We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
midwest
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Usually stay in West Hollywood off of Melrose but it was all booked. Had a bad experience at the Best Western in Santa Monica, but had a great time at this hotel. Good location. Lots of places to eat and walk. Clean rooms. It wasn't noisy. Easy parking.

Lots of fuzzy foreigners. Not many ad people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No business room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank the_best_copywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    756
    174
    59
    26
See reviews for
682
650
67
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

This hotel was one of the cleanest and well-kept hotels i've ever seen. The room appointments and set-up were perfect. The rooms look out over the pool, and guests are shielded from the noise of Sunset Blvd, yet very close to the most popular attractions in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Los Angeles area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank back115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Stayed at the Best Western Sunset Plaza in Mid-July 2007. Due to the time of year we ended up paying rack rate for the room, which was still fairly reasonable. Happily, upon arrival I jokingly suggested to the desk that they upgrade us to a suite, and to my surprise they did! Admittedly we were staying for 5 nights so were spending enough money with them, but it goes to show that it never hurts to ask!

Hotel itself is nice, a few extras in the room (note - it was a suite, but the standard rooms have these too) including a sink / fridge / coffee maker / microwave really made a difference. The pool is also nice, though small. Beds are comfy, bathrooms are nice, showers are good. Aircon was noisy (no central air) - but you get used to it. For some odd reason our suite had no safe, but I noticed the standard rooms do have them.

Breakfast was an odd affair (very American?), bagels, donuts, pastry and cereals, no fruits or cooked meats. Note that bagels ran out by 8:30 / 9am on 2 of the days we were there. Also as mentioned before on this site the plates / cutlery are all plastic which felt a bit tacky (as mentioned, this hotel did feel like a 3* at times). Same goes for the rooms, no glasses provided, plastic cups instead. Though there were mugs for coffee.

Location was good for West Hollywood, plenty of bars & restaurants within walking distance. For those who are visiting LA for their first time, be warned the city is HUGE, be prepared to catch cabs nearly everywhere if you aren't driving, cabs are relatively cheap (compared with London anyway!) but the dollars add up, especially in the famous LA gridlock! Also if it's your thing - most of the "A-list" clubbing is in central Hollywood, which is a good US$20 away by cab.

I wasn't that impressed by the concierge's at the Best Western, none were particularly knowledgeable and in fact we were given completely the wrong advice on one or two occasions (for instance we were told that Santa Monica beach was about 20 minutes and US$25 away by cab, it was more like 40 minutes and US$50 without traffic!).

I'd still recommend the hotel, especially if you can get a decent rate. Cleaners were good, bathrooms were well stocked and all in all we didn't have anything to complain about!

TIPS:
(1) Drive, LA is huge
(2) Don't expect European style all-night clubbing, everything closes at 2am except diners
(3) Clubbing is as pretentious as London, lads be prepared to pay for bottles to get in
(4) Universal Studios is fun
(5) Booze is cheap in the shops

  • Liked — Location, our free upgrade, room extras (coffee maker, microwave etc)
  • Disliked — Wasn't really a hotel for a young(ish) group of guys on holiday
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

This hotel is in best location someone in their 20's or 30's could ask for. Near all the trendy hotels and bars on sunset blvd with a good selection of places to eat as well.

Parking is not clearly marked, you have to drive round the back of the building and even then its not marked!

Hotel desk is always happy to help and is available 24 hrs a day, the rooms are pretty standard but the beds really are very soft and comfortable.

For places to go we visited the Sky Bar which is a pool side bar in the Mondarin Hotel just 1 min walk down the road. Also Universal studios is just a 15 min drive away and with Santa Monica only 20 mins drive this place really is ideally located.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank acbaker1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This is one of the best, if not the absolute best, hotel I've every stayed at. It comes close to concierge level at the Fairmont in Bermuda. The room was newly remodeled, with big beautiful bathroom, beds with sheets that felt soooooo soft, mattress that was luxurious, nice free continental breakfast in a cozy dining room (ok, sometimes all the tables were full but we prefered to eat our breakfast in the gorgeous courtyard around the pool where there was plenty of patio tables and chairs), our safe was not working when we first got in the room but fixed by the time we got back from dinner, parking below the hotel was plentiful and secure (although we did have to pay around $14/ day ). Location was very good if you have a car since Hollywood Blvd is about 2 miles one way and Beverly Hills is about 2 the other way. My only warning is that the bed is so comfortable that you won't want to get out - really!

  • Liked — High quality material and fabrics used in room
  • Disliked — No computer for guests to check email etc
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cressydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We stayed at the Sunset Plaza for 3 nights and had a good look around Hollywood. This hotel is in West Hollywood on the Sunset Strip, with lots of movie locations and celebrities to see. There were heaps of great restaurants and clubs nearby and it is not too far from Hollywood Blvd. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and the breakfast was great. There is also a great pool here and a guest laundry, which was very handy. This is a great place to stay if you want to see some movie history and look out for celebs. The only thing we found is that it is very hard to get around in LA. There are plenty of cabs but expensive as traffic is very hectic. The public transport in LA is not very reliable. Tnis hotel was great as we were close to the main sights.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ksmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The great location is the best thing about this hotel. The beds were really comfortable and the pool was beautiful. We walked everywhere we could. The Farmer's Market is about a 45 min walk and the Walk of Fame is about an hour. Tried to save money on cabs because as traffic is heavy, the cabs seemed to cost about $30 everywhere we went. House of Blues right next door and Comedy Store across the street, Saddle Ranch Chop house directly across the street. Everything was just awesome.

Get to breakfast early though because the bagels go fast and then all the is left is donuts and sweets. The hotel provided a perfect hand drawn map that we used all the time. The map is great because it highlights all that matters.

You have to go horseback riding in the hills. It was only $25 per hour and it was beautiful. Best pictures of the Hollywood sign as well. The place is called Sunset Ranch.

  • Liked — The location to everything.
  • Disliked — The breakfast bagels ran out to fast.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleK20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,852 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
994 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 20 in West Hollywood
384 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 20 in West Hollywood
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing