We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. Convenient parking under the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice - clean, comfortable, and spacious. The pool area is very relaxing. The free continental breakfast is very good and a great way to save some money. Also, laundry facilities are available.

Room Tip: A room with a pool view is preferable to block out the outside city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that we excelled in every attempt to make your stay a memorable one. It's wonderful reviews such as yours prove that our constant drive to improve our customer service from all staff levels is effective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    756
    174
    59
    26
See reviews for
682
650
67
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location. Parking under the building was wonderful too. Staff was also friendly.
Couldn't believe how many stars lived in the winding streets just across from the hotel.
Only problem was we had to be careful when leaving our room. Our door didn't lock properly. We had to open and close it a few times to get it to lock.. Were nervous the cleaners would leave it unlocked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTAGENTNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived at 8:30 am on a Sunday morning our room naturally wasn't ready but they let us store our bags and off we went to universal studios. Upon our return the room was large and clean. We had two queen beds so the room was spacious. The dining area I agree with previous reviews is very small and the breakfast is average for what Aussies are used to but you can walk to nearby cafes for something to eat. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The location is great, free wifi was very handy and we got discounts at the Car hire company across the street. We went to the Comedy store just across the street two nights in a row as it was so good and we got free entry there too. The car park is a little tight so be careful but overall I thought this was a great hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of five enjoyed our stay here. Good sized comfortable rooms though the air con was quite noisy!It was great to have a fridge and microwave.We loved the pool area and there were plenty of fluffy towels for our use. We were very happy with the complimentary breakfast and our kids loved the freshly made waffles. Dinner right across the road at The Saddle Ranch Chop House was a wonderful, fun experience and it was great not to have to take a taxi. I would stay here again if returning to LA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I took my 10 year old niece to LA for her birthday because she wanted to see the walk of fame etc. I booked this hotel on line after reading reviews and seeing pictures that made it seem nice enough for the area and the price. First of all, this area is not for kids. We arrived fairly late at night, around 9, and the whole area just seemed sleazy. Second, the overall first impression of the hotel felt dirty, which was confirmed upon entering the room. It literally smelled like someone doused in bad cologne had just left the room; it was totally disgusting. All I could wonder was what smell they were trying to cover up. The room they gave us was on the first floor which felt like a basement, with our windows looking out to a wall or window well, couldn't tell. And then to top it all off a new horrid smell was pumped in to the room first thing in the morning which again made me wonder what smells were being covered up. I originally had this place booked for three nights but within ten minutes of arrival I called to cancel the other two nights. I switched to the Westin in downtown and while not as convenient, for $209/night it was less than $50 more than this place and FAR nicer in every way. I would not stay in this hotel again if someone paid for the room for me. I see all of these excellent ratings and can't help but wonder what these people are used to when they travel. I am not a five star traveler by any means but this place was just terrible.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room would be don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity of accommodating you during your visit to Hollywood and the Walk of Fame. As you mentioned, we are centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. There are also plenty of family friendly activities nearby such as Universal Studios, American Girl Place and the Nickelodeon Studios. Our housekeeping staff was deeply concerned about your review and were unable to find any trace of the odor you mentioned. The pride these ladies take in their work is evident in the accolades received such as the Tripadvisor Award of Excellence, Directors Award of Quality Assurance and the Chairmans’ Award. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will reconsider staying with us on your next visit to West Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Best Western Plus was a good value for this area of Hollywood. Staff was very friendly, efficient and very informative. There is garage parking but unloading area is a little difficult. The pool area looked beautiful as much care is given to the landscaping. Our room was on the small size and had a noisy AC but we were only here one night. The dining area for breakfast was way too small ....this seems to be a reoccurring problem in the BW Plus hotels. We stayed in lots do them this summer. We would try this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room facing pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza was one of the highlights of my trip to LA. We were upgraded to a room by the pool on the ground floor free of charge which was totally sweet. The girl at reception who we dealt with (I'm kicking myself for not remembering her name! Anyway, she's kinda short, asian and really friendly and nice - if you read this, I want you to know that you're great and you made our stay really pleasant!) was awesome.

They have free wifi in the rooms and by the pool as well. Our room was spacious, had a nice and good sized bathroom, a kitchen and was well equipped plus it was right next to the pool - you just had to open the door! They also have a washer and dryer and you can get coins at reception.

We had free brekkie everyday and I went nuts on the waffles! I really like this hotel and, standing at reception looking through the glass doors down to the pool; I couldn't help but be reminded of Melrose Place.. Don't know why!

Guys, you should totally give this hotel a try when you're in LA - it's great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,852 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
994 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 20 in West Hollywood
384 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 20 in West Hollywood
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing