We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, Free Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, Free Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here last minute for one night when we were seeing a concert at the House of Blues which was right next to this hotel. The Location was awesome, right on sunset strip where all the action was and was half the price of all the other nearby hotels. Katana was across the street so we went to the bar for some sushi. The hotel was clean the room was decent and clean as well, bathroom was basic but again all we needed for just that night. There was a pool which we didn't use but it was in a nice little garden area. The free breakfast in the morning was a definite plus, eggs, bacon, waffles, pastries, coffee, juice, etc. It's right on the street so kinda noisy but we fell right asleep, if I had a bigger budget indefinitely would have loved to stay at the Mondrian or something like that but for just one night this place was just fine for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natey_Potatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    681
    155
    54
    25
See reviews for
578
592
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable, relaxed hotel in heart of Sunset Boulevard. Rooms are to the rear of the hotel and so are surprisingly quiet. We stayed on Oscars Night (not planned) and found the Vanity Fair party was in the hotel next door - saw loads of stars - awesome. Standard continental breakfast was included. We ate at the Saddle Ranch across the road, which was superb.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was our first of many on our trip to the USA.. We found the location excellent to all the places we wanted to go. Great restaruants nearby..Saddle Ranch across the road was excellent dining..The service in the hotel was very good only thing I believe was a let down, we had to go down all theses stairs with our suitcases to get to the elevator then to our room...a room more closer and accomodating would have been better since we had just got off a 13 hour flight from Australia. Overall we would happily stay there again..we also loved the breakfast in the morning which was included with the room and we loved the pool area....very LA ...Thank you and we hope to stay there again if we go back to LA...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very nice hotel in busy area of Sunset Blvd. Room was a nice size, fridge and microwave, and clean and comfortable. Good guest parking in rear, but difficult for visitors dropping in at hotel to know where to park. Lovely pool area with gardens. Overall great spot for guest who is sightseeing, less so for business person who will need to have meetings / visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Johno7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived in LA which was early we headed to our hotel and they gave us a early check in which was not a problem they even gave us a choice to change rooms later when more people checked out if we were not happy but as far as the rooms go they are clean and comfortable and the hotel has a beautiful Mediterranean courtyard with a beautiful heated pool and deck chairs to laze in but on top of that you are centrally located in the best spot of west hollywood near the bars and clubs which most are walking distance along the strip and some amazing restaurants and shops to check out also they also supply breakfast in the mornings and have a taxi rank and bus stops right outside the doors if you don't feel like walking it also has free wifi which is also a bonus.

Room Tip: try and get a room that leads on to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Just recently stayed here with my family of 5 in a suite and was very happy with the set up. The accommodation was very comfortable and the inclusive breakfast was fantastic. Go for the waffle as it certainly gets you day started on the right foot. The area where around the hotel is ideal for couples as it is situated right in the heart of the entrainment district with the House of Blues and various comedy clubs in very close proximity. The Saddle Ranch across the road is a fantastic place for a meal and a drink. Have a crack at the cotton candy for desert. All in all great place to stay for a short stay in Hollywood.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing