We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Clean, comfortable, good price”
Reviewed March 5, 2005

I would highly recommend this hotel. My trip to L.A. was for medical tests rather than pleasure or business, so I spent alot of time in my hotel room. This hotel was wonderful, especially for the price. The room was clean, everything worked, nothing was in disrepair. I especially appreciated the refrigerator and microwave, both of which were very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although people in a nearby room were smoking, the door of my room sealed very well, and kept the smoke out. All in all, I have never been happier with a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    747
    170
    57
    26
See reviews for
668
643
66
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2005

Had to book a last minute trip to LA and all my "regular" hotels were booked. After reading the glowing reviews of this place, I decided to give it a try. First off, let me say I'm very picky, even a little snobby about where I stay, my usual choices in LA are The Argyle, Standard or The Biltmore. And I believe the old adage "You get what you pay for". This place was WAY better than the price suggests. First, the staff were super nice, not the usual LA attitude. The room overlooked the beautiful pool area with a sweeping view of the city in the background. Flowers were blooming everywhere. The room had huge wooden framed windows that opened wide. The scene reminded me of an Italian villa. The room was large and very clean, decorated nicely. I didn't get to try breakfast, but watched people enjoying it by the pool. I'm so impressed, I will always stay here when I'm in LA for business, which is saying alot because I'm there 2-5 days every other month. Actually, I would stay here for vacation too! You can't beat the location, which is why I usually stay at the Argyle/Standard--not anymore!! Also, a nice touch is that you don't have to pre-pay (booked through Expedia) which is nice when I book several trips in advance. Can't praise this place enough!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jennifersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during January 2005.

The hotel is located right next to House of Blues. Opposite, there is a steak house and a hamburger shop (shaped like a subway, very unique!). The Argyle Hotel and Skybar are also located very near by, and there is a laundromat/cleaners within walking distance.

The room itself was OK, it was clean, no complaints on that front. The room that I had included a small fridge and microwave. They have most cable channels, and the TV screen was very large. If you get an executive suite, I believe it opens up into the swimming patio area, which is really nice. The LA times is delivered to your door every day. The breakfast is OK, it's complementary so you really can't complain.

I would recommend that you not get a room on the first floor, as there were times when I could hear people walking up and down on the floor just above me.

I found the service here to be varied, depending on who was at the front desk. Some of the staff didn't seem to really care, whethers others would go out of their way to assist you.

There is a taxi rank right outside, and there is a METRO/DASH bus stop right outside the hotel, and it's about a 5-10 minute bus ride down Sunset Blvd to get within walking distance of Hollywood Blvd. The bus seems to come quite frequently.

The hotel is about a $10 cab ride to the Beverly Centre, and a little bit more to get to the Grove Shopping/Farmers Market.

All in all, my stay at the Best Western Sunset was pleasant enough. It is a little further away from Hollywood Blvd if you don't have a car, so just keep that in mind.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2005

We were lucky enough to have a friend playing at the House of Blues,so we wanted to be in walking distance.
We've stayed at the Hyatt and the Grafton and they're OK, but the rooms were much nicer and comfortable here.Plus the price was right.
Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 20, 2004

Great, very great location, friendly staff, right price and good breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nice swimming pool. I definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2004

We stayed here Nov 11-14 and were quite impressed with this hotel. The rooms are very neat and clean (wait til you see the bathrooms...very nice!!) and the pool area is beautiful. EVERYTHING is nearby...from the Beverly Center to all the hottest night spots!
If ever in LA again this is where I'll stay!

Helpful?
9 Thank Victoria35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2004

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of November and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location, great value, clean room, friendly staff. The inclusive continental breakfast is basic but adequate. The location couldn´t have been better, a short walking distance to the House of Blues owned by Dan Akroyd & James Belushi (great food, the best steak my husband has ever had, plus live music every evening), the Comedy Store with comedians performing every evening, Mirabelle´s restaurant (the best swordfish I have ever eaten!), the Viper Room owned by Johny Depp and where River Phoenix spent his last evening .....etc.... etc.... Don´t miss the tours which you can book through reception, the City Tour, Movie Stars Homes, the Beaches, etc........ LA traffic is horrendous so we didn´t use our car at all whilst we were there. Thanks to tripadvisor.com and its users´ comments we liked the sound of this hotel and we are really glad we chose to stay there, it made our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Ines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,661 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,809 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
365 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
981 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing