We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right on Sunset Strip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2008

This the perfect place it you want to stay in West Hollywood and be right on Sunset Strip. Very reasonable rates too.

Not the biggest room I've ever stayed in but just right for me. Well maintained and very comfortable. Considering the location it was very quiet in the hotel. Nice view of the pool from my window.

You're literally just steps away from the House of Blues and other places of entertainment. Santa Monica Boulvevard is a 10 minute walk away but be aware it's a VERY steep climb back up!

If you want to get further afield, there's a bus stop and cab rank directly outside the front door.

The only thing that disconcerted me was the elevator from the lobby went down to my room!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,465 - 1,471 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

I loved everything about this hotel. It reminded me of Melrose Place with the rooms surrounding the pool. We stayed in a standard room on the top floor with a poolside view and 2 queen beds. The room was clean and very spacious. Very handy having the microwave, fridge and sink. Kids loved the big plasma tv. Bathrooom was large and elegant. Everything about this hotel was beautiful from the pool area/courtyard to the breakfast room. Buffet breakfast was filling. The free internet was useful. As we hired a car the $12/day parking was appreciated. Location was excellent. Right on Sunset Boulevard, easy walk down Sunset Strip. Central location for sightseeing such as Hollywood, Beverley Hills and short drive to Santa Monica beach. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Excited_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

When my husband and I first booked in we were given a room facing a car park, I had had enough of staying in rooms like that so asked the reception if we could get a different room. They changed it straight away and put us in a room over looking the pool for no extra charge. the rooms were finished in old Hollywood eg heavy curtains, dark timber etc. the breakfast was good with other options which you don't normally find at continental complimentary breakfasts eg bagels, cheese and different fruits.
The location was supposed to be good for catching stars on the strip, it is a good idea if you do want to see stars to find out their regular haunts before you go as we found out most of them on our last day in Hollywood while on a tour bus. We used public transport even though we had a car, much easier to get around on the buses and rail. Nothing is within walking distance of this hotel, the maps are deceiving as you think that you are closer to things than you actually are. Great old tram done up as restaurant if you turn right from the hotel, excellent cheese dogs. We did a tour of the Hollywood sign, Hollywood area, stars houses and the beaches. We were not going to however I do recommend it as it is a great way to see the area especially as the stars homes are not exactly sign posted so local knowledge is helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinycat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Overall, the BW Sunset Plaza is a very nice hotel in a near-perfect location - right on the Strip and in an area, where you have at least some bars and restaurants in walking distance. The much criticized unfriendliness of he staff depends very much on who you deal with - some are nice, others are rather rude. But none of them is really "helpful". Complimentary breakfast is really good for a hotel in that category; the parking garage costs 12$ per day which is not too much in Los Angeles; the pool area is wonderful - you feel like you are in italy or southern france. BUT: there is one big problem with this hotel. They have great/nice rooms and not-so-nice/bad rooms. The great rooms are the ones right at the pool and the ones with a view of the courtyard/pool-area. The nice rooms are the ones that go out to the back street, where it is quiet and you have some kind of "view". The not-so-nice/bad rooms are the ones that have a view of a brick wall 2 feet away (feels claustrophobic...) and the ones to the Strip (very noisy). We have stayed at the Sunset Plaza twice: once was out to the back, which was okay (a bit dark, but quiet and we had our own terrace). The second time we tried to book a poolside room - but as I see it they don't take reservations for special rooms since all rooms cost the same. So upon arrival we got a room to the Strip. The hotel was booked, but after the first night I asked for a poolside room, because we saw people moving out - no success. The guy at the front desk was very friendly but told me to check back later, since they couldn't tell at that moment. I did - and was told the same thing. So actually they were just not interested in moving us. Bad service! I bought earplugs and slept well.
To sum it up: stay at this hotel if you can get a good rate (we paid 180,- plus tax & parking) and secure one of the good rooms for your stay. If you can get that, it is quite wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kaio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We only stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and the first night we got there very late. Overall this is a lovely hotel and we got a very good price. The first night we didn't get much sleep the people above us came back at 4am and walked around their room and every time they walked the floors creaked and you could hear every step, they then got up again at 7am ( I know, strange) and walked around the room and again the floors creaked. We complained that morning and they moved us to the top floor with a pool view and we had no noise problems the second night. I think we were unlucky that we had people ablove who were up at all hours but it is something to be aware of if you plan to stay here. The Pool area is very nice, it is a small hotel but it has a nice cosy feel to it. The breakfast is complimentary and has a good selection of pastries, cereals, juices etc so that was good. Im not sure I'd stay here again but overall its a nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

maybe my expectations were too high but was disappointed. reception desk not that helpful - one woman in particular was unhelpful. asked not to be placed roadside - if they were able to provide it we asked for a room with a pool view. after arriving and parking up we were given a room next to conference facilities overlooking...yes the road....asked if we could change and they offered us another room - this time with a view of a concrete wall. didn't want to go back again so took this room consoling ourselves that at least we didn't have to contend with road noise. room was well furnished, bed comfy and breakfast a bonus. however when checking the bill back in the uk we'd been charged extra for parking which we weren't told about - not particularly a big problem but we'd been charged for more days than we'd stayed! this hadn't showed on our original bill we had been presented with in the USA. Only a small amount overcharged and certainly not worth chasing for but doesn't really bode well for us to recommend the hotel to others. for the price we paid for this hotel we could have stayed at a 5* with a touch of class (like our travelling companions and yes we saw their room and their bill was comparable). asked for help from reception in finding places to eat or decent shops and got little to no help. car park is very tight on spaces- don't try getting in with anything other than a small car. will i stay here again/would i recommend it to friends? no. you can get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank linksmanmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

From reading other TA reviews, we were excited to stay here, but we ended up very disappointed. Our room was miniature -- there was barely enough room to walk around the bed, you couldn't use the desk and have anyone walk by without getting up from the chair and scooting it all the way in first, and you couldn't have the bathroom door open and open the closet at the same time. We requested a poolside room when we booked it, but didn't get one -- ours faced a wall about 2 feet from our window. It seems that the poolside rooms are spacious if you can get one -- I don't recommend room #303.

A few more negatives for us -- they kept the hallway outside doors open during the day and evening, which made the hallways extremely hot. I was also worried about safety, because the doors opened to an external staircase. I convinced myself that there was a locked gate at the bottom, but I'm sure a creative person could have figured out how to access it, so it felt a bit like a motel. I closed the hallway door at about 7 p.m. one night and when I went back into the hallway an hour later, it was open again. Very disconcerting. Other negatives: very loud air conditioning, towels were skimpy, parking deck was extremely small and the staff wasn't very helpful with advice on sites to see or recommendations for dinner.

On the plus side, we could walk to La Cienga and Santa Monica Blvds in about 10 minutes, where there were good restaurants and pubs (just be prepared for the uphill walk back!). The pool also looked nice.

All-in-all, I would not stay here again and wouldn't recommend it. There are many better hotels in L.A. for the same or less money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,720 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,995 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $256 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing