We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had another great stay at the suset...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I had another great stay at the suset plaza! The pool was sparkling and refreshing... The front desk staff is amazing! (As always)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrosemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

My friend and I took a trip to LA and finally decided to stay at the Sunset Plaza Hotel after an extensive hotel search. The price for a room here was much less than other hotels in the area, and although this is a Best Western, you would never know it!! The hotel is very classy, almost of a European influence. The service was great...from the minute we got there, the staff was very friendly and willing to help with whatever needed. The rooms were huge, clean and just what we needed. And despite the fact that the hotel is located right on Sunset Blvd, it is VERY quiet and we had no problems sleeping.

Parking was an additional fee ($14 if I recall), and they have their own parking garage directly under the building off a residential street. This was a plus for us because most other hotels require you to valet your car and charge no less than $25-30 a night. The area was very safe and we did not feel scared or that we needed to be watchful. Breakfast was also included in our room rate, and it was sufficient (coffee, pastries, fruit, etc).

Overall, it's a great value for the money, and is definitely a good find if you are looking to enjoy Hollywood without completely breaking your bank!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves_to_Travel_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My sister and I stayed in the Best Western on Sunset for five nights in November 2009. We were really pleased with the hotel. It was in a good location with places to eat nearby and the room rate was reasonably and included breakfast. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was really big and the beds comfy. We were incredibly jet lagged and went to bed about 6pm and got up again about 3am and, compared to what we expected, didn't find the noise from the street or nearby restuarants or clubs at all disturbing.

There is nice swimming pool (although we only put our feet in as it wasn't warm enough in November to swim in an outdoor pool). There is also a free parking garage under the hotel which is well lit and easy to access off a quiet side street - not having to worry about parking or paying for a valet was very welcome as most places we thought of staying in LA either had no parking or charged extra, and sometimes you even had to wait for someone to bring you your car before you could set off.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillibethLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Close to Hollywood, easy transport, good eating options close by, very friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill194809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This was our first visit to LA from Oz, and we've come with our 2 kids (9 & 11yrs). The location of the hotel was perfect - close to a couple of great restaurants & in the heart of sunset strip. We managed to work out the local public bus which stopped right out the front door, which took us right to the Kodak Theatre, Chinese Theatre etc & down to the local shopping centres. Much cheaper than taxis, and really just as convenient. The hotel room was beautifully appointed & clean with housekeeping staff doing a wonderful job every day (thankyou again!!). Beds were beautiful as were the pillows & we had absolutely NO street noise (our room opened up onto the pool, so away from the street). Breakfast was continental style, which was fine. Room got a little crowded at peak times eg just before tour starting times, but that was manageable & we didn't ever have to wait for a table. Front lobby staff were always friendly & helpful. We've stayed in a few hotels since then, and this was one of the most memorable so thankyou! It also seems very popular with other aussies so they must be doing something right! For value for money, you can't go wrong with this one!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we_love_holidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

On Sunset Blvd but road noise not an issue. Room (faced inner courtyard, third floor east) was clean and comfortable with work area, sink, fridge, microwave, flat panel tv, air conditioning. Windows open to pool/courtyard. Bathroom roomy and new. Pool area beautiful - in protected spot between the two wings of the hotel- bougainvillea blooming pink, with baskets of pink geranium hanging from room windows. Great spot for glass of wine in evening. Downside is use as smoking area, especially in morning. Good restaurants nearby (on sunset to west) and nighlife (comedy clubs etc.) Starbucks just across the street opens at 6 am. Felt safe walking at night. Continental breakfast is generous - donuts, bagel, toast, muffin, apples, waffles (to toast), hard boiled eggs, juice coffee, cereal. Pay parking but neighborhood behind hotel good enough to park on street if desire to save a few dollars. A little pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here for two nights because it was close to a friend's house in the Hollywood Hills. It was wonderful! The hotel is centered around a flowery courtyard, a world apart from busy Sunset in front, shielded from noise and tourist trekkers passing by. It's an older building--romantic older Hollywood--but the rooms have been completely refurbished,. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and very convenient. We asked for a quiet room and got one that didn't face the courtyard so we wouldn't be disturbed by pool noise; we moved to a pool-facing second floor room anyway (the other room was dark),and there was no problem with noise.. Free wi-fi, pleasant service, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptravelBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $260 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing