We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel was ideal for us. The parking was at a reasonable rate for LA, the sightseeing bus picked up just across the road at the Comedy Club (Which is a must visit), we could walk to Hollywood central although you wouldn't see a local walking that far. We also could with ease walk down to Melrose road with all the shops bars and sights. The Hotel pool was a little too cool when we were there but looked nice. If possible ask for a poo side room rather than road. The breakfast was included in the rate which was a plus and wasn't bad but try to get it either early or later as it does get busy and its only a small room considering the size of the hotel. I would recommend staying here to anyone coming to LA on holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a truly enjoyable stay at one of my very favorite hotels. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with all the care taken by this establishment. The overwhelming landscaping of overflowing bougainvillea flowers greets you before you even enter the tastefully decorated lobby. The desk clerks couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The room we had was on the second floor with French doors facing out onto the attractive pool area which was also beautifully landscaped. Our room was not only super clean but tastefully decorated and larger than most one room hotel accommodations. The bed was most comfortable and the room included a small but totally functional kitchenette area (no stove but did offer a small fridge and microwave as well as a sink). And best of all was the all you can eat breakfast offered in the hotel's cheerful restaurant. It offered everything one could want in a buffet style setting. The hotel was on Sunset Boulevard in the heart of West Hollywood. Having once lived in this city for over twenty years (and working a couple of blocks away from the hotel) I can wholeheartedly recommend the location. The glorious art deco Sunset Towers Hotel, a true Hollywood landmark circa 1931, was a few doors away offering a super trendy and luxurious rooftop bar with beautiful people and a spectacular view of downtown Los Angeles. Granted the drinks were expensive but it was a vacation so we figured why not? I also suggest checking out the Saddle Ranch restaurant located directly across the street from the hotel (which also delivers). Their chicken avocado club sandwich was excellent (so much so that I went back twice to reorder it). And you can even make reservations on line. The convenient hotel underground parking lot can be easily accessed from a quiet residual street behind the hotel. Overall the hotel rates were reasonable for the area and did I neglect to mention their great breakfast spread each morning is complimentary? We had a wonderful stay in Los Angeles and that was greatly due to our stay at the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My sisters, mom and I stayed at this property last week on our girls trip to California. This hotel was an excellent location for all of the things we wanted to do. It was central for many tours (most even came right to the hotel because of it's location), a short cab ride to Universal Studios and Burbank where we went to see Ellen and the Warner Bros Studios (GREAT TOUR!! See review on that separately). Cabs are always lined up down the road so it was especially easy to get around.

The room was extremely comfortable and the queen size beds seemed more like King size to us! Duvet covers were cozy for sleeping and our view of the pool and all of it's well kept flowers was wonderful. Very helpful front desk staff for any questions we had and lots of options within walking distance for shopping and eating. Saddle Ranch on Sunset is right across the street and has a great menu with a fun vibe if you want to stay low key but still have fun.

Never really used the pool as we were too busy but looked well maintained although a bit small. Continental breakfast was alright - waffles, yogurt, some fruit. But if you go within the last 20/30 minutes before it closes down they don't replenish. Would have been nice to have all of the options if they kept it replenished throughout the morning.

Overall, this hotel was exactly what we were looking for at an excellent price for our fun girls trip. Would also be good for couples or anyone looking for comfort, location, free breakfast, free wi-fi that works well and for a great price in comparison to other options.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is a great room view!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank alohabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza during the Oscar weekend last February. First of all, check inn went very smoothly. We got a room at the end of the hall (on the ground floor, but the back of the hotel is below 0, so you have a nice view at the back of the hotel). The room had a terrace with a view over the back of LA and the pool on the side, there was a safe, sofa,..

Price/quality you can't choose a better hotel than this. They have an underground parking in the back and it's only a 15 min drive to everything you would want to do in LA.

The Vanity Fair after party of the Oscars was in the hotel next door, so that was cool too.

Furthermore; breakfast is included.

If we ever visit LA again and don't want to stay at the beach, we'll use the BW again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace - they are in the back but are the biggest and nicest of them all.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Was booked in another hotel for 3 days in march after our trip to Vegas . Decided t cancel the other more expensive hotel as we had I feel overspent in Vegas so decided to save a few bucks .oh
" the best laid plans" Decide that the best western was a good idea as it was at the same location as the previous hotel and very positive reviews on trip advisor .
First there was no one for our luggage ,! We had 4 large suitcases . Then the first room was underground with a view of a cement wall . It had musty odour no natural light and the ceiling I could touch without over stretching my arm . I'm no giant at 5"11 ! . I'm nit sure they should be selling that room to anyone . We went upstairs and asked for a change of room . They agreed for and upgrade fro about I think 30 USD more . I immediately agreed . However that although still and improvement was still musty with very low ceilings . The only highlight was them allowing our good friends at bookings .com to allow us t leave early . Checked out the next morning and got he Beverly Hilton for only 7 USD a day more . Trust me that was an improvement .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjaySahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review regarding the Sunset Plaza. As you noted, the hotel is nestled in between the many attractions of Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I personally went to measure the ceiling heights of our rooms and confirmed they meet the requirement of at least 8 feet high. Would you please contact me so I can look into this further as I don't have any record of you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We can recommend this hotel for it's friendly service and for it's prime location. In particular we can report the following:
1. We arrived early but they gave us an upgrade into another room immediately.
2. Staff were instantly responsive to any request: even after-hours requests were answered immediately.
3. Free Wi-fi was reliable and easy to use.
4. Hot buffet breakfast is more than adequate: the cook even offered me hot waffles.
5. In resolving problems with our tours and shuttles, the desk clerks were always responsive and made many phone calls on our behalf.
6. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel.
7. A taxi ride to Hollywood and Vine is less than $20 US.
8. You can walk to the best part of 'The Strip' (the Plaza) in about 10 minutes.
9. There is a steakhouse, a burger bar and Starbucks right across the road and many eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,703 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
990 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $256 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing