We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanging in Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hanging in Hollywood”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My girl friend and I were in town for one night and chose to stay here since it has good size rooms and is right on Sunset. They have an underground parking garage in the back, it's a tight squeeze if you drive a larger car but its doable. Check in was quick and easy. Rooms are spacious in size and bathrooms are awesome. The room decor could use a little updating i.e curtains, rug etc, but other than that I would say I loved the beds soooooooooo comfy! Breakfast in the am was great since I am just a coffee person in the morning, but my friend chowed down on some eggs, bacon, and the like. Didn't get a chance to use the pool as it was raining but had a lovely view of it from our window. I would love to stay here again given the chance!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eme1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    733
    168
    55
    26
See reviews for
643
632
65
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Narrowsburg, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel was wonderful. Conviently located on the Sunset Strip. The room was large and clean. Complimentary breatfast was very nice. Eggs/waffles/sausage/yogurt/bagels. It was beyond the normal "breakfast" that so many other hotels offer. I didn't use it, but there was a gym. Cool way to avoid the hills was an escape thru the garage. Was too cool to use the pool, but it was a vision from my room. Also liked the free computer/internet, which other hotels have charged me $10 for. All in and out, I'ld have to say this place was the best buy for the money ($200/night).

Room Tip: Room service is non existant. Don't count on that if you're hungry at 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our fourth time staying at this hotel. Rooms are spacious, staff very friendly, great outdoor pool and seating area. We have had rooms that open onto the pool area which makes sitting outside with coffee or a glass of wine very convenient, Breakfast has slipped over time and is our only complaint.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor that opens to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Sunset Plaza ... we love the location & love the hotel. The staff here is so friendly and accomodating plus they have introduced a hot breakfast since we stayed last. We returned for a second visit so we could go for dinner at the House of Blues which is literally steps away. The first night we walked across the street to the Saddle Ranch Chop House. On the day of our arrival we walked down the street to Mel's Diner of American Graffiti fame. Awesome location on the "strip".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BARB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & loved this hotel. Great location, room was spacious with a great shower. Microwave and fridge in the room also. Right from check-in, staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We asked about the best way to get to Walk of Fame and were given a print out of local attractions and how to go about catching the local transport to get there - this was fantastic and accurate! Also there is a bus stop right outside the door! There is also a City Sightseeing bus stop across the street (although I don't reccommend this service). Housekeeping also very friendly. We had a room overlooking Sunset Bvd which was lovely and there was very little noise. Breakfast was fantastic - great range and plentiful supply over a suitable timeframe. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sf6984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

For the price, this was such a wonderful place to stay. The staff from the desk to the housekeeping , to the gentleman fixing the safe, go up and above what is required.
The location is right in the middle of everything . Plus the front desk staff are connected to all of the popular tourist places and are adept at and happy to answer all questions . The rooms are so clean and the staff so great .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were in LA for two nights and this well positioned hotel provided us with a good comfortable, well appointed room from which to explore LA and Hollywood. It does not pretend to be a luxury five star Hotel but the room was clean, nicely furnished with a balcony affording excellent views over LA. An incident with a naked drunk trying to get into our room at four o'clock in the morning was dealt with very efficiently by the General Manager the following morning but there was no reason to believe that such an occurrence was other than extremely rare. The catering arrangements were basic but perfectly adequate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone requiring good, clean and comfortable base from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: Arrive early and ask for a room looking out over the back of the hotel over LA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
1,624 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
2,749 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
342 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
963 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing