We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and really nice staff..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and really nice staff..”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza was one of the highlights of my trip to LA. We were upgraded to a room by the pool on the ground floor free of charge which was totally sweet. The girl at reception who we dealt with (I'm kicking myself for not remembering her name! Anyway, she's kinda short, asian and really friendly and nice - if you read this, I want you to know that you're great and you made our stay really pleasant!) was awesome.

They have free wifi in the rooms and by the pool as well. Our room was spacious, had a nice and good sized bathroom, a kitchen and was well equipped plus it was right next to the pool - you just had to open the door! They also have a washer and dryer and you can get coins at reception.

We had free brekkie everyday and I went nuts on the waffles! I really like this hotel and, standing at reception looking through the glass doors down to the pool; I couldn't help but be reminded of Melrose Place.. Don't know why!

Guys, you should totally give this hotel a try when you're in LA - it's great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    767
    178
    59
    26
See reviews for
698
655
68
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Boutique hotel style; Beautiful garden and pool; free breakfast;
The room was really spacious and the beds were comfy.
The hotel is in a great spot and close to everything; nice neighbourhood;
Directly on the Sunset Boulevard; Friendly staff; would definitely stay there again;

Room Tip: book garden and pool view;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel - we had a GREAT room on the first floor with double doors out to the patio and pool area, which is beautiful. There are many flowers, and it is furnished nicely with chaise longues and a few tables. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room but as soon as we brought it to their attention they sent someone to fix it (successfully). Staff were all friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is extensive. Despite being on the sunset strip, the hotel feels out of the fray and quiet. Great location for exploring Hollywood sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLfromSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here the first week in August and had a great time. The room was really spacious and the beds were so comfy. I needed an extra bed so they provided a foldaway bed for $10 a night. The only complaint I had about the room is that there is no kettle. On the first day I had been travelling for 20 hours and really needed a cup of tea but there was only a coffee maker.

The hotel is quite accessible to all the attractions as outside there is a bus stop and the tour bus stops just across the way. The saddle ranch bar across the road was a really great night.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Strewth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

First the great bits....
The hotel is in a great spot to get to Hollywood / Universal/ Rodeo drive Santa Monica etc. Driving anywhere around LA seems to take forever though so be prepared for this! I thought the overall feel of the hotel was well run and very clean - the pool area is by pretty and the maintenance guys who tend the plants around there do an amazing job because it looks awesome. To get plants to look like this in the heat takes some doing!
One Direction were staying at the five star Andaz across the road which the children found very exciting!
My disappointments stem from the fact that there seems to be poor insulation - we stayed in a room on the 2 nd floor and it sounded like the guy above would come crashing through the ceiling. The bath didn't work as the plug was broken ( no big deal ) but my main point is about breakfast. The choice is very poor. I would prefer to pay a bit more for a better range of cereal, HOT WATER for tea and coffee, and croissants that were edible. The omelettes were inedible too ( sorry ) but the yoghurts were nice.
The hot food ran out every day as did the seating. It's a faff to carry your breakfast up or down in the lift, and if its a buffet, you might want to come back to revisit. This is even more so with children. Hope this is all constructive :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pretty courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the last 3 days of a 2 week tour of California and it was fantastic. The staff were all incredibly helpful, helping us to find the best ways to see and do things in LA as well as making sure our last day (with a late flight home) was as comfortable as possible (they allowed us to stay on in our room later then usual checkout and continue to use the carpark until we left for the airport. The room was the best one we had on the whole tour - huge and bery clean and well equipped. The gorgeous pool area was an unexpected bonus and a really welcome way to relax at the end of tiring days out in the LA heat! If we went back to LA we would defiinitely stay here again. Highly recommended and thankyou to all of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topcat9428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved the whole experience staying in this hotel. Even though the location is excellent in being in middle of good restturants, entertainment and night life, this was not the highlight of my experience.
The highlight was friendly staff, quick check-in and check-out, a great room with all the necessary stuff and more, clean and comfortable with modern and usable amenities. The contienantal breakfast is so much more than your typical one. That was one of my highlights of the day! The feeling of being welcomed to the place was refreshing, loved the pool and the surrondings. I had some questions of where to go and what to do, and the staff were more than accomdating and helpful, like they really cared! Going back there again next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
393 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,007 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing