We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic - Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2009

A special hotel in a great location. Love the pool side rooms and flowers. Beautiful.

Very competitive price. Simple b-fast included.

Rooms are not great, bed and TV is A+ but the rest of the room was pretty ordinary. My door didn't close right and the telephone was kaput.

I would recommend this for vacationers and for business, if you want to give your clients a taste of classic L.A.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

Stayed with hubby and teenage daughters. What a perfect hotel and great location. Room spacious and clean. Staff helpful and the people at the front desk are great "tour operators". Fullfilled our very needs - where to eat, what tours to go on, what hairdresser to use. They even supplied a driver for my daughters to go shopping on their own. Amazing service and we will be back. This was our last stop after a 6 week vacation touring Vancouver, Toronto, New York, Trinidad and Mexico and our stay in LA at this particular hotel was the perfect end.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Breakfast was good, room was fairly large and had a small fridge which was useful. The pool looked ok but we didn't use it. Service was good, location ok. Hiring a car is a must!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dempsey_Family08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is one of the best locations to stay at for price and being located right in the middle of all the fun.

It's a great place for pretty much any age group, but younger folks will like the location to bars, etc more.

Room was clean, quite and had a great view of LA and the pool. Has a European feel to it. Can walk to a ton of different places to eat or drink. No need to drive! (Unless you want to cruise Sunset!)

The staff are very nice and had some great recommedations.

Great place to stay for the money!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pageco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I stayed at the Best Western Sunset Plaza for 4 nights on a recent trip to LA with my girlfriend. This was an excellent hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in West Hollywood.

The location was ideal for exploring West Hollywood on foot (although the incline up to Sunset is a bit steep!) and provided easy access via car to the Westside, Hollywood and Burbank.

The rooms were really well done and exceeded my expectations. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were good quality. There was a large flat screen TV hooked up to a digital cable box, which provided hundreds of channels. The room also included a nice-sized stainless steel fridge, microwave and full coffee maker and setup. The bathroom was large and very clean. Only (minor) complaints would be the windows, which were a bit odd-shaped and faced a wall, and the wireless internet connection, which was difficult to access (I used the Sunset Tower signal from next door, which was stronger and more reliable). Overall, I was very impressed with the room.

Parking was a $12/night. There are several lots under the hotel, with entrance off of De Longpre Ave. This made for easy in and out access and with no valet, you could be in the car and on your way in minutes.

Included in the room price was a daily continental breakfast. While not elaborate, it included several types of pastries, bagels, whole fruit, cereal and oatmeal, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, several juices and fresh coffee. We were really impressed with the quality of the breakfast choices and it made an excellent start to the day.

The hotel had a very nice and comfortable pool area. Check-in was a breeze and everyone I encountered at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with the air conditioner and a light in the room, service was up in 2 minutes and had the issues resolved within 15 minutes.

This was a great hotel experience. I will definitely return to this hotel and would find it difficult to stay at any of the more trendy (and expensive) Sunset Strip hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelRevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Hotel sits in a great position on Sunset Blvd but as in all LA hotels, the city is so spread out that you still need a car to get around. Hotel amenities were all very clean & tidy and staff polite. We had a family room for 4 teenagers + 1 adult and there was plenty of room for luggage etc. Only downside was our room was below ground level and quite dark & gloomy during the day. (Reception is on level 3 - street level & the hotel is build down the hill side & we were lvl 1)
Would stay again but would request a room on another level

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank parkoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

I like this hotel very much. I have stayed at this hotel twice now.
I come to LA several times a year to see a friend perform at one of the clubs on the Strip. The rooms are always comfortable and clean for a single woman like me. The staff has always been gracious to me. As far as I am concerned this is the only hotel that I would recommend to stay in...if you need to stay on the Strip. I would not waste my money on any of the other over-priced hotels in the area. Keep up the great work all of you on the hotel staff!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sweetjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
451 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,009 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,748 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $227 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing