles, cereals, juice, toast, etc but was a little put off with everything being disposable, plastic knife and forks, etc. The rooms was good and worth what you paid for. The pool area looked great but we didn't use it as it didn't get warm enough.... When we checked in I knew we got free WIFI but as we travelled all the way from Australia we decided not to bring our laptop but this hotel does have a communal computer to use, which was fantastic and it is still free!!!!! We stayed a total of 6 nights and would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip_fanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Again stayed here & they didnt disappoint! Fabulous location & the rooms are divine with great views. Large, clean, modern rooms, friendly staff & a lovely breakfast. Definately would recommend to anyone. Drinks in the Sunset Tower Terrace bar next door just add to the atmosphere - amazing views at night

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night after celebrating a friend's birthday in Las Vegas. We were so impressed with this hotel. The room was well equipped and above standard to what we usually stay in. It was the most affordable room we could find that looked ideal to us for our short stay. We were within walking distance of many comedy clubs and restaurants. We had a great meal at Cafe Med, an italian restaurant where the waiter was an authentic Italian from Rome. Food and wine was fantastic.
The only complaint we had about this hotel was that our air conditioning was not working. We discovered later in the night when we were already ready for bed that the air conditioning just wasn't kicking in. The front desk offered to move us but we just didn't have the energy, so we opened our awning windows and let the fresh air in. I thought it might be loud outside and not able to sleep, but it was surprisingly peaceful and we felt like we were on a tropical vacation in the morning with the sunlight flooding in and the birds chirping. One of the better night sleeps I've had on vacation. There was a problem with the tub draining, but we had a similar problem at our other hotel in Vegas too and it wasn't that big a deal. We would definitely stay there again. Also the free breakfast was great. They served waffles, pastries, tea, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit and more. They also had a complimentary computer with printer where we were able to check in for our flight and print our boarding passes. The printer was running low on ink and we had to have our boarding passes reprinted at the gate, but again, not a big deal. We were a short drive from Hollywood Blvd., The Grove, Santa Monica and everything we wanted to see. We felt we were in a safe area and the people in the area were very friendly. The streets were clean and we did not have any problems finding our way around.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
460 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,752 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,015 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,096 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $256 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing