We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the location..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“love the location..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2005

Extremely happy with this hotel. Stayed here in Dec04. Loved the fact that we were right next to House of Blues (great music, great food!), walking distance to all the other West Hollywood clubs as well. Probably not quite walking distance to Hollywood (well, you could if you wanted!) but only a five minute drive up there, if you have a car with you. Being from Australia I've been to LA four times now, this was the first time I've stayed at the Best Western Sunset. It's the best one yet for me. Service was great, complimentary breakfast, but most of all, fantastic value. If you walk out the front door, the Hyatt West Hollywood is literally on the other side of the street. Anyone know how much this hotel costs? Well, it's a lot more expensive than the Best Western on Sunset. That's why the location of the Best Western can't be beat for the $. Friendly staff too. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    733
    168
    55
    26
See reviews for
643
633
65
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2005

Having just spent eight nights at the Best Western Sunset, I am pleased to concur with previous reviewers that it's a great mid-priced hotel in the vibrant bar and restaurant scene of Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood.

First impressions are that both the hotel and the rooms are absolutely spotless, and that care is being taken over the hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming, and the hotel features some gorgeous Spanish-style architecture and flowers.

A definite recommendation is to request a poolside room view- many of the rooms back onto or face the pool, which is a really attractive feature of the hotel. Again, it's evident that someone is putting in great effort.

The Hollywood Walk of Fame and Mann's Chinese Theatre are a mere $10 taxi ride away, which is really convenient. The Metro station is next to the theatre, allowing easy access to downtown and Long Beach, for instance. Yes, Los Angeles does have SOME public transport!!

Breakfast is tasty but simple- pastries, cereals and fruit. However, this is a minor point.

Overall, my brother and I had a really great time at the hotel and were very impressed. It's suitable for young people looking to enjoy the bars, and also families with the pool and nearby tourist features. Exiting the hotel and seeing the magnificent Hollywood hills opposite is the icing on the cake!

Helpful?
17 Thank despecialised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

We stayed in 4 different hotels throughout our 2 week stay in California and this was my favourite. I don't know why but there was something relaxed and comfortable about the stay. The location is good and the service at the hotel also very good. We only stayed for 2 nights but should have stayed longer. I would recommend a room on the ground floor with access to the swimming pool/courtyard. The continental breakfast isn't great but was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pjack529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2005

The first thing you are taken by is how clean the hotel is, the rooms are spotless (other than some marks on the carpet) and the decor gives you the old school Hollywood feel. The staff where always available to give you direction and input on your plans. I would deffinatly stay here again and would recomend it to friends and family. The one thing I would say is get a room on the third flloor overlooking the pool as the floors seem to be squeeky in some areas and a family above you might be a nuisance.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2005

Returned from this hotel on March 17. The service at this hotel was very good. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at the front desk.
The pool courtyard is beautiful with maintenance people out there first thing in the morning, sweeping and making sure everything was tidy.
The location of the hotel is particularly good. Bus is outside the door, and that will get you to the Hollywood area if you find the walk a bit too long.
Enterprize car rental across the street which will deliver the car to you. They are also very helpful and friendly.
All in all, the price, location and quiet pleasant surroundings were the best deal i have seen in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gayle054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2005

I would highly recommend this hotel. My trip to L.A. was for medical tests rather than pleasure or business, so I spent alot of time in my hotel room. This hotel was wonderful, especially for the price. The room was clean, everything worked, nothing was in disrepair. I especially appreciated the refrigerator and microwave, both of which were very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although people in a nearby room were smoking, the door of my room sealed very well, and kept the smoke out. All in all, I have never been happier with a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2005

Had to book a last minute trip to LA and all my "regular" hotels were booked. After reading the glowing reviews of this place, I decided to give it a try. First off, let me say I'm very picky, even a little snobby about where I stay, my usual choices in LA are The Argyle, Standard or The Biltmore. And I believe the old adage "You get what you pay for". This place was WAY better than the price suggests. First, the staff were super nice, not the usual LA attitude. The room overlooked the beautiful pool area with a sweeping view of the city in the background. Flowers were blooming everywhere. The room had huge wooden framed windows that opened wide. The scene reminded me of an Italian villa. The room was large and very clean, decorated nicely. I didn't get to try breakfast, but watched people enjoying it by the pool. I'm so impressed, I will always stay here when I'm in LA for business, which is saying alot because I'm there 2-5 days every other month. Actually, I would stay here for vacation too! You can't beat the location, which is why I usually stay at the Argyle/Standard--not anymore!! Also, a nice touch is that you don't have to pre-pay (booked through Expedia) which is nice when I book several trips in advance. Can't praise this place enough!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jennifersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing